523
PAINTING FOREVER!
KEILRAHMEN
18. 9.– 10. 11. 13
Exhibition / Basis

Opening on September 17, 2013, 6-9 pm within the Berlin Art Week.

PAINTING FOREVER! is a cooperation of Berlinische Galerie, Deutsche Bank KunstHalle, KW Institute for Contemporary Art and Nationalgalerie -Staatliche Museen zu Berlin. For the launch of this cooperation project, initiated by the Berlin Senate, the four institutions involved have chosen painting as the focal point for the first year of this collaboration, which is to be continued in the future. The title of the project is PAINTING FOREVER!

KW's contribution to the cooperation, KEILRAHMEN ("stretchers"), is a collection of more than 70 pieces by contemporary painters who work or have worked in Berlin. The exhibition, curated by Ellen Blumenstein, offers insights into questions and topics being addressed in painting today and examines the meaning and significance of the medium of painting for contemporary art along with the potential it harbors.

The exhibition includes contributions from both established and emerging artists, some of whom are exhibiting for the first time in an institution. The works address topics that are genuinely specific to painting, such as light and composition, but also investigate the materiality of painting and explore the possibilities panel painting offers. Diverse interpretations of painting are represented and brought into conversation with one another.

With works by Nader Ahriman, Matthew Antezzo, Wolfgang Betke, Daniel Biesold, Armin Boehm, Shannon Bool, Lutz Braun, Clara Brörmann, Maria Brunner, André Butzer, Marieta Chirulescu, Friederike Clever, Ben Cottrell, Kerstin Drechsel, Michaela Eichwald, Friederike Feldmann, Rainer Fetting, Shannon Finley, Hermann Gabler, Adrian Ghenie, Ellen Gronemeyer, Thilo Heinzmann, Valeria Heisenberg, Thomas Helbig, Anton Henning, Ull Hohn, Olaf Holzapfel, Andy Hope 1930, Helena Huneke, Nadira Husain, Dorothy Iannone, Leiko Ikemura, Sergej Jensen, Heike Kelter, Maja Körner, Thomas Kratz, Elke Silvia Krystufek, Michael Kunze, Ulrich Lamsfuß, Olga Lewicka, Bernhard Martin, Birgit Megerle, Florian Meisenberg, John Miller, Alexandra Müller, Michael Müller, Stefan Müller, Matt Mullican, Anne Neukamp, Frank Nitsche, Katrin Plavčak, Gunter Reski, Bernd Ribbeck, Willem de Rooij, Aura Rosenberg, Dennis Rudolph, Julia Rüther, Matthias Schaufler, Gerda Scheepers, Isa Schmidlehner, Erik Schmidt, Gunna Schmidt, Thomas Schroeren, Dominik Sittig, Despina Stokou, Daniela Trixl, Geerten Verheus, Vincent Vulsma, Klaus Weber, Marcus Weber, Dominic Wood, Amelie von Wulffen, Kailiang Yang and Claudia Zweifel, as well as the KANZEL by Nina Rhode.

PAINTING FOREVER!
Since the end of the 19th century at the latest, painting has played an extremely important role on an institutional level. Through the medium of painting, the city has also brought forth experimental artistic approaches, including the Berlin Secession, the New Objectivity and the Neuen Wilden (Young Wild Ones).

The individual and group presentations of the four exhibition formats of the PAINTING FOREVER!partners will demonstrate various approaches to the medium: installation-based and location-specific approaches will play a role, as will classical concepts of painting. The exhibitions are based on various artistic and curatorial positions and, despite their diversity, all address the question of what painting can and wants to be today.

PAINTING FOREVER! combines both young, contemporary positions with already established artists and artists' groups and also explores historical references. The individual locations of the overall project PAINTING FOREVER! are to be understood as complementary elements, yet, at the same time, as discrete exhibitions that can be experienced individually.

To accompany the exhibition project, a four-volume publication will be released for the joint opening in September 2013.

An initiative of the Governing Mayor of Berlin - Senate Chancellery – Cultural Affairs.

Side program at KW:

29.9.13, 10 h
SONNTAGSSPAZIERGANG
intimate walk with Michael Müller through Merlin James' solo exhibition SIGNAL BOX.
Participation limited, please register at ay@kw-berlin.de

9./16./23.10.13, 18–20 h, Presentation 10.11.13, 12 h
THE PAINTING ATLAS–AN ARTIST–BOOK PROJECT
Workshop with Olga Lewicka
Fee: 3 €
Information and Registration at ay@kw-berlin.de

10.10.13, 20 h
THE PERFORMATIVE MINUTE
Performances by Matthew Antezzo, Wolfgang Betke, and Florian Meisenberg among others.
Fee: 3 €
German/English

12.10.13, 15–16:30 h
MACHT MALEREI MUSKELN?
An introduction to painting for kids aged 6–10 by Julia Rüther.
Participation limited, please register at ay@kw-berlin.de
Fee: 5 €

4.11.13, 15 h/6.11.13, 18 h
RAHMENRÄUMUNG
Performative tour through the exhibition; a project by Heinz-Brandt-Schule and a7. außeneinsatz as part of the model program KULTURAGENTEN FÜR KREATIVE SCHULEN.

7.11.13, 20 h
FF-FORMA
An evening with the artists of ff an friends.
Fee: 3 €
German/English

MALEN MAL VIER
A four-day workshop for kids at the age of 12 and older by Barbara Antal. Produced and realized in collaboration with Jugend im Museum e.V.
Fee: 40 €
Register until September the 30, 2013 at info@jugend-im-museum.de, T: +49 30 266 42 22 42

8.10.13, 10–15 h, Deutsche Bank KunstHalle
9.10.13, 10–16 h, Berlinische Galerie
10.10.13, 10–15 h, Neue Nationalgalerie
11.10.13, 12–17 h, KW Institute for Contemporary Art

Painting Forever! KEILRAHMEN
Group show
Installation view
Photo © Christine Kisorsy

Painting Forever! KEILRAHMEN
Group show
Installation view

with KANZEL (2009) of Nina Rhode
wood, copper
260 x 300 x 95 cm
Courtesy the artist

Photo © Christine Kisorsy

523
PAINTING FOREVER!
KEILRAHMEN
18. 9.– 10. 11. 13
Ausstellung / Basis

Eröffnung am 17. September 2013, 18-21 Uhr im Rahmen der Berlin Art Week.

PAINTING FOREVER! ist eine Kooperation der Berlinischen Galerie, Deutsche Bank KunstHalle, KW Institute for Contemporary Art und Nationalgalerie - Staatliche Museen zu Berlin. Für den Auftakt des vom Berliner Senat initiierten Kooperationsprojekts haben die vier beteiligten Institutionen mit dem Titel PAINTING FOREVER! im ersten Jahr der zukünftig regelmäßig geplanten Zusammenarbeit den Schwerpunkt Malerei gewählt.

KEILRAHMEN, der Beitrag der KW Institute for Contemporary Art, versammelt über 70 Werke von zeitgenössischen Malerinnen und Malern, die in Berlin arbeiten oder gearbeitet haben. Die Ausstellung gibt Einblick in Fragen und Themen, die heute mit den Mitteln der Malerei verhandelt werden, und untersucht, was das Medium Malerei für die zeitgenössische Kunst bedeutet, welchen Stellenwert es hat und welches Potenzial es birgt.

Gezeigt werden sowohl Positionen von etablierten, als auch von (noch) unbekannten KünstlerInnen, die teilweise zum ersten Mal institutionell präsentiert werden. Die Arbeiten behandeln genuin malereispezifische Themen wie Licht und Komposition, setzen sich mit der Stofflichkeit von Malerei auseinander und loten die Möglichkeiten des Tafelbildes aus. Unterschiedliche Malereiauffassungen kommen zum Tragen und werden miteinander in Bezug gesetzt.

Mit Arbeiten von Nader Ahriman, Matthew Antezzo, Wolfgang Betke, Daniel Biesold, Armin Boehm, Shannon Bool, Lutz Braun, Clara Brörmann, Maria Brunner, André Butzer, Marieta Chirulescu, Friederike Clever, Ben Cottrell, Kerstin Drechsel, Michaela Eichwald, Friederike Feldmann, Rainer Fetting, Shannon Finley, Hermann Gabler, Adrian Ghenie, Ellen Gronemeyer, Thilo Heinzmann, Valeria Heisenberg, Thomas Helbig, Anton Henning, Ull Hohn, Olaf Holzapfel, Andy Hope 1930, Helena Huneke, Nadira Husain, Dorothy Iannone, Leiko Ikemura, Sergej Jensen, Heike Kelter, Maja Körner, Thomas Kratz, Elke Silvia Krystufek, Michael Kunze, Ulrich Lamsfuß, Olga Lewicka, Bernhard Martin, Birgit Megerle, Florian Meisenberg, John Miller, Alexandra Müller, Michael Müller, Stefan Müller, Matt Mullican, Anne Neukamp, Frank Nitsche, Katrin Plavčak, Gunter Reski, Bernd Ribbeck, Willem de Rooij, Aura Rosenberg, Dennis Rudolph, Julia Rüther, Matthias Schaufler, Gerda Scheepers, Isa Schmidlehner, Erik Schmidt, Gunna Schmidt, Thomas Schroeren, Dominik Sittig, Despina Stokou, Daniela Trixl, Geerten Verheus, Vincent Vulsma, Klaus Weber, Marcus Weber, Dominic Wood, Amelie von Wulffen, Kailiang Yang und Claudia Zweifel sowie der KANZEL von Nina Rhode.

PAINTING FOREVER!
Malerei spielt in Berlin auf institutioneller Ebene spätestens seit dem Ende des 19. Jahrhundert eine überaus wichtige Rolle. Auch von künstlerischer Seite sind durch das Medium der Malerei immer wieder experimentelle Impulse von der Stadt ausgegangen (unter anderem Berliner Sezession, Neue Sachlichkeit, Neue Wilde).

Die vier Ausstellungsformate der Kooperationspartner von PAINTING FOREVER! werden in Einzel- und Gruppenpräsentationen unterschiedliche Annäherungen an das Medium zeigen: Installative und ortspezifische Ansätze werden ebenso eine Rolle spielen wie klassische malerische Konzepte. Die Ausstellungen basieren auf verschiedenen künstlerischen und kuratorischen Positionen und beschäftigen sich doch alle mit der Frage, was Malerei heute sein kann und will. Die Herangehensweisen ergänzen sich und bieten die Möglichkeit, sich mit Malerei im zeitgenössischen Ausstellungskontext auseinanderzusetzen.

PAINTING FOREVER! verbindet sowohl ganz junge, aktuelle Positionen mit bereits etablierten KünstlerInnen und Künstlergruppen und greift auch historische Bezüge auf. Die einzelnen Standorte des Gesamtprojekts PAINTING FOREVER! begreifen sich als komplementäre Bestandteile, gleichzeitig aber auch als individuell erfahrbare Ausstellungsorte.

Eine das Ausstellungsprojekt begleitende, vierbändige Publikation wird zur gemeinsamen Eröffnung im September 2013 erscheinen.

Teilnehmende KünstlerInnen: Franz Ackermann (Berlinische Galerie), Martin Eder, Michael Kunze, Anselm Reyle, Thomas Scheibitz (alle Neue Nationalgalerie), Jeanne Mammen, Antje Majewski, Katrin Plavčak, Giovanna Sarti (alle Deutsche Bank KunstHalle). Teilnehmende KünstlerInnen KW Institute for Contemporary Art: s. o.

Initiiert vom Regierenden Bürgermeister von Berlin - Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.

Rahmenprogramm in den KW:

29.9.13, 10 h
SONNTAGSSPAZIERGANG
mit Michael Müller durch die Ausstellung SIGNAL BOX von Merlin James. Begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl, Anmeldung unter ay@kw-berlin.de

9./16./23.10.13, 18–20 h, Präsentation 10.11.13, 12 h
ATLAS DER MALEREI–EIN KÜNSTLERBUCH–PROJEKT
Workshop mit Olga Lewicka
Eintritt: 3 €
Anmeldung und Informationen unter ay@kw-berlin.de

10.10.13, 20 h
THE PERFORMATIVE MINUTE
Performances von unter anderem Matthew Antezzo, Wolfgang Betke und Florian Meisenberg.
Eintritt: 3 €
Deutsch/Englisch

12.10.13, 15–16:30 h
MACHT MALEREI MUSKELN?
Eine Führung für Kinder von 6–10 Jahren, geleitet von Julia Rüther.
Begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl, Anmeldung unter ay@kw-berlin.de
Kosten: 5 €

4.11.13, 15 h/6.11.13, 18 h
RAHMENRÄUMUNG
Ein performativer Ausstellungsrundgang; ein Projekt der Heinz-Brandt-Schule und a7.außeneinsatz als Teil des Modellprogramms KULTURAGENTEN FÜR KREATIVE SCHULEN.

7.11.13, 20 h
FF-FORMA
Ein Abend mit den Künstlerinnen von ff und Freundinnen und Freunden.
Eintritt: 3 €
Deutsch/Englisch

MALEN MAL VIER
Ein viertägiger Workshop für Kinder ab 12 Jahren, geleitet von Barbara Antal. Konzipiert und realisiert in Zusammenarbeit mit Jugend im Museum e.V.
Kosten: 40 €
Anmeldung bis zum 30.9. unter info@jugend-im-museum.de,
T: +49 30 266 42 22 42

8.10.13, 10–15 h, Deutsche Bank KunstHalle
9.10.13, 10–16 h, Berlinische Galerie
10.10.13, 10–15 h, Neue Nationalgalerie
11.10.13, 12–17 h, KW Institute for Contemporary Art

Painting Forever! KEILRAHMEN
Gruppenausstellung
Ausstellungsansicht
Foto © Christine Kisorsy

Painting Forever! KEILRAHMEN
Gruppenausstellung
Ausstellungsansicht

mit der KANZEL (2009) von Nina Rhode
Holz, Kupfer
260 x 300 x 95 cm
Courtesy the artist

Foto © Christine Kisorsy