Lucy Skaer
Available Fonts
13 October 17 – 7 January 18

 
<p>Lucy Skaer, <em>La Chasse</em>, 2017, Courtesy the artist and Peter Freeman, Inc.</p>

Lucy Skaer, La Chasse, 2017, Courtesy the artist and Peter Freeman, Inc.

 

Opening: 12 October 17, 7 pm  

 

In autumn 2017, KW Institute for Contemporary Art presents the first solo exhibition by British artist Lucy Skaer in Berlin. Comprising of a large body of new work embedded in a selection of existing works from the last ten years, the exhibition presents the most substantial survey of Skaer’s work to date in Germany. Lucy Skaer (born 1975 in Cambridge, GB) draws on pre-existing imagery, narrative and forms shaped by usage and the determinations based on mass production and global trade to make combinations of sculpture, film and print. Form, meaning, and value are traced in her work through various states of formal and allegorical existence.

 

For her new commission for KW, Lucy Skaer continues her scrutiny of the conventional classification of objects and production methods in critical exchange with art historical motives and references. Skaer aims to unite these leitmotifs that have long accompanied her work into one large-scale sculptural tableau. Here, she draws from her own oeuvre, reworking her existing sculptures to become representations of animals in a medieval hunting scenery referencing the famous Livre de chasse, a medieval transcript with miniature illuminations on Renaissance hunting techniques from 1331-1391. Doing so, Skaer explores the mutable meaning of these works and playfully critiques their language of desire, their status as definitive works of art and their potential for self-reproduction. In line with her prevailing attitude she rejects the understanding of materials or works as finite things, recognizing every manifestation as only one latent version amongst many others. Skaer’s sculptures function in that way more like idiosyncratic processes, which insert themselves into an already existing chain of material conversions and transformations, consuming one manifestation to give birth to another.

 

The exhibition will travel to the Salzburger Kunstverein in February 2018.

 

Curator: Anna Gritz

Assistant Curator: Cathrin Mayer

 

 

<p>The project<em> Willem de Rooij and Lucy Skaer</em> is funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, Berlin. The exhibition by Lucy Skaer is generously supported by the Henry Moore Foundation.</p>
<p> </p>

 

The project Willem de Rooij and Lucy Skaer is funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, Berlin. The exhibition by Lucy Skaer is generously supported by the Henry Moore Foundation.

Lucy Skaer
13. Oktober 17 – 7. Januar 18

 
<p>Lucy Skaer, <em>La Chasse</em>, 2017</p>

Lucy Skaer, La Chasse, 2017

 

Eröffnung: 12. Oktober 17, 19 Uhr   

 

Im Herbst 2017 zeigen die KW Institute for Contemporary Art die erste Einzelausstellung der britischen Künstlerin Lucy Skaer in Berlin. Die Schau umfasst neue, für die KW produzierte Arbeiten, die in eine Auswahl von Werken aus den letzten zehn Jahren eingebettet werden. Es handelt sich um die bislang ausführlichste Überblicksausstellung zu Skaers Werk in Deutschland. Die 1975 in Cambridge geborene Künstlerin schöpft für ihre Kombinationen aus Skulptur, Film und Druckgrafik aus existierenden Bildvokabularien, tradierten narrativen Strukturen, vom Gebrauch und Industrie geprägten Formen und deren im globalen Handel fußenden Bestimmungen. Form, Bedeutung und Wert lassen sich in ihrem Werk durch unterschiedliche Stadien formeller und allegorischer Existenz nachzeichnen.

 

In ihrer jüngsten Auftragsarbeit für die KW führt Lucy Skaer ihre Untersuchung der konventionellen Klassifizierung von Objekten und Produktionsmethoden in kritischem Wechselspiel mit kunsthistorischen Motiven und Bezügen fort. Skaer zielt darauf ab, die Leitmotive, die ihr Werk seit langem begleiten, zu einem groß angelegten, skulpturalen Tableau zu vereinigen. Hier knüpft sie an ihr Œuvre an, indem sie ihre eigenen Skulpturen überarbeitet, bis aus ihnen abstrahierte Tierdarstellungen im Stil mittelalterlicher Jagdszenen, wie etwa in dem berühmten Livre de chasse, werden, eine mittelalterliche Abhandlung über Jagdtechniken mit Miniaturmalereien aus der Zeit zwischen 1331-1391. So lotet Skaer die wandelbare Form und Bedeutung dieser Werke aus und hinterfragt auf spielerische Weise deren Sprache der Begierde, ihren Status als abgeschlossene, endgültige Kunstwerke und das ihnen innewohnende Potenzial der Selbstreproduktion. Gemäß Skaers charakteristischer Herangehensweise lehnt sie es ab, Materialien oder Arbeiten als endliche Dinge zu verstehen, vielmehr erkennt sie jedwede Manifestation als lediglich eine unter zahllosen latenten Versionen an. Skaers Skulpturen sind in dieser Hinsicht eher wie eigenwillige Prozesse, die sich in eine bereits existierende Kette von materiellen Um- und Verwandlungen einfügen und gleichsam eine Manifestation verzehren, um eine andere hervorzubringen.

 

Die Ausstellung wird im Februar 2018 im Salzburger Kunstverein zu sehen sein.

 

<p>Das Projekt<em> Willem de Rooij and Lucy Skaer</em> wird gefördert durch Mittel der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, Berlin. Die Ausstellung von Lucy Skaer wird großzügig unterstützt durch die Henry Moore Foundation.</p>

 

Das Projekt Willem de Rooij and Lucy Skaer wird gefördert durch Mittel der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, Berlin. Die Ausstellung von Lucy Skaer wird großzügig unterstützt durch die Henry Moore Foundation.