Pause: Ericka Beckman
18–21 January 18

 
<p>Ericka Beckman, <em>The Broken Rule</em>, 1979, Super-8-film</p>

Ericka Beckman, The Broken Rule, 1979, Super-8-film

 

Opening: 17 January 18, 7 pm

 

To launch the first exhibition season of 2018, KW Institute for Contemporary Art presents the installation Super 8 Trilogy (1978–81) by the experimental filmmaker and artist Ericka Beckman as part of its Pause series. Pause focuses on individual works, which acts as a content-related hinge between the program’s main focuses, connecting and complementing them.

 

Super 8 Trilogy consists of the films We Imitate; We Break Up (1978), The Broken Rule (1979) und Out of Hand (1981), which defy classical narrative structures and follow a choreography developed through the artist’s engagement with the Swiss psychologist Jean Piaget (1896–1980). Piaget shaped research on the cognitive development of children, primarily in the field of developmental psychology, and took the view that cognitive development is accelerated by interaction with the environment.

 

The three films explore the possibilities of play with surreal, dreamlike sequences and try to negotiate the processes of the memory, the mind, and the psyche, which are triggered when we process images. For this Beckman uses strict patterns of colors, shapes and motifs—related to each other by repetition and through game structures. The artist was connected to the so-called Pictures Generation, which dealt with the convergence of art with mass media such as film, television, and magazines between 1974 and 1984.

Pause: Ericka Beckman
18.–21. Januar 18

 
<p>Ericka Beckman, <em>The Broken Rule</em>, 1979, Super-8-Film</p>

Ericka Beckman, The Broken Rule, 1979, Super-8-Film

 

Eröffnung: 17. Januar 18, 19 Uhr

 

Als Auftakt für die erste Ausstellungssaison 2018 präsentieren die KW Institute for Contemporary Art in ihrer Serie Pause die Installation Super 8 Trilogy (1978–81) der experimentellen Filmemacherin und Künstlerin Ericka Beckman. Pause konzentriert sich auf einzelne Werke, die zwischen den Programmschwerpunkten gleichsam als inhaltliches Scharnier fungieren, das diese verbindet und ergänzt. 

 

Super 8 Trilogy  besteht aus den Filmen We Imitate; We Break Up (1978), The Broken Rule (1979) und Out of Hand (1981), die sich klassischen Erzählformen widersetzen und einer Choreographie folgen, die sich durch die Auseinandersetzung der Künstlerin mit dem Schweizer Psychologen Jean Piaget (1896–1980) entwickelt hat. Piaget prägte die Forschung zur kognitiven Entwicklung von Kindern auf dem Gebiet der Entwicklungspsychologie maßgeblich und vertrat den Standpunkt, dass die Entwicklung von Erkenntnis durch die Auseinandersetzung mit der Umwelt vorangetrieben wird. 

 

Die drei Filme loten dabei mit surrealen, traumhaften Sequenzen die Möglichkeiten des Spiels aus und versuchen, die Prozesse des Gedächtnisses, Verstandes und der Psyche, die beim Verarbeiten von Bildern ausgelöst werden, zu verhandeln. Beckman verwendet hierfür strikte Raster an Farben, Formen und Motiven, die durch Wiederholung und Spielabläufen miteinander in Beziehung gesetzt werden. Die Künstlerin war Teil der sogenannten Pictures Generation, die sich zwischen 1974 und 1984 mit der Annäherung von Kunst an die neuen Massenmedien Film, Fernsehen und Illustrierte auseinandersetzte.