Atiéna R. Kilfa
The Unhomely
22 October 22 – 15 January 23

 
<p>Atiéna R. Kilfa, <em>The Unhomely</em>, 2022, video still (man descending the staircase). Courtesy the artist</p>

Atiéna R. Kilfa, The Unhomely, 2022, video still (man descending the staircase). Courtesy the artist

 

The exhibition The Unhomely at KW Institute for Contemporary Art marks the first institutional solo presentation by Atiéna R. Kilfa (b.1990, FR). Kilfa uses photography, sculpture, video, and installations to explore how personal and cultural memories tend to conflict and overlap. Her most recent work draws on her interest in the composition of models, dioramas, still lives, and tableaux vivants, which she sees as sites loaded with inherited narratives and social codes, opening them up for collective review.

 

The Unhomely stages a new video work alongside architectural fragments, transactional sound, and miniature sculpture, probing the memory of “home” as an impossible “virtual” architecture. Amidst an all-consuming installation that plays with scale and proportion, the eponymous video work, presented on an architectural stage, places the viewer behind the camera. The narrative of the video unfolds inside a staircase that is perceived as a Huis Clos, a never-ending loop, in which the viewer encounters “architectural ghosts”. These ghosts deviate from the stand-in human silhouettes that oftentimes populate contemporary architectural models, providing us with a sense of depth and scale. The figures in The Unhomely thus become actors themselves, pointing towards the daily lives of their imagined inhabitants, whether real or fictional, and uniting the past and the present.

 

Two further elements of the installation implicate the presence of the viewer in the production of the work. A scaled miniature of the film’s staircase represents an impossible replica, leaving the viewer with a confusing desire to compare their own position to that in the film and the model. A quotation from both the film and the model, the architectural stage used by Kilfa functions as a Foley instrument that reacts and reverberates to the movement of the audience, adding a sonic and spatial dimension to the experience of the work. Traditionally, Foley is a postproduction technique used to enhance the audio quality in moving images by overlaying synchronized studio recordings of everyday sounds. In Kilfa’s work, however, it serves to further heighten the viewer’s sense of complicity in the production of the work.

 

Curator: Anna Gritz

Assistant curator: Sofie Krogh Christensen

 

 

 

<p>The exhibition <em>The Unhomely</em> by Atiéna R. Kilfa is co-produced in partnership with Camden Art Centre in London, where an iteration of the exhibition will be staged from 27 January to 26 March 2023.</p>

 

The exhibition The Unhomely by Atiéna R. Kilfa is co-produced in partnership with Camden Art Centre in London, where an iteration of the exhibition will be staged from 27 January to 26 March 2023.

 

<p>The exhibition is generously supported by the Trampoline Association in support of the French art scene, Paris</p>

 

The exhibition is generously supported by the Trampoline Association in support of the French art scene, Paris

 

<p>Supported by Institut français Deutschland / Bureau des arts plastiques and Galerie Neue Alte Brücke, Frankfurt am Main</p>

 

Supported by Institut français Deutschland / Bureau des arts plastiques and Galerie Neue Alte Brücke, Frankfurt am Main

Atiéna R. Kilfa
The Unhomely
22. Oktober 22 – 15. Januar 23

 
<p>Atiéna R. Kilfa, <em>The Unhomely</em>, 2022, Videostill (Mann, der eine Treppe hinabsteigt). Courtesy die Künstlerin</p>

Atiéna R. Kilfa, The Unhomely, 2022, Videostill (Mann, der eine Treppe hinabsteigt). Courtesy die Künstlerin

 

The Unhomely in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art ist die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung von Atiéna R. Kilfa (*1990, FR). Anhand der Medien Fotografie, Skulptur, Video und Installation untersucht Kilfa die Kollision und Überschneidung persönlicher mit kultureller Erinnerung. Kilfas aktuelle Arbeiten folgen ihrem Interesse an der Erstellung von Modellen, Dioramen, Stillleben und Tableaux vivants, die sie als Träger tradierter Narrative und sozialer Normen begreift und für eine kollektive Revision zur Debatte stellt.

 

In der Gegenüberstellung einer neu produzierten Videoarbeit mit Architekturfragmenten, transaktionalem Klang und Skulpturen erforscht The Unhomely Erinnerungen an ein „Zuhause“ als unmögliche „virtuelle“ Architektur. Inmitten einer immersiven Installation, die mit Maßstab und Proportion spielt, positioniert die auf einer architektonischen Bühne präsentierte, titelgebende Videoarbeit die Betrachter*innen hinter der Kamera. Das Video spielt in einem Treppenhaus, das als Huis Clos erscheint, als unendliche Schleife, in der die Betrachter*innen „architektonischen Geistern“ begegnen. Dies sind menschliche Silhouetten, die in gängigen Architekturmodellen eine Vorstellung von Tiefe und Maßstab vermitteln sollen, hier aber selbst zu Akteur*innen werden, die auf ihren realen oder fiktionalen Alltag verweisen sowie Vergangenheit und Gegenwart zusammenführen.

 

Die Rolle der Betrachter*innen bei der Produktion der Arbeit wird durch zwei weitere Elemente verdeutlicht: Eine maßstabsgetreue Miniatur des im Film gezeigten Treppenhauses erscheint als illusorische Nachbildung. Sie lässt die Betrachter*innen mit dem irritierenden Wunsch zurück, die eigene Position mit jenen des Films und des Modells zu vergleichen. Kilfas architektonische Bühne zitiert sowohl Film als auch Modell. Sie dient als Foley-Instrument, das die Arbeit um eine akustische und räumliche Dimension erweitert, indem es auf die Bewegungen des Publikums reagiert. Beim Foley handelt es sich normalerweise um die Nachvertonung in der Postproduktion eines Films, bei der Alltagsgeräusche zur Verbesserung der Tonqualität durch Studioaufnahmen ersetzt werden. In Kilfas Arbeit dient die Methode hingegen dazu, die Komplizenschaft der Betrachter*innen bei der Produktion der Arbeit zu betonen.

 

Kuratorin: Anna Gritz

Assistenzkuratorin: Sofie Krogh Christensen

 

 

 

<p>Die Ausstellung <em>The Unhomely</em> von Atiéna R. Kilfa entsteht in Partnerschaft mit dem Camden Art Centre in London, wo die Ausstellung in abgewandelter Form von 27. Januar bis 26. März 2023 zu sehen sein wird.</p>

 

Die Ausstellung The Unhomely von Atiéna R. Kilfa entsteht in Partnerschaft mit dem Camden Art Centre in London, wo die Ausstellung in abgewandelter Form von 27. Januar bis 26. März 2023 zu sehen sein wird.

 

<p>Die Ausstellung wurde mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Trampoline Association in support of the French art scene, Paris, realisiert.</p>

 

Die Ausstellung wurde mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Trampoline Association in support of the French art scene, Paris, realisiert.

 

<p>Mit Unterstützung des Institut français Deutschland / Bureau des arts plastiques und der Galerie Neue Alte Brücke, Frankfurt am Main</p>

 

Mit Unterstützung des Institut français Deutschland / Bureau des arts plastiques und der Galerie Neue Alte Brücke, Frankfurt am Main