Weekend #6

 

11 March 17, 5 pm

SOPHIENSÆLE, Sophienstraße 18, 10178 Berlin-Mitte

Ticket 7 €, reduced 5 € (Onlineticket)

In English

Tickets can be purchased online and at the ticket desk of SOPHIENSÆLE.

 

Please note that the performance includes strong language and references to wartime violence unsuitable for children. Viewer discretion is advised.

 

Coco Fusco: Words May Not Be Found, 2017

 

Performance

 

<p>Extermination order of Lothar von Trotha (1904), only surviving copy of the Botswana National Archives RC II/I (edited copy); from: J. B. Gewald: <i>The great General of the Kaiser</i>, In: Botswana notes and records, vol. 26, 1994, p. 72.</p>

Extermination order of Lothar von Trotha (1904), only surviving copy of the Botswana National Archives RC II/I (edited copy); from: J. B. Gewald: The great General of the Kaiser, In: Botswana notes and records, vol. 26, 1994, p. 72.

 

For nearly three decades, Coco Fusco has delved into historical records and colonial archives to create works that tease out subtexts and counter-narratives embedded in them. In her new work Words May Not Be Found for the events series The Weekends at KW Institute for Contemporary Art, she seeks to draw out parallels between colonial and contemporary perceptions of non-western “others.”

 

More than a century after the German military campaign in South-West Africa, the conflict that emerged in response to an insurrection by the Nama and Herero peoples of Namibia remains a source of collective trauma for both nations. The traumatic nature of this history is due in not only to the scale of violence that was carried out against civilians, but also to the efforts to suppress the sole document that contained Namibian testimony relating to the conflict. Fusco’s performance will focus on the struggle over the words of the native informants.

 

Coco Fusco, born 1960 in New York, US, is an interdisciplinary artist, writer and the Andrew Banks Endowed Professor of Art at the University of Florida. She divides her time between New York, Florida and Cuba. Fusco explores the politics of racial classification and gender, and the role of both in the practice of war. Fusco has performed at exhibited internationally since the 1980s, most recently at Frieze Projects London, the Museo Jumex in Mexico City, and the 56th Venice Biennial, Venice, IT. She has received numerous awards, including the Guggenheim Fellowship, the Absolut Art Writing Award and the Fulbright Fellowship in 2013. She is represented by Alexander Gray Associates in New York.

 

A collaboration between KW Institute for Contemporary Art and SOPHIENSÆLE.

 

Please note that the event is taking place at SOPHIENSÆLE.

Weekend #6

 
  1. 11. März 17, 17 Uhr
  2. SOPHIENSÆLE, Sophienstraße 18, 10178 Berlin
  3. Tickets: 7 €, ermäßigt 5 € (Online)
  4. In englischer Sprache
  5. Tickets können online und an der Abendkasse der SOPHIENSÆLE erworben werden.

 

  1. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Performance Kraftausdrücke und Verweise auf Kriegsgewalt beinhaltet, die nicht für Kinder geeignet sind. Den ZuschauerInnen wird Vorsicht angeraten.

 

Coco Fusco: Words May Not Be Found, 2017

 

Performance

 

<p>Vernichtungsbefehl von Lothar von Trotha (1904), einzige erhaltene Kopie aus den Botswana National Archives RC ll/l (bearbeitete Kopie); aus: J.B. Gewald: <i>The great General of the Kaiser</i>, in: Botswana notes and records, Vol. 26, 1994, S.72.</p>

Vernichtungsbefehl von Lothar von Trotha (1904), einzige erhaltene Kopie aus den Botswana National Archives RC ll/l (bearbeitete Kopie); aus: J.B. Gewald: The great General of the Kaiser, in: Botswana notes and records, Vol. 26, 1994, S.72.

 

Seit beinahe drei Jahrzehnten erforscht Coco Fusco historische Dokumente und koloniale Archive, um Arbeiten zu schaffen, die ihnen verborgene Subtexte und Gegennarrative entlocken. Für ihre neue Performance Words May Not Be Found im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe The Weekends der KW Institute for Contemporary Art versucht Fusco, die Parallelen zwischen den kolonialen und zeitgenössischen Sichtweisen auf das nicht-westliche „Andere“ aufzuzeigen.

 

Mehr als ein Jahrhundert nach dem deutschen Feldzug in Süd-West-Afrika ist der Konflikt, der als Reaktion auf den Aufstand der Nama und Herero entstand, immer noch eine Quelle kollektiver Traumata für beide Nationen. Die traumatische Wirkung dieser Geschichte bedingt sich nicht nur durch das Ausmaß an ausgetragener Gewalt gegen Zivilistinnen und Zivilisten, sondern auch in der bemühten Unterdrückung des einzigen Dokuments, das namibische ZeugInnenaussagen zum Hergang des Konfliktes enthielt. Fuscos Performance beschäftigt sich mit dem Ringen um die Sprache der einheimischen Zeuginnen und Zeugen.

 

Die interdisziplinär arbeitende Künstlerin, Autorin und Kuratorin Coco Fusco wurde 1960 in New York, US, geboren und lebt und arbeitet in New York, Florida und auf Kuba. Sie ist Andrew Banks Endowed Professor of Art an der Universität von Florida, US. Fusco untersucht in ihren Arbeiten Fragen der ethnischen, klassenbasierten und geschlechtsspezifischen Dynamiken in Gesellschaft, Krieg und Politik. Ihre Performances und Arbeiten wurden seit den 1980er Jahren international gezeigt; u.a. auf der Frieze Projects London, im Museo Jumex in Mexiko-Stadt und im Rahmen der 56. Biennale di Venezia, Venedig, IT. Fusco erhielt eine Reihe von Auszeichnungen, u.a. das Guggenheim Fellowship, den Absolut Art Writing Award und ein Fulbright Stipendium im Jahr 2013. Sie wird von Alexander Gray Associates in New York vertreten. 

 

Eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen den KW Institute for Contemporary Art und SOPHIENSÆLE

 

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Veranstaltung in den SOPHIENSÆLEN stattfindet.