DOUBLE ROOM
16. 9. 15– 4. 1. 16
Exhibition series / 3 ½

In each of its four consecutive editions, DOUBLE ROOM combines two artistic positions and brings the series' collaborative process to the fore. The forms of collaboration vary from juxtaposing existing artworks to new joint productions; the space of 3 ½ provides the physical framework. Connections between the artworks, which comprise of objects, material assemblages, sound or video installations, arise from the dialogical structure and are further enhanced by the spatial tightness. The space may therefore be perceived as an exhibition room at one moment and as a largescale installation at the next.

Curated by Curatorial Studies students of Goethe University and Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste – Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main.

CURRENT EDITION:

DOUBLE ROOM #4
Carola Keitel / Hannes Seidl
SO THEY RATTLE
6.12.15–4.1.16
Opening: Saturday, 5.12.15, 19–22 h
A concert of experimental contemporary music by Sebastian Berweck, Maximilian Marcoll, and Hannes Seidl takes place during the opening at KW Institute for Contemporary Art’s CHORA, at 20 h.

To define means to draw boundaries. Between strange and familiar. Between important and worthless. Carola Keitel and Hannes Seidl make everyday control and exclusion mechanisms visually, physically, and acoustically perceptible. The artists developed their works in dialogue, employing different strategies of alienation and isolation.

Curated by Ramona Heinlein, Daniela Leykam, Larissa Scheidt and Clara Sterzinger


PAST EDITIONS

DOUBLE ROOM #1
George Rippon / Anina Troesch
16.9.–5.10.15
Opening: Tuesday, 15.9.15, 18  22 h

George Rippon (born 1983 in New York, US) and Anina Troesch (born 1987 in Emmental, CH) develop a new site-specific work in dialog with each other.They intervene directly in the space. Both artists continuously question the function of the room through an analysis of the space's preexisting architectural elements and materials.

Curated by Cosima Grosser, Olga Inozemtceva and Eva Kim

DOUBLE ROOM #2 Rosa Aiello / Cooper Jacoby
10.10.–2.11.15
Opening: Friday, 9.10.15, 19–22 h
The opening will be accompanied by a reading by Rosa Aiello, Hannah Black, Tess Edmonson, and Eva Kenny.

Rosa Aiello and Cooper Jacoby engage with the dialectical relationship between individuals and the objects they use: simultaneously subservient and authoritative, this infrastructure of the ordinary eases and conditions our desires as well as our actions. Although this infrastructure often remains invisible and sometimes proves to be a deceptive farce – it still misleads us into believing that we are the beneficiaries.

Curated by Nóra Feigl, Erik Jacobs, Elisa R. Linn and Anna Straetmans

DOUBLE ROOM #2 is suppoerted by Städelschule e.V.

DOUBLE ROOM #3
FYR
Filippa Pettersson / Rasmus Søndergaard Johannsen
7.11.–30.11.15
Opening: Friday, 6.11.15, 19–22 h
The performance DON'T BE A STRANGER by Filippa Pettersson and Amy Ball takes place during the opening, at 20 h.

Fire destroys and creates. Filippa Pettersson and Rasmus Søndergaard Johannsen play in FYR with its transformative forces. Preceding the artworks is a performative act that inscribes itself in the work’s auditive and sculptural translations. FYR expands the double room into the stairwell, transforming the staircase into the exhibition's entrance.

Curated by Tomke Braun, Franz Hempel, Milena Maffei and José Segebre

DOUBLE ROOM #3 is supported by Danish Arts Foundation and Städelschule Portikus e.V.

DOUBLE ROOM tumblr


The exhibition series DOUBLE ROOM is funded by the Ernst Schering Foundation, Berlin.
The Master’s program Curatorial Studies – Theorie – Geschichte – Kritik is supported by the Adolf Messer Stiftung and the Dr. Hans Feith und Dr. Elisabeth Feith-Stiftung.

Doppelzimmer, commons.wikimedia.org, © A&O HOTELS and HOSTELS Holding AG

NO TITLE, 2015, © Larissa Scheidt

DOUBLE ROOM #3, Rasmus Søndergaard Johannsen, CLOSE HORIZON (detail), 2015, © Rasmus Søndergaard Johannsen

Left: Cooper Jacoby, FLATLINES, 2015, lacquered steel, lucite, canola oil/machine lubricant, surgical sutures; right: Rosa Aiello, SERVING, 2015, HD video, colour, sound, 9 min 48 seconds, film still; photo: Camilo Brau

DOUBLE ROOM #1: George Rippon and Anina Troesch, tʌŋ, 2015, carpet, grid, chain, dimensions variable, installation view, photo: Timo Ohler

DOPPELZIMMER
16. 9. 15– 4. 1. 16
Ausstellungsserie / 3 ½

Die Serie DOPPELZIMMER führt in vier aufeinanderfolgenden Ausstellungen je zwei künstlerische Positionen zusammen, wobei der kollaborative Prozess ins Blickfeld rückt. Die Form der Zusammenarbeit variiert von der Gegenüberstellung bereits bestehender Werke bis hin zu gemeinsamen Neuproduktionen.

Als Rahmen dient der Ort 3 ½. Die Verbindungen zwischen den Arbeiten – ob skulpturale Objekte, Materialassemblagen, Sound- oder Videoinstallationen – entspringen der dialogischen Struktur und der Nähe, die durch die räumliche Enge potenziert wird. Dabei wird der Ort mal als Ausstellungsraum verstanden, dann wieder als raumgreifende Installation.

Kuratiert von Studierenden der Curatorial Studies an der Goethe-Universität und der Staatlichen Hochschule für Bildende Künste – Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main.


AKTUELLE AUSGABE:

DOPPELZIMMER #4
Carola Keitel / Hannes Seidl
SO THEY RATTLE
6.12.15–4.1.16
Eröffnung: Samstag, 5.12.15, 19–22 h
Am Eröffnungsabend findet um 20 Uhr ein Konzert mit experimenteller zeitgenössischer Musik von Sebastian Berweck, Maximilian Marcoll und Hannes Seidl in der CHORA der KW Institute for Contemporary Art statt.

Definieren heißt Grenzen ziehen. Zwischen fremd und vertraut. Zwischen wichtig und wertlos. Carola Keitel und Hannes Seidl machen alltägliche Kontroll- und Ausschlussmechanismen visuell, physisch und akustisch erlebbar. Anhand verschiedener Strategien der Verfremdung und Isolation haben die KünstlerInnen ihre Arbeiten im Dialog entwickelt.

Kuratiert von Ramona Heinlein, Daniela Leykam, Larissa Scheidt und Clara Sterzinger


vergangene ausgaben

DOPPELZIMMER #1
George Rippon / Anina Troesch
16.9.–5.10.15
Eröffnung: Dienstag, 15.9.15, 18–22 h

George Rippon (* 1983 in New York, US) und Anina Troesch (* 1987 in Emmental, CH) entwickeln im Dialog eine neue ortsspezifische Arbeit. Sie greifen direkt in den Raum ein. In Auseinandersetzung mit den dort vorgefundenen architektonischen Elementen und Materialien hinterfragen sie seine Funktion.

Kuratiert von Cosima Grosser, Olga Inozemtceva und Eva Kim

DOPPELZIMMER #2
Rosa Aiello / Cooper Jacoby
10.10.–2.11.15
Eröffnung: Freitag, 9.10.15, 19–22 h
Am Eröffnungsabend findet um 20 Uhr eine Lesung mit Rosa Aiello, Hannah Black, Tess Edmonson und Eva Kenny statt.

Rosa Aiello und Cooper Jacoby wenden sich der dialektischen Beziehung zwischen Individuen und den für sie geschaffenen Objekten zu: dienend und autoritär zugleich, erleichtert und konditioniert die physische und affektive Infrastruktur des Alltäglichen unsere persönlichen Wünsche und Handlungen. Während ihr Äußeres oft unsichtbar bleibt, sich manchmal sogar als trügerische Maskerade erweist, lässt sie uns dennoch in dem Glauben, der zufriedene Nutznießer zu sein.

Kuratiert von Nóra Feigl, Erik Jacobs, Elisa R. Linn und Anna Straetmans

DOPPELZIMMER #2 wird unterstützt durch Städelschule Portikus e.V.

DOPPELZIMMER #3
FYR
Filippa Pettersson / Rasmus Søndergaard Johannsen
7.11.–30.11.15
Eröffnung: Freitag, 6.11.15, 19–22 h
Am Abend der Eröffnung findet um 20 Uhr die Performance DON'T BE A STRANGER von Filippa Pettersson und Amy Ball statt.

Feuer zerstört und erschafft. In FYR spielen Filippa Pettersson und Rasmus Søndergaard Johannsen mit dessen transformativen Kräften. Den Werken geht eine performative Handlung voraus, die ihren auditiven und skulpturalen Übersetzungen eingeschrieben ist. FYR breitet sich über das Doppelzimmer in das Treppenhaus aus, sodass der Aufgang zum Eingang in die Ausstellung wird.

Kuratiert von Tomke Braun, Franz Hempel, Milena Maffei und José Segebre

DOUBLE ROOM #3 wird unterstützt durch Danish Arts Foundation und Städelschule Portikus e.V.

DOPPELZIMMER-tumblr

Die Ausstellungsreihe DOPPELZIMMER wird gefördert von der Schering Stiftung, Berlin.
Der Studiengang Curatorial Studies – Theorie – Geschichte – Kritik wird unterstützt durch die Adolf Messer Stiftung und die Dr. Hans Feith und Dr. Elisabeth Feith-Stiftung.

Doppelzimmer, commons.wikimedia.org, © A&O HOTELS und HOSTELS Holding AG

OHNE TITEL, 2015, © Larissa Scheidt

DOPPELZIMMER #3, Rasmus Søndergaard Johannsen , CLOSE HORIZON (Detail), 2015, © Rasmus Søndergaard Johannsen

Links: Cooper Jacoby, FLATLINES, 2015, lackierter Stahl, Plexiglas, Rapsöl/Maschinenschmiermittel; chirurgischer Nähfaden; rechts: Rosa Aiello, SERVING, 2015, HD Video, Farbe, Sound, 9 Min. 48 Sekunden, Filmstill; Foto: Camilo Brau

DOPPELZIMMER #1: George Rippon und Anina Troesch, tʌŋ, 2015, Teppich, Gitter, Kette, Maße variabel, Installationsansicht, Foto: Timo Ohler