Lichtspiele

 

1 February 18, 8.30 pm
Bob’s Pogo Bar
Booking required. Please RSVP at bobspogobar@kw-berlin.de

Enter at own risk

 

Kat Anderson
Episodes of Horror:
Gudo: A Wounded Spectacle, with Skye Skyetshookii

 

Screening

 

<p>Kat Anderson and Skye Skyetshookii, <em>Gudo: A Wounded Spectacle</em>, 2018</p>

Kat Anderson and Skye Skyetshookii, Gudo: A Wounded Spectacle, 2018

 

In February and March 2018, Lichtspiele presents the first two installments of artist and curator Kat Anderson’s Episodes of Horror—a multi-part investigation into misrepresentations of black trauma and actual trauma as experienced by black people. Episodes uses the genre of horror to discuss psychical and mental trauma and its potential as an emancipatory tool.

 

Episodes begins with the premiere of Gudo: A Wounded Spectacle, a new video collaboration between Anderson and Skye Skyetshookii, who is a visual activist, forensic psychologist-in-training, and horror film enthusiast. Drawing on the impact of detention-related trauma experienced by asylum seekers and political detainees, Gudo: A Wounded Spectacle recounts the experiences of Skyetshookii’s own detention as a Zimbabwean gay asylum seeker. The “spectacle” at the heart of the film is multiple, comprising the invasive interrogation of candidates for asylum, the violent imagery of night terrors resulting from repeated exposure to trauma, and the examination of black trauma through the gaze of a camera.

 

Zimbabwean and based in England, Skye Skyetshookii is a forensic psychologist-in- training, specializing in intimate partner violence, sexual offending and homicide. Skye is also a queer visual activist and self-identified “ancestral wife.” In collaboration with other artists or organizations, Skye uses visual art to interrogate geo-political issues drawn from personal experiences, where “the personal is political.” Currently, Skye places much focus on the narrative of homosexuality and homophobia on the continent of Africa, as well as highlighting issues affecting LGBTQI Africans, asylum seekers, and refugees across the borders.

 

Kat Anderson is an artist, curator and producer from the UK. Anderson is interested in the politics of black diaspora, black trauma and mental health. Anderson was recently awarded a place on Beyond the Frame, a 22-month professional-development program convened by curator David A. Bailey and the International Curators Forum. From 2015–16, Anderson co-curated Jamaican Pulse: Art and Politics from Jamaica and the Diaspora for the Royal West of England Academy. Jamaican Pulse was an Art Council England National Portfolio project that comprised a major group exhibition of contemporary visual art from Jamaica, North America and the UK, as well as a series of artist residencies, and commissions. The project was developed in partnership with National Gallery of Jamaica (JM), Jamaican High Commission (JM), and the Bluecoat Art Centre, Liverpool (GB).

 

Episodes of Horror is supported by Arts Council England and by the British Council’s Artists’ International Development Fund.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lichtspiele

Lichtspiele

 

1. Februar 18, 20.30 Uhr
Bob’s Pogo Bar
Bitte melden Sie sich im Voraus unter bobspogobar@kw-berlin.de an.
Betreten auf eigene Gefahr.

 

Kat Anderson
Episodes of Horror:
Gudo: A Wounded Spectacle, with Skye Skyetshookii

 

Filmvorführung

 

<p>Kat Anderson und Skye Skyetshookii, <em>Gudo: A Wounded Spectacle</em>, 2018</p>

Kat Anderson und Skye Skyetshookii, Gudo: A Wounded Spectacle, 2018

 

Im Februar und März 2018 präsentiert Lichtspiele die ersten beiden Installationen von Episodes of Horror – eine mehrteilige Untersuchung der Künstlerin und Kuratorin Kat Anderson zu Falschdarstellungen von Schwarzem Trauma und unmittelbar erlebten Traumata Schwarzer Menschen. Episodes nutzt das Horrorgenre, um psychisch und mental erfahrenes Trauma und das daraus resultierende Potenzial als emanzipatorisches Mittel zu untersuchen.

 

Episodes beginnt mit der Premiere von Gudo: A Wounded Spectacle, einer neuen filmischen Zusammenarbeit zwischen Anderson und Skye Skyetshookii. Skyetshookii ist Gerichtspsycholog*in in Ausbildung und Horror-Film-Enthusiast*in. Gudo: A Wounded Spectacle bezieht sich auf durch Inhaftierung erfahrenes Trauma, wie es politische Gefangene und AsylbewerberInnen erleben, und berichtet von Skyetshookiis eigenen Erfahrungen als homosexuelle*r Asylbewerber*in aus Simbabwe. Das „Spektakel“, das den Kern des Films bildet, ist vielschichtig und umfasst bedrängende Verhöre, denen AsylbewerberInnen ausgesetzt sind, brutale Bilder nächtlichen Terrors, die ausgelöst werden durch wiederholtes Erleben traumatischer Ereignisse sowie die Untersuchung von Schwarzem Trauma durch die Kameralinse.

 

Skye Skyetshookii stammt aus Simbabwe und lebt und arbeitet in England. Skyetshookii ist Gerichtspsycholog*in in Ausbildung mit den Schwerpunkten Gewalt in Partnerschaften, Sexualverbrechen und Tötungsdelikte. Skyetshookii ist zudem queere*r Aktivist*in und bezeichnet sich selbst als „Urgattin / Urehefrau“. In Zusammenarbeit mit anderen KünstlerInnen und Organisationen nutzt Skyetshookii Kunst zur Untersuchung geopolitischer Themen, bei denen „das Persönliche politisch wird“. Zur Zeit legt Skyetshookii einen besonderen Fokus auf die Narrative von Homosexualität und Homophobie auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent und beleuchtet Themen, die LGBTQI-AfrikanerInnen, AsylbewerberInnen und Geflüchtete über alle Grenzen hinweg betreffen.

 

Kat Anderson ist Künstlerin, Kuratorin und Produzentin aus dem Vereinigten Königreich. Anderson beschäftigt sich mit der Politik Schwarzer Diaspora, mit Schwarzem Trauma und mentaler Gesundheit. Anderson erhielt kürzlich eine Zusage bei Beyond the Fame, einem 22-monatigen Programm für berufliche Entwicklung des Künstlers David A. Bailey und des International Curators Forum. Von 2015 bis 2016 ko-kuratierte Anderson Jamaican Pulse: Art and Politics from Jamaica and the Diaspora für die Royal West of England Academy. Jamaican Pulse war ein Projekt des National Portfolio / Art Council England, das sowohl eine große Gruppenausstellung zeitgenössischer Kunst aus Jamaika, Nordamerika und dem Vereinigten Königreich als auch eine Serie von KünstlerInnen-Residencies und Auftragsarbeiten umfasste. Das Projekt wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der National Gallery of Jamaica (JM), Jamaican High Commission (JM) und dem Bluecoat Art Centre, Liverpool (GB) entwickelt

 

Episodes of Horror wird unterstützt vom Arts Council England und vom Artists’ International Development Fund des British Council.

 

Lichtspiele