BPA Talks 3

 

1 October 20, 4–8 pm

Venue: Gropius Bau, Cinema

Online stream available on KW’s website from 9–31 October 20
In English

 

Lecture series with Anne Fellner, Bertrand Flanet, Katrin Winkler, Calla Henkel and Max Pitegoff

 

<p>© Kévin Blinderman</p>

© Kévin Blinderman

 

BPA Talks is a three-part public lecture series in partnership with BPA // Berlin program for artists. This third edition will take place at the Cinema of Gropius Bau. In 45-minute presentations, BPA participants Anne Fellner, Bertrand Flanet and Katrin Winkler will each present their work to the general public. Afterwards, BPA mentors Calla Henkel and Max Pitegoff will share their thoughts on alternative structures for artistic exchange. BPA Talks are flexible in format, ranging from introductory presentations of the artist’s work to lecture performances.

 

Program

 

4 pm
Anne Fellner
Jumps and Cuts

 

Anne Fellner’s narratively expressive paintings navigate a broad field of styles and materials. For her talk, she plans to speak about two different projects and how they are related to each other: her recent solo exhibition Signs and Portents at Damien & The Love Guru, Brussels and the upcoming project Point No Point for BPA at Gropius Studios.

 

Fellner studied at the Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst, Leipzig. Recent solo exhibitions include Signs and Portents (2020), Damien and the Love Guru, Brussels; Take My Face (2019), Liszt, Berlin and Castle of Insolence (with Burkhard Beschow) (2017), Tonus, Paris. Selected recent group shows are Living As (2020), Sangt Hipolyt at Loggia, Munich, band-wagon (2019), Pogo Bar, KW Berlin and Der Schneckentraum (2017), Suicidal Oil Piglet, Melbourne.

 

 

5 pm
Bertrand Flanet
To name things by the distal zones

 

Bertrand Flanet will address some of the factors that impact the realization of his work and how these cause the transformation into monsters. Bertrand Flanet’s practice mainly elaborates on 3D animation videos in which he composes narratives that reflect and fictionalize upon the latent forms of alienation born out of our societies.

 

Flanet studied at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste, Städelschule Frankfurt. Recent solo exhibitions include Some hollow crowns, Eigen+Art Lab, Berlin (2019); Colorful Maladies, Mélange, Cologne (2018) and 2488, Langage Plus, Alma, 2013. Selected recent group shows were And This Is Us! – Junge Kunst aus Frankfurt, Frankfurter Kunstverein, Frankfurt am Main (2019); 24/7, International Film Festival Rotterdam, Rotterdam, (2015) and Moments. A History of Performance in 10 Acts, ZKM, Karlsruhe (2012).

 

 

6.15 pm
Diana McCarty in conversation with Katrin Winkler
Performing Monuments

 

Katrin Winkler will present her film performing monuments in conversation with Diana McCarty. The film is the continuation of her thematic examination of the consequences of colonialism, genocide and apartheid in Namibia. Her artistic research in terms of concepts such as monument, memory, recognition and responsibility examines how history is written, what social conditions are behind it and what critical potential is formulated.

 

Katrin Winkler studied at the University of Applied Sciences in Munich, Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst, Leipzig and at the California Institute of the Arts, Los Angeles. Recent exhibitions include: Lagos Biennial (2019), 12×12, IBB Videoraum, Berlinische Galerie (2019) Neuer Berliner Kunstverein/n.b.k. (2018). Her films have been scree- ned as part of: Berlinale/ Berlin International Film Festival–Forum Expanded (2017), Short Film Festival Oberhausen (2019), Kassel DokFest ( 2018) Sursock Museum Beirut (2019).

 

Diana McCarty lives and works in Berlin and is a founding editor of reboot.fm. As a cyberpunk in the 1990s, she was active in critical Netzkultur. Her work revolves around art, gender, politics and technology. McCarty is a proud Chicana from Albuquerque, New Mexico. She is a 2019/2020 bak Fellow.

 

 

7.15 pm
Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff
Paradise

 

Calla Henkel and Max Pitegoff will show an excerpt from their in-process film series Paradise, Episode 1: Tara & Josef, 2020, which they are currently filming at their bar TV, while drawing on texts about fictions and alternatives within artist-run structures that reflect on performance, labor, language and collapse.

 

Calla Henkel and Max Pitegoff are artists who have been working together for over a decade after meeting during their studies at Cooper Union in New York. They live in Berlin, where they have initiated several artist-centered spaces such as Times Bar (2011-2012) and New Theater (2013-2015). In 2017–2018 they led the Grüner Salon at Volksbühne, where they staged their own original productions while inviting performances by other artists. In 2019, they opened TV, a bar, performance space, and production studio. They have exhibited their artwork and performances in solo exhibitions at Fri Art Kunsthalle (2020), Kunstverein Hamburg (2018), Schinkel Pavillon (2016), The Whitney Museum (2015) and in group exhibitions at the Pinakothek der Moderne (2018), the Museum Ludwig (2016), and the 9. Berlin Biennale (2016). They have been guest professors at HfG Karlsruhe, the Gerrit Rietveld Acadamie, NYU Berlin, and the Politecnico di Torino. They have been Mentors for BPA since 2016.

 

 

<p>In partnership with BPA // Berlin program for artists</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Founded in 2016 by Angela Bulloch, Simon Denny, and Willem de Rooij, BPA // Berlin program for artists facilitates exchange between emerging and established Berlin-based artists through public lectures, joint exhibition projects and reciprocal studio visits.</p>
<p> </p>
<p><em>BPA Talks 3</em> is the third public event in the framework of the 2020/21 partnership between KW, BPA and Gropius Bau.</p>
<p> </p>

 

In partnership with BPA // Berlin program for artists

 

Founded in 2016 by Angela Bulloch, Simon Denny, and Willem de Rooij, BPA // Berlin program for artists facilitates exchange between emerging and established Berlin-based artists through public lectures, joint exhibition projects and reciprocal studio visits.

 

BPA Talks 3 is the third public event in the framework of the 2020/21 partnership between KW, BPA and Gropius Bau.

 

 

<p>BPA // Berlin program for artists is made possible through the support of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.</p>

 

BPA // Berlin program for artists is made possible through the support of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

BPA Talks 3

 
  1. 1. Oktober 20, 16–20 Uhr

Ort: Gropius Bau, Kinosaal
Online verfügbar auf der KW Website vom 9.–31. Oktober 20
In englischer Sprache

 

Vortragsreihe mit Anne Fellner, Bertrand Flanet, Katrin Winkler, Calla Henkel und Max Pitegoff

 

<p>© Kévin Blinderman</p>

© Kévin Blinderman

 

BPA Talks ist eine dreiteilige öffentliche Vortragsreihe in Kooperation mit dem BPA // Berlin program for artists. Die dritte Ausgabe findet im Kinosaal des Gropius Bau statt. In 45-minütigen Präsentationen stellen die BPA-Teilnehmer*innen Anne Fellner, Bertrand Flanet und Katrin Winkler ihre Arbeiten vor. Im Anschluss werden die BPA Mentor*innen Calla Henkel und Max Pitegoff ihre Gedanken über alternative Strukturen des künstlerischen Austauschs teilen. BPA Talks sind in ihrem Format flexibel und reichen von Präsentationen von Arbeiten der beteiligten Künstler*innen bis zu Lecture Performances.

 

Programm

 

16 Uhr
Anne Fellner
Jumps and Cuts
 
Anne Fellners erzählerisch-expressive Malereien bewegen sich entlang einer großen Bandbreite von Stilen und Materialien. In ihrem Talk wird sie über zwei ihrer Projekte und deren Beziehung zueinander sprechen: Ihre kürzlich bei Damien & The Love Guru in Brüssel zu sehende Einzelausstellung Signs and Portents sowie das kommende Projekt Point No Point für BPA in den Gropius Studios.

 

Fellner hat an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig studiert. Zuletzt gezeigte Einzelausstellungen waren unter anderem Signs and Portents (2020), Damien & The Love Guru, Brüssel, Take My Face (2019), Liszt, Berlin und Castle of Insolence (mit Burkhard Beschow) (2017), Tonus, Paris. Außerdem waren ihre Arbeiten in zahlreichen Gruppenausstellungen zu sehen, darunter Living As (2020), Sangt Hipolyt, Loggia, München, bandwagon (2019), Pogo Bar, KW und Der Schneckentraum (2017), Suicidal Oil Piglet, Melbourne.

 

 

17 Uhr
Bertrand Flanet
To name things by the distal zones

 

Bertrand Flanet wird über einige jener Faktoren sprechen, die seine Arbeit beeinflussen und Monster entstehen lassen. In seiner Praxis arbeitet Bertrand Flanet vorwiegend mit 3D-Animationsvideos, in denen er sich auf erzählerische Weise mit latenten Formen gesellschaftlicher Entfremdung auseinandersetzt und diese fiktionalisiert.

 

Flanet hat an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Bildende Künste – Städelschule in Frankfurt studiert. Einzelausstellungen zuletzt unter anderem Some hollow crowns, Eigen+Art Lab, Berlin (2019); Colorful Maladies, Mélange, Köln (2018) und 2488, Langage Plus, Alma (2013). Gruppenausstellungen waren unter anderem And This is Us: Junge Kunst aus Frankfurt, Frankfurter Kunstverein (2019); 24/7, International Film Festival Rotterdam, Rotterdam (2015) und Moments. A History of Performance in 10 Acts, ZKM, Karlsruhe (2012).

 

 

18.15 Uhr
Diana McCarty im Gespräch mit Katrin Winkler
Performing Monuments 
 

Katrin Winkler stellt im Gespräch mit Diana McCarty ihren Film Performing Monuments vor. Der Film führt ihre Auseinandersetzung mit den Folgen von Kolonialismus, Völkermord und Apartheid in Namibia fort. Ihre künstlerische Forschung zu Themen wie Monumenten, Erinnerung, Anerkennung und Verantwortung beschäftigt sich mit gesellschaftlichen Verhältnissen, die Geschichtsschreibung determinieren, und dem kritischen Potential, das diese formulieren kann.

 

Katrin Winkler hat an der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften München, der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig und dem California Institute of the Arts in Los Angeles studiert. Ausstellungen hatte sie zuletzt bei der Lagos-Biennale (2019), bei 12×12, im IBB Videoraum der Berlinischen Galerie (2019) und im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) (2018). Ihre Filme waren im Forum Expanded der Berlinale (2017), den Internationalen Kurzfilmtagen Oberhausen (2019), dem Kassel DokFest (2018) und im Sursok-Museum in Beirut (2019) zu sehen.

 

Diana McCarty lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Sie ist Mitbegründerin von reboot.fm und war als Cyber-Punk in den 1990er-Jahren in der kritischen Netzkultur aktiv. Sie arbeitet zu Kunst, Gender, Politik und Technologie. McCarty ist stolze Chicana aus Albuquerque, New Mexico. Sie ist bak-Stipendiatin 2019/2020.

 

 

19.15 Uhr
Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff
Paradise

 

Calla Henkel und Max Pitegoff zeigen einen Ausschnitt aus ihrer Filmserie Paradise, Episode 1: Tara & Josef, 2020, die sie derzeit in ihrer Bar TV drehen. Dabei arbeiten sie mit Texten über Fiktionen und Alternativen innerhalb von von Künstler*innen verwalteten Strukturen – Texte, die über Performance, Lohnarbeit, Sprache und Kollaps nachdenken.

 

Calla Henkel und Max Pitegoff arbeiten bereits zusammen, seit sie sich vor mehr als einem Jahrzehnt während ihres Studiums an der Cooper Union in New York kennenlernten. Sie leben in Berlin, wo sie mehrere Räume für Künstler*innen wie die Times Bar (2011-2012) und das New Theater (2013-2015) gründeten. 2017 und 2018 führten sie den Grünen Salon an der Volksbühne. Dort zeigten sie Eigenproduktionen sowie Performances anderer Künstler*innen. 2019 eröffneten sie TV als Bar, Performance-Space und Produktionsstudio. Ihre Performances und anderen Arbeiten waren in zahlreichen Einzelausstellungen zu sehen, darunter in der Fri Art Kunsthalle (2020), dem Kunstverein Hamburg (2018), dem Schinkel Pavillon (2016) und dem Whitney Museum (2015), sowie in Gruppenausstellungen in der Pinakothek der Moderne (2018), dem Museum Ludwig (2016) und der 9. Berlin Biennale (2016). Henkel und Pitegoff lehrten zudem als Gastprofessor*innen an der HfG Karlsruhe, der Gerrit Rietveld Academie, der NYU Berlin und dem Polytechnikum Turin. Seit 2016 sind sie BPA-Mentor*innen.

 

 

<p>In Partnerschaft mit BPA // Berlin program for artists</p>
<p> </p>
<p>2016 von Angela Bulloch, Simon Denny und Willem de Rooij gegründet, fördert BPA // Berlin program for artists den Austausch zwischen aufstrebenden und etablierten Berliner Künstler*innen durch öffentliche Vorträge, gemeinsame Ausstellungsprojekte und gegenseitige Atelierbesuche.</p>
<p> </p>
<p><em>BPA Talks 3</em> ist die dritte öffentliche Veranstaltung im Rahmen der Partnerschaft zwischen den KW, BPA und dem Gropius Bau.</p>

 

In Partnerschaft mit BPA // Berlin program for artists

 

2016 von Angela Bulloch, Simon Denny und Willem de Rooij gegründet, fördert BPA // Berlin program for artists den Austausch zwischen aufstrebenden und etablierten Berliner Künstler*innen durch öffentliche Vorträge, gemeinsame Ausstellungsprojekte und gegenseitige Atelierbesuche.

 

BPA Talks 3 ist die dritte öffentliche Veranstaltung im Rahmen der Partnerschaft zwischen den KW, BPA und dem Gropius Bau.

 

<p>BPA // Berlin program for artists wird ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.</p>

 

BPA // Berlin program for artists wird ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.