The Berlin Sessions:
Reading David Wojnarowicz

 

15 March 19, 8.30 pm

Venue: Buchladen Eisenherz, Motzstraße 23, 10777 Berlin

In English

 

<p>David Wojnarowicz, <em>Untitled (Culture Mask II)</em>, 1990, Photography, Courtesy of the Estate of David Wojnarowicz and P·P·O·W Gallery, New York</p>

David Wojnarowicz, Untitled (Culture Mask II), 1990, Photography, Courtesy of the Estate of David Wojnarowicz and P·P·O·W Gallery, New York

 

David Wojnarowicz was a writer as much as a visual artist. Not only has he written multiple publications; language and literary influences recur in his paintings, photography and films. Texts recited by him demonstrate a captivating ability to artistically express his passion, engagement as well as his rage with words and his voice. For The Berlin Sessions: Reading David Wojnarowicz Léon Kruijswijk (curatorial fellow KW) invited three performers and writers to explore and unfold Wojnarowicz’s literary works. The reading session takes place at Eisenherz – a bookstore that has been an iconic place for Berlin’s LGBTQI+ community for over 40 years. 

 

 

Invited guests

 

MYSTI is a writer and performer from South Dakota based in Berlin since 2010. MYSTI presents How Do We Make Art of Human Remains? in meditation on the work and life of David Wojnarowicz. His book Close to the Knives. A Memoir of Disintegration (1991) inspired activist David Robinson to dump the ashes of his lover Warren Krause in front of the White House in 1992, and the remains of Wojnarowicz would be also spread over the same lawn in a separate action four years later, but how might we now reconsider bodies as material for art and protest? Is art perhaps the body we could sacrifice for life?

 

Alex Alvina Chamberland is a Swedish-US American writer and performance artist based in Berlin. Much of her writing and performance work is based on explosivity, intensity, musicality, vocal experimentation, silence, maximalism and (trans)femininity, dealing with subjects such as failure and passivity as a means of resistance to obligatory capitalist success and productivity, as well as loneliness, yearning and collectivity. She’s had two books published in Swedish, before recently switching to writing in English.

 

Ever present on the alternative scene as a multifaceted artist, constantly questioning the essence of her work and the world we live in, Valerie Renay is a Berlin based, French Caribbean performer, director, electronic pop chanteuse, musician, painter and DJ. She is one of the protagonists in Aids Follies, a contemporary multimedia theater piece documenting the aids epidemic, which combines revue, lecture performance, documentary film and pop culture.

The Berlin Sessions:
Reading David Wojnarowicz

 

15. März 19, 20.30 Uhr

Ort: Buchladen Eisenherz, Motzstraße 23, 10777 Berlin

In englischer Sprache

 

<p>David Wojnarowicz, <em>Untitled (Culture Mask II)</em>, 1990, Fotografie, Courtesy of the Estate of David Wojnarowicz und P·P·O·W Gallery, New York</p>

David Wojnarowicz, Untitled (Culture Mask II), 1990, Fotografie, Courtesy of the Estate of David Wojnarowicz und P·P·O·W Gallery, New York

 

David Wojnarowicz war sowohl Autor als auch bildender Künstler. Er hat nicht nur zahlreiche Publikationen veröffentlicht; so sind Sprache und literarische Einflüsse wiederkehrende Elemente in seinen Gemälden, Fotografien und Filmen. In der Art, wie er Texte vortrug, offenbarte sich seine einnehmende Fähigkeit, seine Leidenschaft, sein Engagement sowie auch seine Wut mit Worten und seiner Stimme künstlerisch auszudrücken. Für The Berlin Sessions: Reading David Wojnarowicz hat Léon Kruijswijk (Kuratorischer Fellow der KW) drei Performer*innen und Autor*innen eingeladen, um Wojnarowicz’ literarische Arbeiten zu erkunden und zu interpretieren. Die Reading Session findet im Eisenherz statt – einem Buchladen, der seit über 40 Jahren ein Kultort der Berliner LGBTQI+ Community ist.

 

 

Eingeladene Gäste

 

MYSTI ist ein seit 2010 in Berlin lebender Autor und Performer aus South Dakota und präsentiert How Do We Make Art of Human Remains? als Meditation auf die Arbeit und das Leben von David Wojnarowicz. Sein Buch Close to the Knives. A Memoir of Disintegration (1991) inspirierte David Robinson 1992 dazu, die Asche seines Partners Warren Krause vor dem Weißen Haus abzuladen, Wojnarowicz’ sterbliche Überreste sollten in einer separaten Aktion vier Jahre später auf demselben Rasen verstreut werden. Dies wirft die Frage auf, wie Körper als Material für Kunst und Protest neu gedacht werden können. Ist Kunst etwa der Körper, den wir dem Leben opfern könnten?

 

Alex Alvina Chamberland ist eine in Berlin lebende, schwedisch-US-amerikanische Autorin und Performerin. Ein Großteil ihrer Schreib- und Performance-Arbeit basiert auf Explosivität, Intensität, Musikalität, dem Experimentieren mit Gesang, Stille, Maximalismus und (Trans-) Femininität, wobei Themen wie Versagen und Passivität als Mittel des Widerstands gegenüber dem obligatorischen kapitalistischen Erfolg und der Produktivität sowie Einsamkeit, Sehnsucht und Kollektivität behandelt werden. Chamberland veröffentlichte bereits zwei Bücher auf Schwedisch, seit kurzem schreibt sie jedoch auf Englisch.

 

Valerie Renay ist eine in Berlin lebende französisch-karibische Performerin, Regisseurin, Elektropop-Sängerin, Musikerin, Malerin und DJane. Renay ist stets auf alternativen Bühnen als vielseitige Künstlerin präsent, das Wesen ihrer Arbeit und der Welt, in der wir leben, kontinuierlich hinterfragend. Sie ist eine der Protagonist*innen in Aids Follies, einem zeitgenössischen Multimedia-Theaterstück, das die Aids-Epidemie dokumentiert und Revue, Lecture Performance, Dokumentation und Popkultur miteinander vereint.