Pogo Bar Podcast:
Root Canal
I'll Never be a Star I've Always Been the Moon


Available online


<p>Courtesy Root Canal</p>

Courtesy Root Canal


Fourteen artists, musicians and writers were invited to contribute to the mix tape I’ll Never be a Star I’ve Always Been the Moon, initiated by the artist collective Root Canal. As a constructive answer to the difficulties of organizing physical exhibitions in the past year, the mix tape is recorded on classic tape cassettes, which are sent out to potential listeners and bring a group exhibition to their homes. Every contributor received carte blanche for the content of their recording, with the sole restriction that it could not be longer than 5 minutes. The resulting mix tape is in an eclectic amalgam of contributions ranging from spoken word to noise poetry to dream interpretations, alternated among others with Finnish rap, garage punk and cover songs.


Early 2022, the I’ll Never be a Star I’ve Always Been the Moon cassette mix tapes will be officially launched at Sangt Hipolyt, Berlin. More info will follow soon.


Contributing artists: Yong Xiang Li, Elif Saydam, Kuupuu featuring Draama-Helmi, echo+seashell  featuring Torus, Luzie Meyer, Manuela Gernedel, Nicolas Ceccaldi, Michiel Huijben, No Ice!!!, TRJJ, Vittorio Brodmann, Lonely Boys, VE holdings featuring Sakeul and Mona Varichon, Zoë d’Hont


Root Canal consists of the artists Anders Dickson, Frieder Haller, Henna Hyvärinen and Thomas Swinkels. In 2017, they started their exhibition practice in an attic in the east of Amsterdam where the four lived together. Upon leaving their attic space, the initiative has continued to exist nomadically. They curated exhibitions in various unofficial but invaluable exhibition spaces locations, such as a camper van, bedrooms, a gallery basement, as well as at the Vleeshal Center for Contemporary Art, Middelburg, NL.


Track List:

Yong Xiang Li – I’m not in love (How to Feed on Humans)

Elif Saydam – Wesley

Kuupuu featuring Draama-Helmi – Summer

echo + seashell featuring Torus – When a Girl Wants

Luzie Meyer – Mouth Piece

Manuela Gernedel – HYENA

Nicolas Ceccaldi – Wampyric Syphonia_The Return of Darkness and Evil_Bathory Vover

Michiel Huijben – Living Room

No Ice!!! – Stop Signs

TRJJ – 10_One 4 the clock

Vittorio Brodmann – Roma

Lonely Boys – 5MMedley

VE Holdings featuring Sakuel and Mona Varichon – SAKI KAWA

Zoë d’Hont – Nine Bells_Part 9 (Tom Johnson)_Binaural recording