BPA Talks 4

 

Online lecture series

 

12 April 21, 5–8 pm

in English

 

The event takes place via Zoom: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_v6ToFwo7Qb2-jyxm5NNTRg

 

<p>Image: © Sarah Friend</p>

Image: © Sarah Friend

 

BPA Talks is a public lecture series in partnership with BPA// Berlin program for artists. This forth edition will take place online. BPA participants Kévin Blinderman, Mooni Perry and Joshua Schwebel will each present their work in 30-minute lectures. Afterwards, BPA mentors Antje Majewski and Olivier Guesselé-Garai will share their thoughts on alternative structures for artistic exchange. BPA Talks are flexible in format, ranging from introductory presentations of the artist’s work to lecture performances.

 

 

Program:

 

5pm
Kévin Blinderman,
Even close, You’re The Worst

 

Kévin Blinderman will present the light installation he realized in collaboration with French Dj Bulma as part of his recent solo exhibition You’re the Worst at Confort Moderne, Paris. Gallien Déjean described this installation as “a scenario, a game board; in other words an ensemble composed of rules and possible openings which participate in an eroticization of strategic relations.”

 

Blinderman studied at Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy and at Bezalel Academy of Arts, Tel-Aviv. Recent exhibitions include No Dandy, No Fun (2020) Kunsthalle Bern, Studio Berlin (2020) Berghain, Berlin, For Réelle (2020) Tropez, Berlin, Abbieannian Novlangue (2020) Sultana, Paris, A Study in Scarlet (2018) Le Plateau / Frac Ile-de-France, Paris.

 

<p>Image: Kévin Blinderman, <em>You’re The Worst</em>; Courtesy the artist and Confort Moderne; Photo: Philippe Munda </p>

Image: Kévin Blinderman, You’re The Worst; Courtesy the artist and Confort Moderne; Photo: Philippe Munda 

 

 

5:45 pm

Mooni Perry

How can we fall and therefore jump?

 

Mooni Perry’s talk How can we fall and therefore jump? is part of her current project Binlang Xishi, which examines metaphors of ‘un-cleanness’ in various social and cultural histories. Perry’s presentation will address different narratives on ways of falling and jumping relating to animation, SF films and Parallax view. In her practice Mooni Perry investigates the undercurrents of (asian)Feminism and Human-Animal studies.

 

Perry studied at Royal College of Art, London. Recent solo exhibitions include Untitled (2021) CR Collective,Seoul, Mooni Perry exhibition (2020), Bureaucracy Studies, Lausanne, Traversing (2019), Post Territory Ujeongguk, Seoul. Selected recent group shows include #CoroseumAndChaosOnTheTable (2021), Um museum, hwaseong, Untitled (2021) Hapjungjigu, Seoul; So Far Yet So Near (2020) Onsu-gonggan, Seoul.

 

<p>Image: Mooni Perry, <em>Binlang Xishi</em>, 2021; Courtesy the artist</p>

Image: Mooni Perry, Binlang Xishi, 2021; Courtesy the artist

 

 

6:30 pm
Joshua Schwebel
It’s Not Working

 

Joshua Schwebel’s conceptual work is developed out of site-specific research, resulting in projects that singularly address the space in which they are experienced. His talk will address recent projects in relation to institutional critique, precarity, cultural labour, and site-specificity.

 

Schwebel graduated from NSCAD University in Halifax, Canada. Recent exhibitions and residencies include the Quebec studio at the Künstlerhaus Bethanien (2015), the ArteCitya residency at Laznia CCA in Gdansk, Poland (2016-2018). Solo exhibitions include the Or Gallery, Vancouver (2019), and the Fonderie Darling, Montreal (2018). Schwebel was shortlisted for the Berlin Art Prize in 2019 and has received numerous grants from the Canada Council for the Arts.

 

 

<p>Image: Joshua Schwebel, <em>The Employee</em> (2021) Performance at Forest City Gallery, Screenshot. Performer: Camille-Zoë Valcourt-Synnott; Courtesy the artist</p>

Image: Joshua Schwebel, The Employee (2021) Performance at Forest City Gallery, Screenshot. Performer: Camille-Zoë Valcourt-Synnott; Courtesy the artist

 

 

7:15 pm

Olivier Guesselé-Garai and Antje Majewski

The Shadow of the Sun

 

Olivier Guesselé-Garai and Antje Majewski will be talking about a current project evolving out of a travel to Cameroon in 2017. The body of works questions the differences between artistic and artisan work, authorship, changes in cultural signification through colonialism and post-colonial power relations, but it also opens up possibilities of intercultural hybrids that help to form new artworks and new understandings of what art could do.

 

As an artist Olivier Guesselé-Garai is investigating the potential of geometric abstraction, which he perceives as a universal visual language which can manifest itself in various cultural contexts. Guesselé-Garai works in different medium such as painting, object, sculpture, photography, installation and poetry and has exhibited in institutions such as Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin (2018), Gropius Bau, Berlin and Kunsthaus Graz (2019), GfZK Leipzig and Kestner-Gesellschaft, Hannover (2020).

 

Antje Majewski’s practice comprises paintings, video works, texts and performances. Her most recent works question the cultural migration of objects and nature-culture entanglements between people and plants. An integral part of Majewski’s process is her recurring collaboration with other artists, ecological groups and urbanism-focused collectives. Her works have been shown in Kunsthaus Graz (2019), Gropius Bau, Berlin (2019); Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin (2018), CCA Tel Aviv (2016) and Ujazdowski Castle Centre for Contemporary Art, Warsaw (2016).

 

 

<p>Image: en house and transport baskets, National Museum in Szczecin, transport baskets, Sammlung von Olivier Guesselé-Garai; Installation view Antje Majewski & Olivier Guesselé-Garai, <em>The Shadow of the Sun</em>, Zona Sztuki Aktualnej, 2017</p>
<p> </p>

Image: en house and transport baskets, National Museum in Szczecin, transport baskets, Sammlung von Olivier Guesselé-Garai; Installation view Antje Majewski & Olivier Guesselé-Garai, The Shadow of the Sun, Zona Sztuki Aktualnej, 2017

 

 

<p>In partnership with BPA// Berlin program for artists</p>
<p>Founded in 2016 by Angela Bulloch, Simon Denny, and Willem de Rooij, BPA// Berlin program for artists facilitates exchange between emerging and established Berlin-based artists through public lectures, joint exhibition projects and reciprocal studio visits.</p>
<p><em>BPA Talks 4</em> is the forth event in the framework of the 2021 partnership between KW and BPA.</p>
<p> </p>

 

In partnership with BPA// Berlin program for artists

Founded in 2016 by Angela Bulloch, Simon Denny, and Willem de Rooij, BPA// Berlin program for artists facilitates exchange between emerging and established Berlin-based artists through public lectures, joint exhibition projects and reciprocal studio visits.

BPA Talks 4 is the forth event in the framework of the 2021 partnership between KW and BPA.

 

 

<p>BPA// Berlin program for artists is made possible through the support of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.</p>

 

BPA// Berlin program for artists is made possible through the support of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

BPA Talks 4

 

Online-Vortragsreihe

 

12. April 21, 17–20 Uhr

in englischer Sprache

 

Die Veranstaltung findet über Zoom statt: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_v6ToFwo7Qb2-jyxm5NNTRg

 

<p>Bild: © Sarah Friend</p>

Bild: © Sarah Friend

 

BPA Talks ist eine öffentliche Vortragsreihe in Kooperation mit dem BPA// Berlin program for artists. Die vierte Ausgabe findet online statt. In 30-minütigen Präsentationen stellen die BPA-Teilnehmer*innen Kévin Blinderman, Mooni Perry und Joshua Schwebel ihre Arbeiten vor. Im Anschluss werden die BPA Mentor*innen Antje Majewski und Olivier Guesselé-Garai ihre Gedanken über alternative Strukturen des künstlerischen Austauschs teilen. BPA Talks sind in ihrem Format flexibel und reichen von Präsentationen von Arbeiten der beteiligten Künstler*innen bis zu Lecture Performances.

 

 

Programm

 

17 Uhr
Kévin Blinderman, 
Even close, You’re The Worst

 

Kévin Blinderman wird seine Lichtinstallation präsentieren, die er in Zusammenarbeit mit dem französischen Dj Bulma im Rahmen seiner jüngsten Einzelausstellung You’re the Worst im Confort Moderne, Paris, realisiert hat. Gallien Déjean beschreibt sie als „ein Szenario, ein Spielfeld; in anderen Worten ein Ensemble aus Regeln und möglichen Öffnungen, die an einer Erotisierung strategischer Beziehungen teilnehmen.“

 

Blinderman studierte an der Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy und an der Bezalel Academy of Arts, Tel-Aviv. Zu seinen jüngsten Ausstellungen gehören u.a. No Dandy, No Fun (2020) Kunsthalle Bern, Studio Berlin (2020) Berghain, Berlin, For Réelle (2020) Tropez, Berlin, Abbieannian Novlangue (2020) Sultana, Paris, A Study in Scarlet (2018) Le Plateau / Frac Ile-de-France, Paris.

 

<p>Bild: Kévin Blinderman, <em>You’re The Worst</em>; Courtesy der Künstler und Confort Moderne; Foto: Philippe Munda </p>

Bild: Kévin Blinderman, You’re The Worst; Courtesy der Künstler und Confort Moderne; Foto: Philippe Munda 

 

 

17:45 Uhr

Mooni Perry

How can we fall and therefore jump?

 

Mooni Perry wird How can we fall and therefore jump? als Teil ihres aktuellen Projekts Binlang Xishi präsentieren, das Metaphern der „Un-Reinheit“ in verschiedenen sozialen Kulturgeschichten untersucht. In ihrer Präsentation wird sie sich mit verschiedenen Erzählungen über die Art und Weise des Fallens und Springens auseinandersetzen und dabei mit Referenzen aus Animationsfilmen, SF-Filmen und dem Parallaxenblick arbeiten.
In ihrer Praxis berührt Mooni Perry Fragen des (asiatischen) Feminismus und der Mensch-Tier-Studien mit einem Fokus auf den weniger sichtbaren Aspekten dieser Themen.

 

Perry studierte am Royal College of Art in London. Zu den jüngsten Einzelausstellungen gehören Untitled (2021) CR Collective, Seoul, Mooni Perry (2020) Bureaucracy Studies, Lausanne, Traversing (2019) Post Territory Ujeongguk, Seoul. Ausgewählte aktuelle Gruppenausstellungen sind #CoroseumAndChaosOnTheTable (2021), Um museum, hwaseong, Untitled (2021) Hapjungjigu, Seoul, So Far Yet So Near (2020) Onsu-gonggan, Seoul. 

 

<p>Bild: Mooni Perry, <em>Binlang Xishi</em>, 2021; Courtesy die Künstlerin</p>

Bild: Mooni Perry, Binlang Xishi, 2021; Courtesy die Künstlerin

 

 

18:30 Uhr
Joshua Schwebel
It’s Not Working

 

Joshua Schwebels konzeptionelle Arbeit entwickelt sich aus ortsspezifischen Recherchen und resultiert in Projekten, die sich auf einzigartige Weise mit dem Raum auseinandersetzen, in dem sie erlebt werden. In seinem Vortrag wird er über aktuelle Projekte sprechen, die sich mit Themen wie Institutionskritik, Prekarität, kultureller Arbeit und Ortsspezifität beschäftigen.

 

Schwebel schloss sein Studium an der NSCAD University in Halifax, Kanada, ab. Zu seinen jüngsten Ausstellungen und Residencies gehören: Quebec Studio im Künstlerhaus Bethanien (2015), der ArteCitya-Aufenthalt im Laznia CCA in Danzig, Polen (2016-2018), sowie Einzelausstellungen in der Or Gallery, Vancouver (2019) und Fonderie Darling, Montreal (2018). Schwebel war für den Berliner Kunstpreis 2019 nominiert und erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien des Canada Council for the Arts.

 

 

<p>Bild: Joshua Schwebel, <em>The Employee</em> (2021) Performance in der Forest City Gallery, Screenshot. Performer*in: Camille-Zoë Valcourt-Synnott; Courtesy der Künstler</p>

Bild: Joshua Schwebel, The Employee (2021) Performance in der Forest City Gallery, Screenshot. Performer*in: Camille-Zoë Valcourt-Synnott; Courtesy der Künstler

 

 

19:15 Uhr

Olivier Guesselé-Garai und Antje Majewski

The Shadow of the Sun

 

Olivier Guesselé-Garai und Antje Majewski werden über ein aktuelles Projekt, das aus einer Reise nach Kamerun 2017 hervorgegangen ist, sprechen. Der Werkkomplex hinterfragt die Unterschiede zwischen künstlerischer und handwerklicher Arbeit, Autor*innenschaft, Veränderungen kultureller Bedeutungen durch Kolonialismus und postkoloniale Machtverhältnisse, eröffnet aber auch Möglichkeiten interkultureller Hybride, die helfen, neue Kunstwerke und neue Sichtweisen auf das, was Kunst tun könnte, zu schaffen.

 

Als Künstler untersucht Olivier Guesselé-Garai das Potenzial der geometrischen Abstraktion, die er als eine universelle visuelle Sprache, die sich in verschiedenen kulturellen Kontexten manifestieren kann, versteht. Guesselé-Garai arbeitet in verschiedenen Medien wie Malerei, Objekt, Skulptur, Fotografie, Installation und Poesie und hat in Institutionen wie dem Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin (2018), dem Gropius Bau, Berlin und dem Kunsthaus Graz (2019), der GfZK Leipzig und der Kestner-Gesellschaft, Hannover (2020) ausgestellt.

 

Antje Majewskis Praxis umfasst Malerei, Videoarbeiten, Texte und Performances. Ihre jüngsten Arbeiten hinterfragen die kulturelle Migration von Objekten und natur-kulturelle Verflechtungen zwischen Menschen und Pflanzen. Ein integraler Bestandteil von Majewskis Prozess ist die wiederkehrende Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Künstler*innen, ökologischen Gruppen und urbanistisch orientierten Kollektiven. Ihre Arbeiten wurden im Kunsthaus Graz (2019), dem Gropius Bau, Berlin (2019), dem Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin (2018), CCA Tel Aviv (2016) und dem Ujazdowski Castle Centre for Contemporary Art, Warschau (2016) gezeigt.

 

 

<p>Bild: Hühnerstall und Transportkörbe, National Museum in Szczecin, Transportkörbe, Sammlung von Olivier Guesselé-Garai; Installationsansicht Antje Majewski & Olivier Guesselé-Garai, <em>The Shadow of the Sun</em>, Zona Sztuki Aktualnej, 2017</p>
<p> </p>

Bild: Hühnerstall und Transportkörbe, National Museum in Szczecin, Transportkörbe, Sammlung von Olivier Guesselé-Garai; Installationsansicht Antje Majewski & Olivier Guesselé-Garai, The Shadow of the Sun, Zona Sztuki Aktualnej, 2017

 

 

<p>In Partnerschaft mit BPA// Berlin program for artists<br />
 <br />
2016 von Angela Bulloch, Simon Denny und Willem de Rooij gegründet, fördert BPA// Berlin program for artists den Austausch zwischen aufstrebenden und etablierten Berliner Künstler*innen durch öffentliche Vorträge, gemeinsame Ausstellungsprojekte und gegenseitige Atelierbesuche.<br />
 <br />
<em>BPA Talks 4</em> ist die vierte Veranstaltung im Rahmen der Partnerschaft zwischen den KW und BPA.</p>
<p> </p>

 

In Partnerschaft mit BPA// Berlin program for artists
 
2016 von Angela Bulloch, Simon Denny und Willem de Rooij gegründet, fördert BPA// Berlin program for artists den Austausch zwischen aufstrebenden und etablierten Berliner Künstler*innen durch öffentliche Vorträge, gemeinsame Ausstellungsprojekte und gegenseitige Atelierbesuche.
 
BPA Talks 4 ist die vierte Veranstaltung im Rahmen der Partnerschaft zwischen den KW und BPA.

 

 

<p>BPA// Berlin program for artists wird ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.</p>

 

BPA// Berlin program for artists wird ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.