Pause:
AA Bronson’s
Garten der Lüste

26–29 April 18

 

Opening: 25 April 18, 7 pm

 

<p>AA Bronson, <em>Tent for Healing</em> (in collaboration with Travis Meinholf), 2013, exhibition view <em>AA Bronson, Tent of Healing</em>, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, 2013, Courtesy the artist and Esther Schipper, Berlin</p>

AA Bronson, Tent for Healing (in collaboration with Travis Meinholf), 2013, exhibition view AA Bronson, Tent of Healing, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, 2013, Courtesy the artist and Esther Schipper, Berlin

 

Featuring AA Bronson / Collaborations with Adrian Hermanides, Mark Jan Krayenhoff van de Leur, Travis Meinolf, James Richards, and Scott Treleave / Performances with Spencer Carter, Michael DudeckRichard John Jones, Ebe Oke, and Chrysanne Stathacos / Additional works by Elijah Burgher, TM Davy, Sholem Krishtalka, Chrysanne Stathacos and introducing: JX Williams

 

AA Bronson’s Garten der Lüste—a 5-day hybrid installation featuring performances and artworks—will inaugurate KW’s second exhibition season of 2018 as part of its Pause series. Pause is envisioned as a platform to punctuate the program by presenting a singular installation for a short period of time in order to bridge relationships between the past, present and future.

 

AA Bronson (born 1946, Vancouver) is both artist and curator, subject and object. In this project, Bronson continues his practice of enfolding his community of artists within his own performances and artworks. The project takes Hieronymus Bosch’s famous painting The Garden of Earthly Delights (circa 1500) as its starting point. To analyze Hieronymus Bosch’s triptych is an attempt to describe the indescribable and to decipher the indecipherable—an exercise in madness. The project could be seen as a queer adaptation that executes this madness through various spirits and universes.

 

A pioneer of collaborative and queer visual art practice, AA Bronson is the sole surviving member of the art collective General Idea (1969–94). He has had a long history with political and social issues in art and publishing, and has collaborated with many generations of artists across many disciplines. He is a founder of FILE Magazine, Toronto; Art Metropole, Toronto; The NY Art Book Fair, New York; The Institute for Art, Religion and Social Justice, New York; and AA Bronson’s School for Young Shamans, which is nomadic. In the last decades he has knitted elements from various religions into his work, from Tibetan Buddhism and Shamanism to Ceremonial Magic, and Santería.

 

 

 

Tent for Healing

 

The Tent for Healing invites visitors to one-on-one sessions on the subject of healing. On Thursday, April 26 and Friday, April 27 from 11 am to 2 pm, the sessions will be held with artist AA Bronson, with Richard John Jones assisting. On Saturday, April 28 and Sunday, April 29 from noon to 3 pm, sessions will be held with artist Richard John Jones with Spencer Carter assisting. If you would like to join a session, please send an email to reservation@kw-berlin.de, and write a few sentences (in English) why you would like to join the session. If you are chosen for one of the sessions, you will be asked to bring a gift for the artist, something that is difficult for you to give away.

 

Director and curator: Krist Gruijthuijsen

Assistant curator: Maurin Dietrich

 

AA Bronson’s Garten der Lüste will be on view only throughout Gallery Weekend Berlin (April 26–29, 2018). Simultaneously, Esther Schipper, Berlin presents Catch me if you can! AA Bronson + General Idea, 1968–2018 from April 26 through May 26, 2018.

 

<p>The project at KW is generously supported by Esther Schipper, Berlin, the Embassy of Canada, Berlin, and the Canada Council for the Arts, Galerie Thomas Fuchs, and Maureen Paley, London.</p>

The project at KW is generously supported by Esther Schipper, Berlin, the Embassy of Canada, Berlin, and the Canada Council for the Arts, Galerie Thomas Fuchs, and Maureen Paley, London.

 

Media partner: Hyperallergic

Pause:
AA Bronsons
Garten der Lüste

26.–29. April 18

 

Eröffnung: 25. April 18, 19 Uhr

 

<p>AA Bronson, <em>Tent for Healing</em> (in Kollaboration mit Travis Meinholf), 2013, Installationsansicht <em>AA Bronson, Tent of Healing</em>, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, 2013, Courtesy der Künstler und Esther Schipper, Berlin, Foto: © Ernst van Deursen</p>

AA Bronson, Tent for Healing (in Kollaboration mit Travis Meinholf), 2013, Installationsansicht AA Bronson, Tent of Healing, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, 2013, Courtesy der Künstler und Esther Schipper, Berlin, Foto: © Ernst van Deursen

 

Featuring AA Bronson / Kollaborationen mit Adrian Hermanides, Mark Jan Krayenhoff van de Leur, Travis Meinolf, James Richards und Scott Treleaven / Performances mit Spencer Carter, Michael DudeckRichard John Jones, Ebe Oke und Chrysanne Stathacos / Zusätzliche Arbeiten von Elijah Burgher, TM Davy, Sholem Krishtalka und Chrysanne Stathacos sowie erstmalig JX Williams

 

AA Bronsons Garten der Lüste präsentiert im Rahmen des seriellen Formats Pause eine 5-tägige, hybride Installation, die Performances und künstlerische Arbeiten vereint. Pause fungiert als Unterbrechung des laufenden Ausstellungsprogramms der KW Institute for Contemporary Art und stellt anhand von einzelnen Kunstwerken Verbindungen zwischen der Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft her.

 

AA Bronson (* 1946, Vancouver) ist sowohl Künstler und Kurator als auch Subjekt und Objekt. Mit dem Projekt Garten der Lüste knüpft Bronson an seine bestehende Praxis an, mit der er die ihn umgebende Gemeinschaft von KünstlerInnen in seine Performances und künstlerischen Arbeiten einbindet. Garten der Lüste nimmt Hieronymus Boschs gleichnamiges Gemälde (um 1500) als Ausgangspunkt. Die Analyse des Triptychons ist ein Versuch, das Unbeschreibliche zu beschreiben und das nicht Entzifferbare zu dekodieren – kurz: eine wahnsinnige Aufgabe. Bronsons Projekt kann als queere Adaption verstanden werden, die diesen Wahnsinn anhand verschiedener Stimmungen und Universen umschreibt.

 

AA Bronson ist ein Pionier der kollaborativen und queeren, visuellen Kunstpraxis und das letzte, noch lebende Mitglied der Künstlergruppe General Idea (1969-94). Seit langem beschäftigt er sich im Kunstkontext und in Publikationen mit politischen und sozialen Fragestellungen und hat disziplinübergreifend mit KünstlerInnen unterschiedlichsten Alters kollaboriert. AA Bronson ist Gründer des FILE Magazine, Toronto; von Art Metropole, Toronto; The NY Art Book Fair, New York; The Institute for Art, Religion and Social Justice, New York und der nomadisch angelegten School for Young Shamans. In den letzten Jahrzehnten hat AA Bronson Elemente unterschiedlichster Religionen in seine Arbeit einfließen lassen, vom tibetischen Buddhismus über Schamanismus bis hin zu zeremonieller Magie und Santería.

 

 

 

Tent for Healing

 

Tent for Healing lädt zu Einzelsitzungen zum Thema Heilung ein. Am Donnerstag, den 26. April und am Freitag, den 27. April, jeweils von 11 bis 14 Uhr, werden von dem Künstler AA Bronson und assistiert von Richard John Jones mehrere Sitzungen angeboten. Am Samstag, den 28. April und Sonntag, den 29. April, jeweils von 12 bis 15 Uhr, werden Sitzungen mit dem Künstler Richard John Jones, assistiert von Spencer Carter, stattfinden. Wenn Sie an einer Sitzung teilnehmen möchten, senden Sie bitte eine E-Mail an reservation@kw-berlin.de mit einer kurzen, auf englisch verfassten Erklärung, warum Sie teilnehmen möchten. Sollten sie für eine der Sitzungen ausgewählt werden, bitten wir Sie, dem Künstler ein kleines Gastgeschenk mitzubringen – etwas, wovon Sie sich nicht leicht trennen können.

 

 

Direktor und Kurator: Krist Gruijthuijsen

Assistenzkuratorin: Maurin Dietrich

 

AA Bronsons Garten der Lüste wird ausschließlich während des Gallery Weekend Berlin (26.– 29. April 2018) in den KW zu sehen sein. Parallel präsentiert Esther Schipper, Berlin Catch me if you can! AA Bronson + General Idea, 1968–2018 (26. April – 26. Mai 2018).

 

<p><em>AA Bronsons Garten der Lüste </em>wird großzügig unterstützt von Esther Schipper, Berlin und der Botschaft von Kanada, Berlin, dem Canada Council for the Arts, Galerie Thomas Fuchs und Maureen Paley, London.</p>
<p> </p>
<p> </p>
<p>Medienpartner: <a href="https://hyperallergic.com">Hyperallergic</a></p>

AA Bronsons Garten der Lüste wird großzügig unterstützt von Esther Schipper, Berlin und der Botschaft von Kanada, Berlin, dem Canada Council for the Arts, Galerie Thomas Fuchs und Maureen Paley, London.

 

 

Medienpartner: Hyperallergic