Frieda Toranzo Jaeger
... And yet we are becoming

 

15 September 19, 5 and 6 pm

Venue: Hall

In English

 

Each performance lasts about 10 minutes and is included in the exhibition ticket.

 

<p>Frieda Toranzo Jaeger, <em>… And yet we are becoming</em>, Installation and performance shot, 2019, Courtesy the artist</p>

Frieda Toranzo Jaeger, … And yet we are becoming, Installation and performance shot, 2019, Courtesy the artist

 

Associative argumentation of nothing. Let me tell you a story:
Bang, bang, bang rhythm is my bitch.
Political pessimism; to argue for hope and poetry.
Astonishment as a philosophical mode of contemplation, there is nothing of that in here. Nothing!
The territory of the future that is only found in painting.

 

– Frieda Toranzo Jaeger in: … And yet we are becoming, Performance, 2019

 

Hybridization, sensuality and sexuality come to mind when following the smooth lines of Frieda Toranzo Jaeger’s … And yet we are becoming (2019). Her luxurious seats from fast cars, planes of a high-tech board computer, and electric doors that open smoothly give the impression of a near future, when life will be organized entirely automatically by machines evermore adapting to humanoid shapes and needs, while replacing the agency and autonomy of the individual.

 

Toranzo Jaeger’s painterly propositions reconsider the genderization of the car as an archetypical masculine machine through repositioning the interiors of contemporary, soundless, electric vehicles as intimate, private, and feminine spaces. Setting her dreamy vehicles against fragmented backdrops of lush landscapes, she seeks the tension between inside and outside, passivity and agency, autonomy and hyper-technology, the deceptive promises of imperialistic car manufacturers, and sustainable futures.

 

With the performance … And yet we are becoming, Toranzo Jaeger continues her exploration of the agency, position, and autonomy of the individual body as well as the medium of painting within a world increasingly characterized by automated control.

Frieda Toranzo Jaeger
... And yet we are becoming

 

15. September 19, 17 und 18 Uhr

Ort: Halle

In englischer Sprache

 

Die Performances dauern jeweils rund 10 Minuten und sind im Eintrittspreis enthalten. 

 

<p>Frieda Toranzo Jaeger, <em>… And yet we are becoming</em>, Installations- und Performance-Ansicht, 2019, Courtesy die Künstlerin</p>

Frieda Toranzo Jaeger, … And yet we are becoming, Installations- und Performance-Ansicht, 2019, Courtesy die Künstlerin

 

Assoziative Klügeleien über‘s Nichts. Ich will euch eine Geschichte erzählen:
Bang, bang, bang rhythm is my bitch.
Politischer Pessimismus; streiten für Hoffnung und Dichtung;
Staunen als denkerischer Modus der
 Kontemplation: nichts von alldem gibt es hier. Gar nichts!
Eine Zukunftslandschaft, die sich so nur in der Malerei findet.

 

– Frieda Toranzo Jaeger in: … And yet we are becoming, Performance, 2019

 

Verschmelzung von allem und jedem, Sinnlichkeit und Sexualität kommen einem beim Verfolgen der sanft geschwungenen Linien in … And yet we are becoming (2019) von Frieda Toranzo Jaeger in den Sinn. Ihre luxuriösen Sportwagensitze, Flugzeuge ausgestattet mit einem Hi-Tech-Bordcomputer und automatisierte, geräuschlos öffnende Türen vermitteln den Eindruck einer nicht allzu fernen Zukunft, in der unser Alltag durchgängig automatisiert und von Geräten gesteuert wird. Handeln und Autonomie des Einzelnen ersetzen diese in dem Maß, in dem sie immer menschenähnlichere Formen annehmen und sich immer besser an unsere Bedürfnisse anpassen.

 

Toranzo Jaegers Ansatz in der Malerei nimmt die geschlechtliche Codierung des Autos als archetypische Männermaschine auseinander, indem sie aus der Innenausstattung geräuschloser Elektroautos intime, private, weibliche Räume zusammensetzt. Ihre verträumten Gefährte positioniert sie vor Hintergründen splitterhaft üppiger Landschaften und erkundet so die Spannung zwischen Innen und Außen, Passivität und Handeln, Autonomie und Hypertechnik, trügerischen Verheißungen der imperialistischen Autoindustrie und einer nachhaltigen Zukunft.

 

Mit … And yet we are becoming nutzt Toranzo Jaeger die Mittel der Performance, um ihre Erforschung des Handelns, der Stellung und Autonomie des einzelnen Körpers sowie der Malerei als Medium in einer zunehmend von Automatisierung und Fernsteuerung geprägten Welt fortzusetzen.