KW Production Series

 
<div class="">Jamie Crewe,<em> production sketch</em>, 2017</div>
Jamie Crewe, production sketch, 2017

 

The ‘KW Production Series’ is a new commissioning project dedicated to artists’ moving image. KW will concentrate on two new productions per year and will inaugurate the series with the artists Jamie Crewe and Beatrice Gibson.

 

The project takes inspiration from KW’s founding principles, as a place of production and thinking, as well as a space for critical exchange and collaboration. Using the institution’s historic identity as a way to imagine ambitious new art works, this series is not simply a commission but a desire to enter into a conversation that will provide a robust framework to push artists and the institution to produce works of quality and excellence for its public.

 

This series seeks to identify and serve artists who are at a pivotal moment in their work and careerthose who will benefit not only from the financial support and institutional visibility this opportunity presents, but also those who will be able to use the KW Production Series to significantly and permanently transform the depth and rigor of their artistic practice. 

 

‘KW Production Series’ is produced by Mason Leaver-Yap, KW’s Associate Curator, and is a collaboration with the Julia Stoschek Collection and OUTSET Germany_Switzerland.

 

 

About the artists and projects

 

Jamie Crewe’s new work comprises two parallel videos that use allegory and animation to think about “progress,” exploring the evolution of mythic narratives, interpersonal change, and collective political time. With references to both the ancient Greek legend of Eurydice and Agostino Agazzari’s 15th century opera Eumelio, Crewe’s moving image production will be made daily over the course of the coming year, and will be interrupted by footage of friends’ reflections, conversations, and commentary.

 

Jamie Crewe is an artist, a singer, and a beautiful bronze figure with a polished cocotte’s head. Born in Manchester (GB) and based in Glasgow (GB), they completed their BA in Contemporary Fine Art at Sheffield Hallam University (GB) and their Master of Fine Art at Glasgow School of Art. Recent solo exhibitions include Female Executioner, Gasworks, London, 2017; and But what was most awful was a girl who was singing, Transmission, Glasgow, 2016. Their performance Potash Lesson, was presented at Tramway, Glasgow; KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin; Gasworks, London, and Catalyst Arts, Belfast (IE).

 

Exploring ideas around gender, poetry, and disobedience, Beatrice Gibson’s new film is a collaboration with two of US-America’s most significant living poets—CA Conrad and Eileen Myles—and draws inspiration from the work of a third – the US-American novelist Gertrude Stein and her unrealized script Film: Deux Soeurs qui sont pas Soeurs (1929). Exploring poetry as a means to reckon with the present, Gibson uses Stein’s script as a talismanic guide through a contemporary moment of social and political unrest.

 

Beatrice Gibson lives and works in London. Gibson has twice won the Rotterdam International Film Festival Tiger Award for Short Film. In 2013 she was shortlisted for the 2013–15 Max Mara Art Prize for Women, and in 2015 won the 17th Baloise Art Prize, Art Basel, Basel (CH). Recent solo exhibitions include MUDAM – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, Luxembourg, 2016; Grazer Kunstverein, Graz (AT), 2016; Collective Gallery, Edinburgh (GB), 2015. Gibson’s films have been screened nationally and internationally, and venues include the Rotterdam International Film Festival, Experimenta, London, Wavelengths, Toronto, Projections, The New York, Light Industry, Anthology Film Archives, and LA Film Forum.

 

 

<p> </p>
<p>With generous support by the</p>
<p>Julia Stoschek Collection and OUTSET Germany_Switzerland.</p>
<p> </p>

 

With generous support by the

Julia Stoschek Collection and OUTSET Germany_Switzerland.

KW Production Series

 
<div class="">Jamie Crewe, <em>Skizze</em>, 2017</div>
Jamie Crewe, Skizze, 2017

 

Die ‘KW Production Series’ ist ein Projekt, das sich dem künstlerischen Bewegtbild widmet. Die KW konzentrieren sich hierbei auf zwei künstlerische Neuproduktionen pro Jahr und eröffnen die Serie mit den KünstlerInnen Jamie Crewe und Beatrice Gibson

 

Die ‘KW Production Series’ setzen sich zum Ziel, ausgewählte KünstlerInnen zu unterstützen, deren Arbeit und Karriere sich vor einem wegweisenden Durchbruch befinden und die nicht nur von der finanziellen Unterstützung und dem institutionellen Renommee profitieren, sondern dieses Format auch nutzen, um den Tiefe- und Schärfegrad ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit maßgeblich und nachhaltig zu modifizieren.

 

‘KW Production Series’ wird organisiert von Mason Leaver-Yap, Assoziierte/r KuratorIn der KW.

 

Über die KünstlerInnen und Projekte

 

Jamie Crewes neue Arbeit besteht aus zwei parallel laufenden Videos, die sich der Allegorie und Animation bedienen, um über „Fortschritt“ nachzudenken und um die Entwicklung mythischer Erzählungen, (inter-)personelle Veränderungen und kollektive politische Zeit zu untersuchen. In Bezug auf die antike griechische Legende von Eurydike und Agostino Agazzaris Oper Eumelio aus dem 15. Jahrhundert wird Crewe im Laufe des kommenden Jahres täglich Bewegtbilder produzieren und sie mittels Filmaufnahmen von FreundInnen in Form von Reflexionen, Gesprächen und Kommentaren durchbrechen.

 

Jamie Crewe ist KünstlerIn, SängerIn,eine wunderschöne Bronzefigur mit glänzendem Cocotte-Kopf und wurde in Manchester (GB) geboren. Crewe lebt und arbeitet in Glasgow (GB), wo sie ihren BA in Contemporary Fine Art an der Sheffield Hallam University (GB) und ihren Master of Fine Art an der Glasgow School of Art abgeschlossen hat. Ihre Arbeiten wurden zuletzt in folgenden Einzelausstellungen gezeigt: Female Executioner, Gasworks, London, 2017; But what was most awful was a girl who was singing, Transmission, Glasgow, 2016. Ihre Performance Potash Lesson wird bei Tramway, Glasgow, den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, Gasworks, London und Catalyst Arts, Belfast (IE) präsentiert (2016–17). 

 

Anhand der Zusammenarbeit mit zwei der bedeutendsten lebenden LyrikerInnen US-Amerikas – CA Conrad und Eileen Myles – geht Beatrice Gibsons neuer Film Ideen zu Gender, Poesie und Gehorsamkeitsverweigerung nach. Dabei dient ihr das unerfüllte Skript Film: Deux Soeurs qui sont pas Soeurs (1929) der US-amerikanischen Schriftstellerin Gertrude Stein als zusätzliche Inspirationsquelle. Gibson erkundet in ihrer Arbeit Lyrik als Mittel zur Abrechnung mit der Gegenwart und verwendet dabei Steins Skript als glücksbringendes Handbuch für einen Augenblick sozialer und politischer Unruhe.

 

Beatrice Gibson lebt und arbeitet in London. Sie hat zweimal den Rotterdam International Film Festival Tiger Award für Kurzfilme erhalten. 2013 war sie für den 2013–15 Max Mara Kunstpreis für Frauen nominiert und gewann 2015 den 17. Baloise Art Prize der Art Basel, Basel (CH). Ihre Arbeiten wurden kürzlich in Einzelausstellungen im MUDAM – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, Luxemburg (2016), dem Grazer Kunstverein (AT), 2016 und der Collective Gallery in Edinburgh (GB), 2015 gezeigt. Gibsons Filme wurden national und international präsentiert, u.a. Im Rahmen des Rotterdam International Film Festival, des Programms Experimenta des London Film Festival, Wavelengths, Toronto, Projections, New York, bei Light Industry, den Anthology Film Archives und dem LA Film Forum.

 

 

<p> </p>
<p>Die ‚KW Production Series’ werden durch die großzügige Unterstützung der Julia Stoschek Collection und OUTSET Germany_Switzerland ermöglicht.</p>

 

Die ‚KW Production Series’ werden durch die großzügige Unterstützung der Julia Stoschek Collection und OUTSET Germany_Switzerland ermöglicht.