TIES, TALES AND TRACES
Dedicated to Frank Wagner,
Independent Curator (1958–2016)
9 February – 5 May 19

 

Opening: 8 February 19, 7 pm

Venue: KW Studio

 

<p>Frank Wagner in the exhibition<em> Félix González-Torres (1957–1996),</em> RealismusStudio / nGbK Berlin, 1996, photo: Jürgen Henschel</p>

Frank Wagner in the exhibition Félix González-Torres (1957–1996), RealismusStudio / nGbK Berlin, 1996, photo: Jürgen Henschel

 

The exhibition TIES, TALES AND TRACES commemorates the work of curator Frank Wagner, who died in 2016. Wagner gained a reputation for his groundbreaking and internationally acclaimed exhibitions on critical art, AIDS, gender, and LGBTQI* topics. Wagner, who described himself as Independent Curator, often brought artists to Berlin before their international breakthrough and supported the realization of their projects with remarkable commitment. With the exhibition Close to the Knives – A Memoir of Disintegration. Ein Gedenkraum für David Wojnarowicz at KW in 1992/93, Wagner commemorated the oeuvre of David Wojnarowicz, who died of AIDS in 1992 and whose work he exhibited multiple times. Through his cross-institutional projects and his negotiating skills, Wagner was a respected and tireless agent of the Berlin art and cultural scene, succeeding in promoting and connecting protagonists with the most disparate approaches. His independent, project-based activities allowed him to remain flexible as a curator, but also brought him a life of financial uncertainty. Nevertheless, Frank Wagner succeeded in resolutely pursuing his political examination of social relations, everyday violence, racism, colonialism, fascism, homophobia, and marginalized sexuality with sensitive radicalism. Through art and his own experimental curatorial approach, he provoked uncomfortable conversations and tried to address people beyond the art world. He took on a pioneering role with early exhibitions on political discourses of the body, gender issues, sexuality, and AIDS, giving new dimensions to the politicization of the private sphere.

 

The exhibition at KW is primarily based on art works and documents from the estate of Frank Wagner. It commemorates his curatorial work in a broader context while giving an insight into his complex work.

 

TIES, TALES AND TRACES. Dedicated to Frank Wagner, Independent Curator (1958–2016) is an exhibition by the KW Institute for Contemporary Art, curated by the RealismusStudio of the neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) in collaboration with Between Bridges. The RealismusStudio consists of Christin Lahr, Isabelle Meiffert, Ulrike Riebel, Vincent Schier, and Susanne Weiß. The complementary exhibition at the project space Between Bridges will be curated by Wolfgang Tillmans and Eugen Ivan Bergmann (February 1–March 16, 2019).

 

 

Public Programm

 

Curators’ tour with Christin Lahr and Vincent Schier
17 February 19, 3 pm

28 February 19, 7 pm

11 April 19, 7 pm (In English and German)

28 April 19, 3 pm
In German

 

Guided tours with former companions

3 March 19, 3 pm, with Michaela Richter (Head of Communication and Art Education n.b.k, Curator)

14 March 19, 7 pm, with Léon Kruijswijk (Curatorial Fellow KW, Freelance Curator)

17 March 19, 3 pm, with Isabelle Meiffert (Curator and Writer)

28 March 19, 7 pm, with Detlev Pusch (Book Editor)

31 March 19, 3 pm, with Çağla Ilk (Architect, Curator Maxim Gorki Theater)

14 April 19, 3 pm, with Susanne Weiß (Curator and Art Education)

25 April 19, 7 pm, with Ingo Taubhorn (Curator, Haus der Photografie, Deichtorhallen, Hamburg)

5 May 19, 3 pm, with Christin Lahr (Curator, RealismusStudio of nGbK)

5 May 19, 4 pm, with Beate Geissler (Artist)

 

KONTEXT(E) BERLIN

Symposium with Leonie Baumann, Monica Bonvicini, Pola Sieverding, Wolfgang Tillmans, Ingrid Wagner, Claudia Wahjudi, and others

23 February 19, 1–7 pm
Venue: KW Studio

 

WAS BLEIBT? / WHAT REMAINS…?
How to approach a curatorial legacy and estate?

Symposium with Beatrice von Bismarck, Claire Grace, Dr. Martin Heller, Egidio Marzona, Dr. Peter Rehberg, and others
13 April 19, 2–7 pm
Venue: KW Studio

 

REVIEWS AND PREVIEWS

Symposium with Julie Ault, Dr. Julia Friedrich, Eran Schaerf, and others
Saturday, 4 May 19, 2–7 pm
Venue: KW Studio

 

 

 

<p>The exhibition <em>TIES, TALES AND TRACES. Dedicated to Frank Wagner, Independent Curator (1958–2016)</em> is part of the project <em>David Wojnarowicz, Reza Abdoh, Frank Wagner</em> and funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, Berlin.</p>
<p> </p>

 

The exhibition TIES, TALES AND TRACES. Dedicated to Frank Wagner, Independent Curator (1958–2016) is part of the project David Wojnarowicz, Reza Abdoh, Frank Wagner and funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, Berlin.

 

 

<p>Media partner: SIEGESSÄULE</p>

 

Media partner: SIEGESSÄULE

TIES, TALES AND TRACES
Dedicated to Frank Wagner,
Independent Curator (1958–2016)
9. Februar – 5. Mai 19

 

Eröffnung: 8. Februar 19, 19 Uhr

Ort: KW Studio

 

<p>Frank Wagner in der Ausstellung<em> Félix González-Torres (1957–1996),</em> RealismusStudio / nGbK Berlin, 1996, Foto: Jürgen Henschel</p>

Frank Wagner in der Ausstellung Félix González-Torres (1957–1996), RealismusStudio / nGbK Berlin, 1996, Foto: Jürgen Henschel

 

Die Ausstellung TIES, TALES AND TRACES ist der Arbeit des 2016 verstorbenen Kurators Frank Wagner gewidmet. Wagner hatte mit wegweisenden und international viel beachteten Ausstellungen zu kritischer Kunst, AIDS, Gender- und LGBTQI*-Themen großes Ansehen erlangt. Der Kurator, der sich selbst als Independent Curator bezeichnete, holte zahlreiche Künstler*innen oft noch vor ihrem internationalen Durchbruch nach Berlin und unterstützte die Realisierung ihrer Projekte mit außerordentlicher Intensität. In den KW erinnerte Wagner 1992/93 mit der Ausstellung Close to the Knives – A Memoir of Disintegration. Ein Gedenkraum für David Wojnarowicz an das Schaffen des 1992 an den Folgen von AIDS verstorbenen Künstlers, dessen Arbeiten er mehrfach ausgestellt hatte. Als renommiertem und umtriebigem Akteur der Berliner Kunst- und Kulturszene gelang es Wagner durch seine institutionsübergreifenden Projekte und sein Verhandlungsgeschick, Akteur*innen unterschiedlichster künstlerisch-kultureller Bereiche zu fördern und miteinander zu vernetzen. Seine unabhängigen, projektgebundenen Tätigkeiten ließen ihn als Kurator flexibel bleiben, bescherten ihm jedoch ein Leben in existenzieller Unsicherheit. Dennoch gelang es Wagner, mit sensibler Radikalität seine politischen Fragestellungen zu gesellschaftlichen Verhältnissen, alltäglicher Gewalt, Rassismus, Kolonialismus, Faschismus, Homophobie und marginalisierter Sexualität konsequent zu verfolgen. Mit Mitteln der Kunst und seinem experimentellen kuratorischen Ansatz provozierte er unbequeme Diskurse und versuchte auch Menschen jenseits des Kunstbetriebes zu adressieren. Mit frühen Ausstellungen zu machtpolitischen Körperdiskursen, Genderfragen, Sexualität oder AIDS nahm Wagner eine Vorreiterrolle ein und gab der Politisierung des Privaten eine neue Dimension.

 

Mit der Ausstellung in den KW, die im Wesentlichen auf Kunstwerken und Dokumenten aus Wagners Nachlass basiert, wird sein kuratorisches Schaffen in einem größeren Zusammenhang gewürdigt und ein Einblick in seine vielschichtige Arbeit ermöglicht.

 

TIES, TALES AND TRACES. Dedicated to Frank Wagner, Independent Curator (1958–2016) ist eine Ausstellung der KW Institute for Contemporary Art, kuratiert vom RealismusStudio der neuen Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) in Kooperation mit Between Bridges. Das RealismusStudio besteht aus Christin Lahr, Isabelle Meiffert, Ulrike Riebel, Vincent Schier und Susanne Weiß. Der ergänzende Ausstellungsteil im Projektraum Between Bridges wird kuratiert von Wolfgang Tillmans und Eugen Ivan Bergmann (1. Februar – 16. März 2019). 

 

 

Begleitprogramm

 

Kurator*innenführung mit Christin Lahr und Vincent Schier
17. Februar 19, 15 Uhr

28. Februar 19, 19 Uhr

11. April 19, 19 Uhr

28. April 19, 15 Uhr
In deutscher Sprache

 

Führungen mit ehemaligen Weggefährt*innen

3. März 19, 15 Uhr, mit Michaela Richter (Leiterin Kommunikation und Kunstvermittlung n.b.k., Kuratorin)

14. März 19, 19 Uhr, mit Léon Kruijswijk (Curatorial Fellow KW, freischaffender Kurator)

17. März 19, 15 Uhr, mit Isabelle Meiffert (Kuratorin und Autorin)

28. März 19, 19 Uhr, mit Detlev Pusch (Buchgestalter)

31. März 19, 15 Uhr, mit Çağla Ilk (Architektin, Kuratorin Maxim Gorki Theater)

14. April 19, 15 Uhr, mit Susanne Weiß (Kuratorin und Kunstvermittlerin)

25. April 19, 19 Uhr, mit Ingo Taubhorn (Kurator, Haus der Photografie, Deichtorhallen, Hamburg)

5. Mai 19, 15 Uhr, mit Christin Lahr (Kuratorin, RealismusStudio der nGbK)

5. Mai 19, 16 Uhr, mit Beate Geissler (Künstlerin)

 

KONTEXT(E) BERLIN

Symposium mit Leonie Baumann, Monica Bonvicini, Pola Sieverding, Wolfgang Tillmans, Dr. Ingrid Wagner, Claudia Wahjudi u.a. 

23. Februar 19, 13–19 Uhr
Ort: KW Studio

 

WAS BLEIBT? / WHAT REMAINS…?
Über den Umgang mit einem kuratorischen Nachlass.

Symposium mit Dr. Beatrice von Bismarck, Claire Grace, Dr. Martin Heller, Egidio Marzona, Dr. Peter Rehberg u.a.

13. April 19, 14–19 Uhr
Ort: KW Studio

 

REVIEWS AND PREVIEWS

Symposium mit Julie Ault, Dr. Julia Friedrich, Eran Schaerf u.a.
4. Mai 19, 14–19 Uhr
Ort: KW Studio

 

 

 

<p>Die Ausstellung <em>TIES, TALES AND TRACES. Dedicated to Frank Wagner, Independent Curator (1958–2016)</em> ist Teil des Projektes <em>David Wojnarowicz, Reza Abdoh, Frank Wagner</em> und wird gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.</p>
<p> </p>

 

Die Ausstellung TIES, TALES AND TRACES. Dedicated to Frank Wagner, Independent Curator (1958–2016) ist Teil des Projektes David Wojnarowicz, Reza Abdoh, Frank Wagner und wird gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

 

 

<p>Medienpartner: SIEGESSÄULE</p>

 

Medienpartner: SIEGESSÄULE