A Year with...
BLESS N°72 BLESSlet
19 January 22 – December 22

 
<div class=""><span class="">BLESS N°66 Architecture Souvenir Baggages, </span><span class="">Architecture Souvenir Baggage II </span><span class="">shown at “Anders Wohnen”, Kunstmuseen Krefeld, Germany, 2019. M</span><span class="">odel: Margot Kaag, Courtesy</span><span class=""> BLESS 2019</span></div>
BLESS N°66 Architecture Souvenir Baggages, Architecture Souvenir Baggage II shown at “Anders Wohnen”, Kunstmuseen Krefeld, Germany, 2019. Model: Margot Kaag, Courtesy BLESS 2019

 

Since 2017, KW Institute for Contemporary Art has been hosting the residency format A Year with…, a program that generates an in-depth engagement with an artistic practice through a variety of inward and outward facing formats over the course of one year. In 2022, the duo BLESS will take over the program. Ines Kaag and Desiree Heiss have been working together on numerous transdisciplinary projects since 1997. As self-proclaimed situation designers, their products blend fashion and art, design and architecture, business and social practice, with the aim of creating an equilibrium between mental and physical exercise. Motivated to make pieces fit for everyday use, BLESS understand their practice and products as a way of life—based on the firm belief that one can shape life today in a way that creates a future worth living in.

 

In 2022, BLESS will celebrate her 25th anniversary, which KW will take as an opportunity to put the focus on Desiree Heiss and Ines Kaag’s visionary products and endeavors. A Year with BLESS will renegotiate many of the key issues that lie at the heart of her collaboration, creating an innovative format that seeks to connect life, work, leisure, and exercise. The duo will rethink existing processes and workflows and test them out artistically in different public areas. The one-year collaboration will unfold across three key projects: the BLESS N°72 BLESSlet at KW; the Adretta-Reuter-intervention in the Ernst-Reuter-Siedlung, where the duo has her Berlin-based studio, and the release of the third book of her own publication series, BLESS III.

 

Curator: Anna Gritz

Assistant curator: Léon Kruijswijk

 

Exhibition Leaflet (PDF)

 

BLESS N°72 BLESSlet

Opening hours (19 – 23 January 22)
19 January 22, 7–10 pm
20 January 22, 11 am–7 pm
21 January 22, 11 am–6 pm
22 January 22, 11 am–7 pm
23 January 22, 11 am–3 pm

 

 

Tickets

 

To visit BLESS N°72 BLESSlet from 24 January onwards, please contact us in advance via reservations@kw-berlin.de

 

<p> </p>
<p>This project was produced in collaboration with <em>Phileas</em>.</p>

 

 

This project was produced in collaboration with Phileas.

 

<p>With generous support by Federal Ministry Republic of Austria for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport.</p>

 

With generous support by Federal Ministry Republic of Austria for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport.

 

<p>The exhibition is generously supported by Kvadrat.</p>

 

The exhibition is generously supported by Kvadrat.

A Year with BLESS
19. Januar – Dezember 22

 
<p><span class="">BLESS N°66 Architecture Souvenir Baggages, </span><span class="">Architecture Souvenir Baggage II </span><span class="">gezeigt in “Anders Wohnen”, Kunstmuseen Krefeld, Deutschland, 2019. M</span><span class="">odel: Margot Kaag, Courtesy</span><span class=""> BLESS 2019</span></p>

BLESS N°66 Architecture Souvenir Baggages, Architecture Souvenir Baggage II gezeigt in “Anders Wohnen”, Kunstmuseen Krefeld, Deutschland, 2019. Model: Margot Kaag, Courtesy BLESS 2019

 

Seit 2017 veranstalten die KW Institute for Contemporary Art das Residenzprogramm A Year with…, das sich jeweils über ein Jahr erstreckt und eine eindringliche Auseinandersetzung mit einer künstlerischen Praxis über verschiedene, nach innen und außen gewandte Formate ermöglicht. Im Jahr 2022 wird das Duo BLESS dieses Format bespielen. Ines Kaag und Desiree Heiss arbeiten seit 1997 gemeinsam an zahlreichen transdisziplinären Projekten. Sie selbst bezeichnen sich als Situationsdesignerinnen, verbinden mit ihren Produkten Mode und Kunst, Design und Architektur, Business und soziale Praxis und sind darauf ausgerichtet, ein Gleichgewicht zwischen geistiger und körperlicher Beanspruchung zu kreieren. Basierend auf der Ambition, Objekte für den alltäglichen Gebrauch herzustellen, definiert BLESS ihre Praxis und Produkte auch als eine Art Lebenseinstellung – die auf der festen Überzeugung gründet, dass die Zukunft aktiv und eigenverantwortlich selbstgestaltet werden kann.

 

Im Jahr 2022 feiern BLESS ihr 25-jähriges Bestehen, was die KW zum Anlass nehmen, auf die visionären Arbeiten und Aktivitäten des Duos zurückzublicken. A Year with BLESS wird verschiedene Schlüsselfragen ihrer Kollaboration neu verhandeln, um eine innovative Form zu entwickeln, Leben, Arbeit, Freizeit und Sport miteinander zu verbinden. Das Duo wird existierende Abläufe und Arbeitsgänge neu denken und in unterschiedlichen öffentlichen Bereichen auf künstlerische Weise ausprobieren. Die einjährige Kooperation strukturiert sich um drei Schwerpunkte: das BLESSHome in den KW, die Adretta-Reuter-Intervention in der Ernst-Reuter-Siedlung, wo sie ihr Berliner Studio betreiben und die Veröffentlichung des dritten Buchs in der Publikationsreihe des Duos – BLESS III.

 

Kuratorin: Anna Gritz

Assistenzkurator: Léon Kruijswijk

 

<p> </p>
<p>Dieses Projekt wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit <em>Phileas</em> produziert.</p>

 

 

Dieses Projekt wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Phileas produziert.