Willem de Rooij
Whiteout
14 September – 7 January 18

 
<p>Jeroen de Rijke/Willem de Rooij, <em>I’m Coming Home in Forty Days</em>, 1997, Production Still, Courtesy of Galerie Buchholz and Willem de Rooij</p>

Jeroen de Rijke/Willem de Rooij, I’m Coming Home in Forty Days, 1997, Production Still, Courtesy of Galerie Buchholz and Willem de Rooij

 

Opening: 13 September 17, 7 pm 

 

Opening hours during Berlin Art Week:

Thursday–Friday 11 am–9 pm

Saturday–Sunday 11 am–7 pm

 

Willem de Rooij (born 1969 in Beverwijk, NL) investigates the production, contextualization and interpretation of images. His multifaceted practice includes photography, films, videos, sculpture, soundrecordings, and writing. Appropriated materials, such as found images, objects borrowed from art historical or ethnographic collections, or works by other artists play an important role. De Rooij’s works take the form of installations or temporary groupings that reflect on the physical and contextual qualities of the space they occupy. Willem de Rooij has been Professor at the Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main since 2006. In 2015, he founded BPA // Berlin Program for Artists together with Angela Bulloch and Simon Denny, and since 2016 he is a Visiting Advisor at the Rijksakademie in Amsterdam.

 

This fall, KW Institute for Contemporary Art presents Whiteout—a selection of de Rooij’s production from the last twenty years. The exhibition connects recent work with seminal pieces made together with Jeroen de Rijke (1970–2006), with whom de Rooij collaborated from 1994 to 2006 under the name de Rijke/de Rooij.

 

Curator: Krist Gruijthuijsen

Assistant Curator: Maurin Dietrich

 

Partner of the Berlin Art Week

 

<p><em>Willem de Rooij and Lucy Skaer</em> is funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, Berlin. The exhibition by Willem de Rooij is kindly supported by the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Berlin and the Mondriaan Fund.</p>

 

Willem de Rooij and Lucy Skaer is funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, Berlin. The exhibition by Willem de Rooij is kindly supported by the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Berlin and the Mondriaan Fund.

Willem de Rooij
Whiteout
14. September – 17. Dezember 17

 
<p>Jeroen de Rijke/Willem de Rooij, <em>I’m Coming Home in Forty Days</em>, 1997, Produktions-Standbild, Courtesy Galerie Buchholz und Willem de Rooij</p>

Jeroen de Rijke/Willem de Rooij, I’m Coming Home in Forty Days, 1997, Produktions-Standbild, Courtesy Galerie Buchholz und Willem de Rooij

 

Eröffnung: 13. September 17, 19 Uhr   

 

Der niederländische Künstler Willem de Rooij (*1969 in Beverwijk, NL) untersucht die Produktion, Kontextualisierung und Interpretation von Bildern. Seine Praxis umfasst Fotografie, Film, Video,  Skulptur, Tonaufnahmen und Texte. Appropriierte Materialien, wie etwa gefundene Bilder, Objekte, die er kunstgeschichtlichen oder ethnografischen Sammlungen entnimmt, oder Arbeiten anderer Künstlerinnen und Künstler spielen eine bedeutsame Rolle. De Rooijs eigene Arbeiten nehmen die Form von Installationen oder vorübergehenden Zusammenstellungen an, die physische und kontextuelle Eigenschaften des Raumes reflektieren, den sie besetzen. De Rooij ist seit 2006 Professor an der Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main. Im Jahr 2015 hat er zusammen mit Angela Bulloch und Simon Denny das BPA // Berlin Program for Artists gegründet und ist seit 2016 Visiting Advisor an der Rijksakademie in Amsterdam.

 

Diesen Herbst präsentieren die KW Institute for Contemporary Art Whiteout – eine Auswahl aus Willem de Rooijs Produktion der vergangenen zwanzig Jahre. Die Ausstellung verbindet jüngere Arbeiten mit zentralen Werken, die in seiner Zusammenarbeit mit Jeroen de Rijke (1970–2006) unter dem Namen de Rijke/de Rooij von 1994 bis 2006 entstanden sind.

 

Partner der Berlin Art Week

 

<p>Das Projekt<em> Willem de Rooij and Lucy Skaer</em> wird gefördert durch Mittel der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, Berlin. Die Ausstellung von Willem de Rooij wird großzügig unterstützt von der Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande in Berlin und dem Mondriaan Fund.</p> <p> </p> <p> </p> <p> </p>

 

Das Projekt Willem de Rooij and Lucy Skaer wird gefördert durch Mittel der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, Berlin. Die Ausstellung von Willem de Rooij wird großzügig unterstützt von der Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande in Berlin und dem Mondriaan Fund.