Weekend #9

 

5–6 May 17

Extremely limited capacity.

Booking will open on April 21, 2017, 3 pm and must be made by telephone: +49 30-243459 47. 

 

Michael Portnoy: ‘Progressive Touch—Total Body Language Reprogramming’

 
<p>© Suzie & Léo</p>

© Suzie & Léo

 

You are a naked, white male, alone in a room with a Larval Bouffon and a Relational Stalinist…

 

A choreopubopoetic method developed by Michael Portnoy over the past three years, Progressive Touch fuses elements of Erickson Confusion Technique, Weilgart’s aUI, Toning, Eurythmy, Uzazu, Forsythe Technique and Konnakol with the unpredictable rhythmic structures of Prog Rock. Progressive Touch executes a full limbic reboot of the subject’s core ethics centers via their pubic bone. In this series of private, 45 minute sessions, Portnoy and actress/mime Lily McMenamy direct the method towards the corrupted source code of the white male.

All subjects must be naked during treatment and with a minimum of 3 cm of pubic hair. Subjects will sign a non-disclosure agreement and be transported from their homes to an undisclosed location in Berlin.

 

Lily McMenamy (born 1994 in Bethlehem, US) is an Anglo-American model and performer living in Paris. She has been a part of the New Theater in Berlin and appeared in the 2015 feature film A Bigger Splash. She is currently studying mime and physical theatre at L’Ecole Jacques Lecoq.

 

Michael Portnoy (born 1971 in Washington, D.C.) is a New York-based artist. Coming from a background in dance, his performance-based work employs a variety of media: from participatory installations to video, sculpture, theatre, painting, writing and curation. He has presented internationally in museums, art galleries, theatres and music halls, including such venues as: Witte de With, Rotterdam, NL (2016); Liverpool Biennial, Liverpool, UK (2016); the Centre Pompidou, Paris (2015); Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, NL (2014); Cricoteka, Krakow, PL (2014); Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2013); The Kitchen, New York, US (2013); dOCUMENTA 13, Kassel, DE (2012); 11th Baltic Triennial (co-curator), Vilnius, LT (2012); and the Taipei Biennial, Taipei (2010).

Weekend #9

 

5.–6. Mai 17

Begrenzte Plätze.
Die Veranstaltung Weekend #9: Michael Portnoy ist leider ausgebucht. Für einen Platz auf der Warteliste schreiben Sie uns gerne eine Email an reservation@kw-berlin.de.

 

Michael Portnoy: ‘Progressive Touch—Total Body Language Reprogramming’

 
<p>© Suzie & Léo</p>

© Suzie & Léo

 

Du bist ein nackter, weißer Mann, allein in einem Raum mit Larval Bouffon und einem „Relational Stalinist“…

 

Progressive Touch, eine von Michael Portnoy über die letzten drei Jahre entwickelte choreo-scham-poetische Methode, verschmilzt Elemente aus der Erickson Confusion Technique, Weilgarts aUI, Toning, Uzazu, der Eurythmie, der Forsythe-Methode und der musikalischen Form Konnakol mit den unvorhersehbaren rhythmischen Strukturen von Prog-Rock. Progressive Touch vollführt via dem Schambein einen totalen limbischen Reboot des ethischen Kerns des Subjektes. In dieser Reihe von privaten 45-minütigen Sitzungen, werden Portnoy und die Schauspielerin Lily McMenamy diese Methode auf den korrupten Quellcode des weißen Mannes anwenden.

Alle Subjekte müssen während der Behandlung nackt sein und eine Schamhaarlänge von mindestens 3 cm vorweisen. Subjekte werden eine Vertraulichkeitsvereinbarung unterschreiben und von ihrem Wohnort zu einem unbekannten Ort in Berlin gefahren.

 

Lily McMenamy (*1994 in Bethlehem, US) hat anglo-amerikanische Wurzeln, lebt und arbeitet als Model und Performance-Künstlerin in Paris. Sie war Teil von New Theater in Berlin und hatte 2015 eine Rolle in dem Spielfilm A Bigger Splash. Derzeit studiert McMenamy an der L’Ecole Jacques Lecoq Pantomime und Theater.

 

Der Künstler Michael Portnoy (*1971 in Washington, D.C.) lebt und arbeitet in New York. Durch seine  Theaterausbildung beeinflusst, umfassen Portnoys auf Performances basierende Arbeiten zahlreiche Medien, darunter partizipatorische Installationen, Video, Skulptur, Theater, Malerei, Schrift und Kuration. Sein Werk wurde bereits in Museen, Galerien, Theatern und Konzerthallen gezeigt, unter anderem im Witte de With, Rotterdam, NL (2016); bei der Liverpool Biennial, Liverpool, GB (2016); im Centre Pompidou, Paris (2015); im Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam (2014); im Cricoteka, Krakau, PL (2014); im Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2013); im The Kitchen, New York, US (2013); bei der dOCUMENTA 13, Kassel, DE (2012); auf der 11. Baltic Triennial (co-curator), Vilnius, LT (2012), sowie auf der Taipei Biennial, Taipei (2010).