Weekend #2

 

28–29 January 17

11 am – 7 pm, every 15 minutes

Free admission with exhibition ticket.  

Please register at our ticket desk or in advance at reservation@kw-berlin.de

 

Germaine Kruip: A Square, Spoken (2015–2016)

 

One-on-One Performance, 20 min 

In English

 

<p>Germaine Kruip, <em>A Square, Spoken </em>(2015-2016), One-on-one performance, approximately 20 minutes. Performance for the 20th Biennale of Sydney on Cockatoo Island, Sydney, AU. Courtesy of the artist. Photographer: Document Photograph</p>

Germaine Kruip, A Square, Spoken (2015-2016), One-on-one performance, approximately 20 minutes. Performance for the 20th Biennale of Sydney on Cockatoo Island, Sydney, AU. Courtesy of the artist. Photographer: Document Photograph

 

For KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Germaine Kruip will rework and adapt her recent monologue-based performance A Square, Spoken (2015) in consideration of Ian Wilson’s work on shapes as the last physical remnants of his practice before he resorted to total dematerialization in order to realize a concept. The script for this one-on-one performance is drawn from historical quotes on the concept of ‘the square’ by artists, scientists, and historians, including: Kazimir Malevich, Josef Albers, Carl Jung, Claes Oldenburg, Galileo Galilei, Ad Reinhardt, Lygia Pape, and Chinese proverbs. In the process, A Square, Spoken re-visits and re-contextualises historical and art historical shifts in understandings of the square, as a form and concept, as well as the new meanings it has acquired over time. 

 

Germaine Kruip’s (* 1970 in Castricum, NL, lives and works in Amsterdam, NL) work expresses the tensions and connections between formal abstraction and spiritual traditions. With a background in theatre and scenography, she examines techniques of staging such as light, sound, duration and isolation. With a predilection for ephemeral objects she turns her artworks into performative agents that provoke a new understandings of space and time, and how we move through it.

 

With support from the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Berlin

Weekend #2

 

2829. Januar 17

1119 Uhr, Alle 15 Minuten

Im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen.

Bitte melden Sie sich an unserem Ticketdesk oder im Voraus unter reservation@kw-berlin.de an.

 

 

Germaine Kruip: A Square, Spoken (2015–2016)

 

Eins-zu-Eins Performance, 20 min 

In englischer Sprache

 

<p>Germaine Kruip, <em>A Square, Spoken </em>(2015-2016), Eins-zu-Eins Performance, ca. 20 Minuten, Performance für die 20. Biennale of Sydney, Sydney, AU. Courtesy die Künstlerin, Foto: Document Photograph</p>

Germaine Kruip, A Square, Spoken (2015-2016), Eins-zu-Eins Performance, ca. 20 Minuten, Performance für die 20. Biennale of Sydney, Sydney, AU. Courtesy die Künstlerin, Foto: Document Photograph

 

Für die KW Institute for Contemporary Art plant Germaine Kruip, ihre monologbasierte Performance A Square, Spoken von 2015 im Hinblick auf Ian Wilsons Werk umzuarbeiten und zu adaptieren, genauer: sich mit Wilsons Verständnis der puren Form als letztem physischen Überrest seiner Arbeit auseinanderzusetzen, bevor er diese komplett entmaterialisiert hat, um nur noch „Konzepte“ zu realisieren. Der Text von Kruips Performance, die für jede und jeden BetrachterIn neu aufgeführt wird, arbeitet mit historischen Zitaten von KünstlerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen und HistorikerInnen zum Thema „Quadrat“, etwa von Kasimir Malewitsch, Josef Albers, Carl Jung, Claes Oldenburg, Galileo Galilei, Ad Reinhardt oder Lygia Pape sowie chinesischen Sprichwörtern. Im Verlauf der Performance werden historische und kunsthistorische Entwicklungen im Verständnis dessen untersucht, was ein Quadrat – als Form wie als Konzept – bedeutet sowie dessen diverse Bedeutungen analysiert, die das Quadrat im Laufe der Zeit angenommen hat. 

 

Germaine Kruips (* 1970 in Castricum, NL, lebt und arbeitet in Amsterdam) Arbeit liegt ein Interesse an den Spannungen und Verbindungen zwischen der Abstraktion der Form und spirituellen Traditionen zugrunde. Vom Theater und der Szenografie kommend, untersucht Kruip Bühnentechniken wie Licht, Ton und Performance. Mit einer Vorliebe für ephemere Objekte macht sie ihre Kunstwerke zu performativen Trägern, um so ein neues Verständnis von Raum und Zeit ebenso anzuregen wie die Art und Weise, in der wir uns durch diese Kategorien bewegen. 

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande in Berlin