Hackathon
Black Swan:The Communes

 

Start: 27 August 2021, 16:00h
Estimated duration 36 hours participation
Application deadline: 5 August 2021, 23:59h

 

In English

 

Open Call Form / Link
Let the pooling begin! Apply to join Black Swan at KW Institute for Contemporary Art for the game of the communes to help decide how to manage and distribute resources comprising of currency, space, and materials for art making.

 

If you’d like support with the application or have any accessibility needs you’d like to discuss email reservation@kw-berlin.de.

 

<p>Image: Courtesy Black Swan</p>

Image: Courtesy Black Swan

 

Can interdependence be at the foundation of sustainable economic models for art making? What does sustainability mean in a world of flux? What happens when we consider the emotional involvement in art making as an active component in resource distribution and the creation of the value of art? And ultimately how does Art survive, evolve, or become remodeled as history melts into a perpetual present?

 

KW Institute for Contemporary Art invites Black Swan to run a 36-hour hackathon, as part of the public program of Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief by Michael Stevenson. In the exhibition, Stevenson painstakingly addresses the juncture of economy, technology, education, religion, architecture and media, and the entanglement of these institutions, by reflecting on significant micro-narratives. A live-TV marathon charity fundraising event a.k.a. a telethon appears as a key reference to stress the questionable relationship between the individual and larger overarching bodies, as well as the kayfabe (or: staged) logic of our lived reality. If something is constructed, it means it can be deconstructed, reconsidered, remodeled and redistributed too.

 

To put these thoughts into further practice, the Berlin-based collective Black Swan will test the emotional sustainability of different economic models and organizational forms, and directly redistribute institutional infrastructural resources to cultural practitioners. The role-playing activity of The Communes invites 32 participants to join one of four communes each based around different modes of exchange, decision-making process, and organizational structure: the Clan, the Guild, the Cult and the Venture. Participants will be recruited through a public open-call and assigned to one of the communes. The learnings from the hackathon will inform the development of Black Swan DAO, an open-source tool-kit for artistic collectives.

 

During the 36-hour period, each commune will test the boundaries between individual and collective practice as they manage a set of real art resources that have been generously staked by Black Swan’s Silent Stakeholders: Light Art Space, 221A, Callie’s, Curve Labs, Ed Fornieles Studio, Folia, Jaya Klara Brekke, Benjamin Bratton, Kei Kreutler, Kunstverein München, New Models, Ben Vickers, Ruth Catlow, Trust, and KW Institute for Contemporary Art. 221A (Vancouver/Unceded Territories) has established a DFO (decentralized fluid organization) as a silent stakeholder, with financial and research partners, including the Goethe-Institut Toronto.

 

The Communes are tasked with deciding the best use of the resources they have been assigned within the constraints of their economic model and organizational form. They will have to build on what they have or trade and negotiate with others. Each commune will devise sustainable roadmaps for their future endeavors which will manifest after the hackathon as real-world effects as they make use of their resources.

 

The resources kindly pledged by Black Swan’s Silent Stakeholders include: microgrants for artistic research & development of up to €8.000,00 from external parties, exhibition space and technical support, residency space outside of Berlin for up to 12 people, studio and rehearsal space, mentorship from experts on the day of the hackathon, features on digital events and exhibition platforms, desk space for 3 months, a digital residency, liquidity for NFT minting, and an NFT exhibition and sale. These resources will be delivered to the communes after the hackathon in order for them to complete their proposed work.

 

About Black Swan

 

Established in 2018, Black Swan is a Berlin-based collective pursuing horizontal and decentralized approaches to the traditional art world templates for art making. Through peer support, artist-led funding and community organizing, they place resources into the hands of the users rather than the gatekeepers of the arts.

 

Black Swan is developing digital toolkits for artists through a methodology that puts play at the center. Existing communities of creative practitioners are invited to test and experiment with forms of interaction, modes of organization, and sustainable economic models in role-playing events, working groups, and hackathons. Through play, Black Swan is building an open-source and interoperable protocol for artistic communes, which will enable collaborative institutional forms and allow for a redefinition of what art can be. Launching in 2022, the Black Swan DAO aims to become a translocal and mutable source for distributing resources and value differently across interdependent art worlds.

 

Light Art Space partners with the Black Swan DAO initiative as a platform that engages the arts and its community. The partnership will enable the development of digital toolkits through an app that would put forth new ways of working together.

 

Black Swan is currently maintained by Laura Lotti, Penny Rafferty, Calum Bowden, and Leïth Benkhedda.

 

Black Swan has previously worked with or presented at: MoneyLab Berlin, The Serpentine Galleries, Goethe-Institut London, Furtherfield Gallery, AND Festival 2021, 221A, Trust Berlin, Berlin Art Week and KW Institute for Contemporary Art.

Hackathon
Black Swan: The Communes

 

Beginn: 27. August 2021, 16:00 Uhr
Voraussichtliche Dauer: 36 h
Anmeldezeitraum abgeschlossen

 

Auf Englisch

 

<p>Bild: Courtesy Black Swan</p>

Bild: Courtesy Black Swan

 

Kann Wechselbeziehung die Grundlage für nachhaltige Wirtschaftsmodelle für die Kunstproduktion sein? Was bedeutet Nachhaltigkeit in einer Welt des Wandels? Was passiert, wenn wir die emotionalen Bestandteilen des Kunstschaffens als aktive Komponente bei der Verteilung von Ressourcen und der Wertbildung von Kunst betrachten? Und schließlich: Wie überlebt, entwickelt oder verändert sich die Kunst, während die Geschichte zu einer immerwährenden Gegenwart verschmilzt?

 

Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art laden Black Swan ein, als Teil des öffentlichen Programms von Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief von Michael Stevenson, einen 36-stündigen Hackathon durchzuführen. In der Ausstellung setzt sich Stevenson akribisch mit dem Zusammentreffen von Wirtschaft, Technologie, Bildung, Religion, Architektur und Medien und der Verschränkung dieser Institutionen auseinander, indem er signifikante Mikro-Narrative reflektiert. Ein live im Fernsehen übertragener Spendenmarathon, auch bekannt als “Telethon”, steht als Schlüsselreferenz, um die fragwürdige Beziehung zwischen dem Individuum und größeren, übergreifenden Körpern sowie die Kayfabe (oder: inszenierte) Logik unserer gelebten Realität zu betonen. Wenn etwas konstruiert ist, bedeutet das, dass es auch dekonstruiert, überdacht, umgestaltet und umverteilt werden kann.

 

Um diese Gedanken in die weitere Praxis umzusetzen, wird das Berliner Kollektiv Black Swan die emotionale Nachhaltigkeit verschiedener ökonomischer Modelle und Organisationsformen testen und institutionelle Infrastrukturressourcen direkt an Kulturschaffende umverteilen. Das Rollenspiel The Communes lädt 32 Teilnehmer*innen ein, sich einer von vier Kommunen anzuschließen, die jeweils auf unterschiedlichen Formen des Austauschs, Entscheidungsfindungsprozessen und Organisationsstrukturen basieren: dem Clan, der Gilde, der Sekte und dem Unternehmen. Die Teilnehmer*innen werden durch einen öffentlichen Aufruf rekrutiert und einer der Kommunen zugewiesen. Die Erkenntnisse des Hackathon werden in die Entwicklung von Black Swan DAO einfließen, einem Open-Source-Tool-Kit für künstlerische Kollektive.

 

Während des 36-stündigen Zeitraums wird jede Kommune die Grenzen zwischen individueller und kollektiver Praxis testen, während sie eine Reihe von realen Kunstressourcen verwaltet, die von Black Swans Silent Stakeholdern großzügig zur Verfügung gestellt wurden: Light Art Space, 221A, Callie’s, Curve Labs, Ed Fornieles Studio, Folia, Jaya Klara Brekke, Benjamin Bratton, Kei Kreutler, Kunstverein München, New Models, Ben Vickers, Ruth Catlow, Trust, und KW Institute for Contemporary Art. 221A (Vancouver/Unceded Territories) hat eine DFO (decentralized fluid organization) als stillen Teilhaber gegründet, mit Finanz- und Forschungspartnern, darunter das Goethe-Institut Toronto.

 

Die Kommunen müssen entscheiden, wie sie die ihnen zugewiesenen Ressourcen innerhalb der Grenzen ihres Wirtschaftsmodells und ihrer Organisationsform am besten nutzen. Sie werden auf dem aufbauen müssen, was sie haben, oder mit anderen handeln und verhandeln. Jede Kommune wird nachhaltige Fahrpläne für ihre zukünftigen Unternehmungen entwickeln, die sich nach dem Hackathon als reale Effekte manifestieren werden, wenn sie ihre Ressourcen nutzen.

 

Die Ressourcen, die von Black Swans Silent Stakeholdern freundlicherweise zugesagt wurden, umfassen: Mikrozuschüsse für künstlerische Forschung und Entwicklung von bis zu 8.000,00 € von externen Parteien, Ausstellungsräume und technische Unterstützung, Residenzräume außerhalb Berlins für bis zu 12 Personen, Studio- und Proberaum, Beratung durch Experten am Tag des Hackathons, Features auf digitalen Veranstaltung- und Ausstellungsplattformen, Schreibtischplätze für drei Monate, eine digitale Residenz, Liquidität für die NFT-Prägung und eine NFT-Ausstellung und Verkauf. Diese Ressourcen werden den Kommunen nach dem Hackathon zur Verfügung gestellt, damit sie ihre geplante Arbeit abschließen können.

 

 

Über Black Swan

 

Black Swan wurde 2018 gegründet und ist ein in Berlin ansässiges Kollektiv, das horizontale und dezentrale Ansätze zu den traditionellen Vorbildern der Kunstwelt für die Kunstproduktion verfolgt. Durch Peer-Support, künstlergeführte Finanzierung und gemeinschaftliche Organisation legen sie Ressourcen in die Hände der Nutzer statt der Gatekeeper der Kunst.

 

Black Swan entwickelt digitale Tool-Kits für Künstler*innen mit einer Methodik, die das Spiel in den Mittelpunkt stellt. Bestehende Gemeinschaften kreativer Fachleute werden eingeladen, um Formen der Interaktion, Organisation, und nachhaltigen Wirtschaftsmodellen in Rollenspielen, Arbeitsgruppen und Hackathons zu testen und zu erproben. Durch das Spiel baut Black Swan ein open-source und dialogfähiges Protokoll für künstlerische Kommunen auf, das kollaborative institutionelle Formen ermöglicht und eine Neudefinition dessen erlaubt, was Kunst sein kann. Die Black Swan DAO, die im Jahr 2022 starten soll, zielt darauf ab, eine translokale und veränderbare Quelle zu werden, um Ressourcen und Werte in interdependenten Kunstwelten anders zu verteilen.

 

Light Art Space arbeitet mit der Black Swan DAO-Initiative als Plattform zusammen, die die Künste und ihre Gemeinschaft einbindet. Die Partnerschaft wird die Entwicklung von digitalen Tool-Kits durch eine App ermöglichen, die neue Wege der Zusammenarbeit aufzeigt.

 

Black Swan wird derzeit von Laura Lotti, Penny Rafferty, Calum Bowden und Leïth Benkhedda betreut.

 

Black Swan hat bereits mit folgenden Institutionen zusammengearbeitet bzw. dort präsentiert: MoneyLab Berlin, The Serpentine Galleries, Goethe-Institut London, Furtherfield Gallery, AND Festival 2021, 221A, Trust Berlin, Berlin Art Week und KW Institute for Contemporary Art.