Real Emotions: Thinking in Film
23. 2.– 27. 4. 14
Exhibition / All venues

The exhibition is open regularly during the Easter Holidays.

Opening: 22.2.14, 17-22 h

Thematic Exhibition with works by Chantal Akerman, Ed Atkins and Simon Martin, Sue de Beer, Harry Dodge and Stanya Kahn, Loretta Fahrenholz, Christian Jankowski, Jesper Just, Peter Roehr, Roee Rosen, John Smith, Mark Wallinger.

Ever since its inception, film has influenced our thinking about what the world is, and what it can be. As a mass medium that directly addresses human emotions, it affects collective experiences to the extent that films can be regarded not only against the background of reality, but can actually influence our view of it.

REAL EMOTIONS: THINKING IN FILM is devoted to affects and emotions in the moving image. The thematic exhibition explores the question of how films transmit emotions and generate an authenticity at which the individual and collective experiences collide. Above all, it is films that confirm, change or fundamentally question our common experiences and thought patterns, and thus challenge us to think.

This exhibition deliberately makes the borders between the cinema and the exhibition space just as permeable as those between art film and video art, and those between the professional audience and the curious layman. Film serves equally to standardize our fantasies and to liberate them, to teach us patterns of behavior and interpretation and to invalidate them at the same time. Therefore, it represents an extraordinarily powerful medium in which a subtly or radically different way of thinking can be put forth and tested in the world.

KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin stages the potential of film throughout the entire exhibition space. On the one hand, REAL EMOTIONS: THINKING IN FILM examines how mainstream and arthouse films portray basic human emotions through images and narrative, striving equally to fulfill our expectations and to continually modify them. On the other hand, the exhibition presents works by artists who have no interest in catering to the general public's tastes, but nonetheless explore the same questions that film does: how am I to tell a story? How can I question established paradigms of observation and thought without losing the viewer's attention? These works, each in its own way, examine the construction of feelings, and use the filmic medium to demonstrate the difference between film and reality, between real and acted emotions and, at the same time, their mutual and inescapable interdependence.

REAL EMOTIONS: THINKING IN FILM is funded by the Capital Cultural Fund and the KW Friends.

Ed Atkins and Simon Martin, UNTITLED (STRAWBERRY POISON DART FROG: DEMUXED),
2011, film still, courtesy the artists, Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi, Cabinet Gallery London,
and MOT International

Echte Gefühle: Denken im Film
23. 2.– 27. 4. 14
Ausstellung / Alle Orte

Während der Osterfeiertage hat die Ausstellung regulär geöffnet.

Eröffnung: 22.2.14, 17-22 h

Themenausstellung mit künstlerischen Arbeiten von Chantal Akerman, Ed Atkins und Simon Martin, Sue de Beer, Harry Dodge und Stanya Kahn, Loretta Fahrenholz, Christian Jankowski, Jesper Just, Peter Roehr, Roee Rosen, John Smith und Mark Wallinger.

Seit seiner Erfindung hat der Film das Denken über das, was die Welt ist und sein kann, beeinflusst. Als Massenmedium, das die Gefühle der Menschen unmittelbar anspricht, prägt es die kollektiven Erfahrungen, sodass Filme nicht nur vor der Folie der Realität betrachtet werden, sondern ihrerseits unser Bild der Wirklichkeit beeinflussen.

ECHTE GEFÜHLE: DENKEN IM FILM widmet sich den Affekten und Emotionen im bewegten Bild. Die Themenausstellung geht der Frage nach, wie Filme Emotionen vermitteln und eine Authentizität erzeugen, an der individuelle und kollektive Erfahrung aufeinandertreffen. Allen voran sind sie es, die geläufige Erfahrungen und gängige Erklärungsmuster bestätigen, verändern oder grundsätzlich in Frage stellen und so zum Denken nötigen.

Dass in der Ausstellung die Grenzen zwischen Kinosaal und Ausstellungsraum ebenso durchlässig werden wie zwischen Filmkunst und Kunstfilm, zwischen professionellem Publikum und neugierigem Laien, ist ausdrücklich erwünscht. Denn der Film dient gleichermaßen der Normierung unserer Phantasien wie ihrer Freisetzung, der Einübung von Verhaltens- und Deutungsmustern wie deren Außerkraftsetzung. Er stellt damit ein außerordentlich wirkmächtiges Medium dar, in dem sich ein graduell oder radikal anderes Denken über die Welt erprobt.

Auf der gesamten Ausstellungsfläche setzen die KW Institute for Contemporary Art das Potenzial des Films in Szene: Die Schau untersucht zum einen, wie Mainstream- und Arthouse-Filme die menschlichen Grundemotionen in Bilder und Narrationen übersetzen und dabei Erwartungen sowohl bedienen als auch kontinuierlich modifizieren. Zum anderen präsentiert die Ausstellung Werke von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, die zwar nicht den Massengeschmack bedienen, aber den selben Fragen wie das Kino verpflichtet sind: Wie erzähle ich eine Geschichte? Wie gelingt es, eingespielte Seh- und Denkmuster infrage zu stellen, ohne die Aufmerksamkeit des Betrachters zu verlieren? Diese Arbeiten thematisieren auf je unterschiedliche Weise die Konstruktion von Gefühlen und nutzen das Medium Film, um die Differenz zwischen Film und Wirklichkeit, echtem und gespieltem Gefühl und gleichermaßen deren nicht auflösbare Abhängigkeit voneinander sichtbar zu machen.

ECHTE GEFÜHLE: DENKEN IM FILM wird gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und die KW Freunde.

Ed Atkins und Simon Martin, UNTITLED (STRAWBERRY POISON DART FROG: DEMUXED),
2011, film still, courtesy the artists, Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi, Cabinet Gallery London
und MOT International