Ilit Azoulay
14. 9.– 16. 11. 14
Residency program / KW Projects

Opening: 13.9.14
Book launch and artist talk: 21.10.14, 19 h

In early 2013, The Shpilman foundation (Tel Aviv), in collaboration with KW Institute for Contemporary Art and the Schir Foundation (Berlin) announced the award of their first joint photography residency. Ilit Azoulay (*1972 in Israel) moved into her studio at KW in June, 2013, and used her five-month residency to develop her interest in the archeology of cities. During her travels throughout Germany, she collected and photographed objects and architectural fragments in Berlin, Weimar, Kulmain, Regensburg, Dessau, Bamberg, Brandenburg, Xanten, Potsdam and Halle, as well as in the KW building itself.

In some cases, Azoulay singled out sites undergoing preservation, while in others she examined buildings that were reconstructed precisely, brick for brick, in accordance with Germany's restoration laws. Each of the 93 objects she collected was photographed using a technique similar to scanning. This technique is characteristic of Azoulay's practice and allows the juxtaposition of multiple points of view into a single, digitally composed image.

Following her stay in Berlin, the artist undertook the collection of all possible information that verifies the origin of each and every one of these objects. This meticulous gathering of information became central to the project and includes correspondence with monasteries, squat residents, taxidermy experts, plant researchers, building constructors and lawyers. In addition, a collection of recorded sounds emerged in relation to the photographed objects.

For her exhibition at KW, Azoulay presents the photographed objects in a site-specific installation. The accompanying data will be accessible through an audio guide, which allows the viewer insight into the artist's research process and the historical, personal and idiosyncratic details it uncovered, and leads them to explore each object's textuality.

Ilit Azoulay: SHIFTING DEGREES OF CERTAINTY is kindly supported by schir, Shpilman Institute for Photography, and the KW Friends.

With special thanks to Andrea Meislin Gallery, New York and Braverman Gallery, Tel Aviv.

Kindly supported by the Israeli Embassy in Germany.

Ilit Azoulay: SHIFTING DEGREES OF CERTAINTY is part of the Berlin Art Week 2014

Ilit Azoulay, Exhibit 83: STUFFED GIRAFFE (detail from SHIFTING DEGREES OF CERTAINTY, 2014), inkjet print

Ilit Azoulay, studio view (2014), courtesy the artist

Ilit Azoulay
SHIFTING DEGREES OF CERTAINTY
14. 9.– 16. 11. 14
Studioprogramm / KW Projects

Eröffnung: 13.9.14
Buchpräsentation und Künstlergespräch: 21.10.14, 19 h

Im Frühjahr 2013 hat das Shpilman Institut für Fotografie (Tel Aviv) in Kooperation mit den KW Institute for Contemporary Art und der Schir Foundation (Berlin) erstmalig ein Aufenthaltsstipendium für Fotografie vergeben. Ilit Azoulay (*1972, Israel) bezog im Juni 2013 ein Studio in den KW und nutzte in den fünf Monaten ihres Aufenthalts die Möglichkeit, ihr Interesse an der Archäologie der Städte zu vertiefen. In Deutschland sammelte und fotografierte sie Objekte und architektonische Fragmente in Berlin, Weimar, Kulmain, Regensburg, Dessau, Bamberg, Brandenburg, Xanten, Potsdam und Halle sowie in dem Gebäudekomplex der KW selbst.

In einigen Fällen wählte Azoulay unterschiedlichste denkmalgeschütze Orte wie auch Gebäude, die Stein für Stein, gemäß den denkmalpflegerischen Maßgaben, rekonstruiert wurden. Jedes der 93 gesammelten Objekte wurde mit einer Technik, ähnlich der des Scannens, fotografiert. Diese Technik ist charakteristisch für die Arbeitsweise der Künstlerin und ermöglicht ihr die Nebeneinanderstellung verschiedener Betrachtungspunkte zu einem digital komponierten Bild.

Nach ihrem Aufenthalt in Berlin begann Azoulay mit der Sammlung diverser Informationen, die mit der Herkunft jedes einzelnen Objektes in Verbindung stehen. Diese akribische Erfassung von Informationen wurde zentral für das Projekt und beinhaltet Korrespondenzen mit Klöstern, BewohnerInnen von besetzten Häusern, PräparationsexpertInnen, PflanzenforscherInnen, GebäudekonstrukteurInnen und AnwältInnen. Hinzu kommt eine Sammlung von Geräuschen, die im Bezug zu den Objekten aufgezeichnet wurden.

Für ihre Ausstellung in den KW präsentiert Azoulay ihre fotografierten Objekte in einer ortsspezifischen Installation. Die gesammelten Objekte werden um einen Audioguide erweitert, der den Betrachter in die historischen, persönlichen und eigentümlichen Details des Forschungsprozesses der Künstlerin einweiht und dazu einlädt, die Textualität eines jeden Objektes zu entdecken.

SHIFTING DEGREES OF CERTAINTY wird freundlich unterstützt von schir, dem Shpilman Institut für Fotografie und den KW Freunden.

Mit besonderem Dank an Andrea Meislin Gallery, New York und Braverman Gallery, Tel Aviv.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Botschaft des Staates Israel.

Ilit Azoulay: SHIFTING DEGREES OF CERTAINTY ist Teil der Berlin Art Week 2014

Ilit Azoulay, Exhibit 83: STUFFED GIRAFFE (Detail aus SHIFTING DEGREES OF CERTAINTY, 2014), Inkjetdruck

Ilit Azoulay, Studioansicht (2014), courtesy the artist