Weekend #1

 

19 January 17; 7 pm SOLD OUT
20 January 17; 7 pm SOLD OUT

20 January 17; 9 pm SOLD OUT
Ticket: 10 €
Limited Capacity

 

Guy de Cointet: Two Drawings (1974)

 

Performance, in English

 

<p>Guy de Cointet, <em>Two Drawings</em>, 1974, Performance at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, US, 1985, Performed by Mary-Ann Duganne Glicksman © All rights reserved. Courtesy Guy de Cointet Society and Air de Paris, Paris</p>

Guy de Cointet, Two Drawings, 1974, Performance at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, US, 1985, Performed by Mary-Ann Duganne Glicksman © All rights reserved. Courtesy Guy de Cointet Society and Air de Paris, Paris

 

Guy de Cointet has written more than twenty plays, half of which were staged during his lifetime. As a Frenchman in the USA of the 1970s and 1980s he was the perfect observer of the society of popular entertainment. He created a body of work that investigates the borders between high and low, performance and sculpture, theatre and everyday life. His performance Two Drawings was first staged in 1974. It is one of his monologue pieces, staged in front of a wall on which two drawings with an identical composition of numbers are hung. The female protagonist provides the audience throughout the performance with a detailed account of her relationship to these two seemingly identical drawings. 

 

Guy de Cointet (1934–1983) was an enigmatic Los Angeles and New York-based conceptual artist, who had a wide-ranging practice including drawing, playwriting, and performance. De Cointet conceived art as an interplay of colour, language, and form. His fascination for language and meaning are expressed in his drawings, books and performances where fragments of text, colourful objects and props blend the everyday with the absurd. 

 

 

Trisha Brown Dance Company: You Can See Us (1995)

 

Performance

 

<p>Trisha Brown Dance Company, <em>You can see us</em>, 1995; Photo: © Julieta Cervantes, 2010.</p>

Trisha Brown Dance Company, You can see us, 1995; Photo: © Julieta Cervantes, 2010.

 

 

Trisha Brown choreographed and performed the duet You Can See Us (1995) shortly after premiering her acclaimed solo If You Could See Me (1994). Dancing the entirety of If You Could See Me with her back to the audience, allowing only glimpse of her face in profile, Brown intrigued audiences with the solo’s play on perception. She later revisited this concept to develop You Can See Us, and performed the duet first with Bill T. Jones in 1995, and then with Mikhail Baryshnikov in 1996. 

 

Facing away from each other, and moving primarily in unison, the two dancers’ mirrored yet spatially separate movements generate a dynamic tension that defines not only their relation to each other, but to the audience as well. Robert Rauschenberg’s sparse score and sheath like costumes heighten the striking interplay. 

 

Trisha Brown Dance Company (TBDC) is a post-modern dance company dedicated to the performance, and preservation of the work of Founding Artistic Director and Choreographer, Trisha Brown. Established in 1970, TBDC has toured throughout the world presenting the work, teaching and building relationships with audiences and artists alike. Brown engaged collaborators who are themselves leaders in music, theater, and the visual arts, including visual artists Robert Rauschenberg, Donald Judd, and Elizabeth Murray, and musicians Laurie Anderson, John Cage, and Alvin Curran, to name a few. With these partners, Brown has created an exceptionally varied body of work, with premieres and performances for New York-based audiences and international counterparts. 

 

Performed by Leah Morrison and Dai Jian

Choreography: Trisha Brown 

Sound and Costume: Robert Rauschenberg

 

 

 

Miet Warlop: Nervous Pictures (2017)

 

Performance

 

<p>Miet Warlop, <em>The View (</em>2013); Performance; © Courtesy the artist</p>

Miet Warlop, The View (2013); Performance; © Courtesy the artist

 

The Belgium artist Miet Warlop positions her practice in between the visual arts and the theatre. For the performance Nervous Pictures (2017) Warlop introduces a plastic language that is created under the eye of the audience, through a succession of theatrical vignettes consisting of physical actions, sculptural props and scenic interventions that artfully cancel each other out on stage. Each scene reveals the immaterial processes that go into the work and turns them into a sculptural live event creating a temporary fantasy that begins to crumble in the moment of its completion. Additionally her walking-table piece The View will be performed throughout the opening night in the ground floor of KW (performed by Paola Zampierolo).

 

Miet Warlop (*1978 in Torhout, BE) trained in multimedia practices, works more specifically at the intersection of theatre, performance and visual arts. Her theatrical paintings share a powerful tendency towards the surreal and a dose of silent comedy. Lately Warlop has been addressing concepts such as ambition, enthusiasm, determination and the immaterial processes of the works emerging from a sculptural event.

Weekend #1

 

19. Januar 17; 19 Uhr AUSVERKAUFT

20. Januar 17; 19 Uhr AUSVERKAUFT

20. Januar 17; 21 Uhr AUSVERKAUFT

Ticket: 10 €

Begrenzte Kapazität

 

Guy de Cointet: Two Drawings (1974)

 

Performance, in englischer Sprache

 

<p>Guy de Cointet, <em>Two Drawings</em>, 1974, Performance im Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, USA, 1985, Aufgeführt von Mary-Ann Duganne Glicksman © Alle Rechte vorbehalten.<br /> Courtesy Guy de Cointet Society und Air de Paris, Paris.</p>

Guy de Cointet, Two Drawings, 1974, Performance im Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, USA, 1985, Aufgeführt von Mary-Ann Duganne Glicksman © Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
Courtesy Guy de Cointet Society und Air de Paris, Paris.

 

Guy de Cointet hat mehr als 20 Theaterstücke geschrieben, von denen die Hälfte zu seinen Lebzeiten aufgeführt worden ist. Als Franzose in den USA der 1970er- und 1980er-Jahre war er perfekter Beobachter einer Gesellschaft der Populärkultur. Er schuf einen Werkkomplex, der die Grenzen zwischen Elite und Masse, Performance und Skulptur, Theater und Alltagskultur auslotete. Seine Performance Two Drawings, wurde 1974 uraufgeführt. Es ist eine seiner Monolog-basierten Arbeiten, die vor einer Wand aufgeführt wird an der zwei Zeichnungen mit einer identischen Komposition an Nummern hängen. Die weibliche Protagonistin des Stücks hält dem Publikum einen detaillierten Vortrag über ihr Verhältnis zu diesen zwei identisch anmutenden Zeichnungen.

 

Guy de Cointet (1934–1983) war als mythenumrankter Konzeptkünstler bekannt. Er zeichnete, verfasste Theaterstücke und realisierte Performances. De Cointet verstand Kunst als Wechselspiel von Farbe, Sprache und Form. Fasziniert von Sprache und Bedeutung, ließ er das Alltägliche in seinen Zeichnungen, Büchern und Performances mittels Textfragmenten, farbenfrohen Objekten und Requisiten ins Absurde gleiten.

 

 

Trisha Brown Dance Company: You Can See Us (1995)

 

Performance

 

<p>Trisha Brown Dance Company, <em>You can see us</em>, 1995; Foto © Julieta Cervantes, 2010.</p>

Trisha Brown Dance Company, You can see us, 1995; Foto © Julieta Cervantes, 2010.

 

Trisha Brown choreografierte und performte das Duett You Can See Us (1995) kurz nach der Premiere ihres renommierten Solos If You Could See Me (1994). Während der gesamten Länge von If You Could See Me tanzte Brown mit dem Rücken zum Publikum, gestattete ihm so nur einen flüchtigen Blick auf ihr Profil, und faszinierte die ZuschauerInnen mit dem Spiel der Wahrnehmung dieses Solos. Später griff Sie dieses Konzept wieder auf und entwickelte You Can See Us, welches sie 1995 zuerst im Duett mit Bill T. Jones und 1996 mit Mikhail Baryshnikov aufführte. 

 

Voneinander abgewandt und sich hauptsächlich synchron bewegend, erschaffen die zwei TänzerInnen durch ihre gespiegelten jedoch räumlich getrennten Bewegungen eine dynamische Spannung, die nicht nur ihre wechselseitige Beziehung, sondern auch diejenige zum Publikum definiert. Robert Rauschenbergs karge Partitur und hüllenähnliche Kostüme unterstreichen dieses beeindruckende Zusammenspiel.  

 

Trisha Brown Dance Company (TBDC) ist ein post-modernes Tanzensemble, das sich dem Aufführen und Bewahren der Arbeit der künstlerischen Gründungsdirektorin und Choreographin Trisha Brown verschrieben hat. 1970 gegründet, hat die TBDC weltweit ihre Arbeiten gezeigt, unterrichtet und zugleich enge Beziehungen zu Publikum und KünstlerInnen aufgebaut. Brown kollaborierte mit führende Persönlichkeiten aus Musik, Theater und bildener Kunst, wie u.a. Robert Rauschenberg, Donald Judd und Elizabeth Murray, und MusikerInnen wie Laurie Anderson, John Cage und Alvin Curran, um nur einige zu nennen. Mit diesen PartnerInnen hat Brown ein besonders vielfältiges Oeuvre aus Premieren und Performances für ein in New York ansässiges Publikum und internationalen Pendants geschaffen.  

 

Performt von Leah Morrison und Dai Jian

Choreographie: Trisha Brown 

Musik und Kostüm: Robert Rauschenberg

 

 

Miet Warlop: Nervous Pictures (2017)

 

Performance

 

<div class="page_image_caption"> <p>Miet Warlop, <em>The View (</em>2013); Performance; © Courtesy die Künstlerin</p> </div>

Miet Warlop, The View (2013); Performance; © Courtesy die Künstlerin

 

Die belgische Künstlerin Miet Warlop positioniert sich mit ihren Arbeiten zwischen  bildender Kunst und Theater. In ihrer Performance Nervous Pictures (2017) präsentiert sie eine plastische Sprache, die vor den Augen der BesucherInnen erschaffen wird und sich in einem Reigen theatralischer Figuren anhand von Körperbewegungen, skulpturalen Requisiten und szenischen Interventionen manifestiert und sich dabei nach allen Regeln der Kunst selbst auslöscht. Jede Szene offenbart den immateriellen Prozess der Warlops Arbeiten ausmacht und sie zu einem skulpturalen Event werden lässt. Dabei werden temporäre Fantasien erschaffen, die im Moment ihrer Vollendung zerfallen. Warlops Arbeit The View – ein wandernder Tisch – wird zudem während des Eröffnungsabends im Erdgeschoss der KW zu sehen sein (performt von Paola Zampierolo).

 

Miet Warlop (* 1978 in Torhout, BE) studierte Multimedia-Praktiken und arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Theater, Performance und bildender Kunst. Ihre theatralen Gemälde leben von einer starken Tendenz ins Surreale, ebenso wie von einer Portion stillen Humors. Jüngst hat Warlop sich mit Konzepten wie Ambition, Enthusiasmus, Determination und den immateriellen Prozessen von Werken auseinandergesetzt, die aus einem skulpturalen Event entstehen.

 

 

The Weekends