Hassan Sharif

I Am The Single Work Artist


 

New dates:
30 May – 19 July 20

 
<p><span lang="NL">Hassan Sharif, 1981, Courtesy Hassan Sharif Estate</span></p>

Hassan Sharif, 1981, Courtesy Hassan Sharif Estate

 

KW Institute for Contemporary Art is pleased to present the first major retrospective of the Emirati artist Hassan Sharif (1951–2016) in Europe. Sharif, who lived and worked in Dubai, was one of the most influential artists from the Middle East of the twentieth century. He is considered a leading pioneer of Conceptual Art and of new experimental artistic approaches that reconceive a conventional understanding of time, space, form, and social interaction, and which continue to resonate significantly with a younger generation to this day.

 

Born in the United Arab Emirates at the beginning of the 1950s, Hassan Sharif grew up in a time of great social and economic upheaval, marked by the discovery of oil in the early 1960s—the major turning point in the history of the region, which enabled the emirate to rapidly expand and grow. After studying at the Byam Shaw School of Art in London, he returned to the United Arab Emirates in 1984 and began staging interventions and contemporary art exhibitions in Sharjah, introducing a generation of artists to conceptual and Fluxus practices for the first time. Moving between his roles as an artist, educator, critic, and writer, Sharif not only sought to encourage Emirati audiences to engage with contemporary art in exhibitions, but also on the page through his Arabic translations of historical art texts and manifestos. By initiating a productive debate and exchange of ideas, he made a pivotal contribution to a new understanding of art in the United Arab Emirates and became a driving force of an experimental approach to finding artistic analogies for a hybrid sense of identity, in which the memory of the recent past of nomadic Bedouin tribes is compatible with a hyper-modern present.

 

Throughout his lifetime, Sharif created a complex, critical, and multifaceted body of work, including drawings, paintings, assemblages, sculptural installations, and performances. Detached from local art production, he articulated an artistic language that followed its own logic and artistic impetus, and was also process-based and not elitist. His works are characterized by the use of everyday materials on the one hand and by a kind of artistic reflection that feeds on an analytical view of the immediate environment and philosophical questions on the other.

 

This retrospective is the culmination of Sharif’s long history with the Emirate of Sharjah and is produced in close collaboration with Sharjah Art Foundation. The show at KW presents around 150 works from the artist’s diverse oeuvre, including early newspaper caricatures and comic strip drawings, paintings, sculptural installations, and assemblages. Afterwards it will travel to Malmö Konsthall, where it will be on display in fall 2020. An catalogue accompanies the exhibition.

 

In conjunction with the exhibition on Hassan Sharif, Valsalan Kanara’s documentary Objects. A documentary on Hassan Sharif (2006) will be screened at Pogo Bar. On 28 February, 5 and 12 March, as well as on 9 and 24 April 2020, the film will not be on view.

 

Curators: Hoor Al Qasimi, Krist Gruijthuijsen
Assistant Curator: Cathrin Mayer 

 

Exhibition walk-through with curator Krist Gruijthuijsen

 

<p>The exhibition <i>Hassan Sharif: I Am The Single Work Artist</i> is produced in collaboration with Sharjah Art Foundation (UAE) and Malmö Konsthall (SE). This exhibition was originally curated by Hoor Al Qasimi and organized by Sharjah Art Foundation, where it was on display in 2018. The European venues are KW Institute for Contemporary Art and Malmö Konsthall.</p>
<p> </p>

 

The exhibition Hassan Sharif: I Am The Single Work Artist is produced in collaboration with Sharjah Art Foundation (UAE) and Malmö Konsthall (SE). This exhibition was originally curated by Hoor Al Qasimi and organized by Sharjah Art Foundation, where it was on display in 2018. The European venues are KW Institute for Contemporary Art and Malmö Konsthall.

 

 

<p>The exhibition<em> <i>Hassan Sharif: I Am The Single Work Artist</i></em> is made possible through support from the Capital Cultural Fund.<span class="Apple-converted-space"> </span></p>

 

The exhibition Hassan Sharif: I Am The Single Work Artist is made possible through support from the Capital Cultural Fund.

Hassan Sharif

I Am The Single Work Artist


 

Neue Laufzeit:
30. Mai – 19. Juli 20

 
<p><span lang="NL">Hassan Sharif, 1981, Courtesy Hassan Sharif Estate</span></p>

Hassan Sharif, 1981, Courtesy Hassan Sharif Estate

 

Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art freuen sich, die erste umfassende Retrospektive des aus den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten stammenden Künstlers Hassan Sharif (1951–2016) in Europa zu präsentieren. Sharif, der in Dubai lebte und arbeitete, gehört zu den einflussreichsten Künstler*innen des 20. Jahrhunderts im Nahen und Mittleren Osten. Als einer der führenden Pioniere der Konzeptkunst und eines innovativen künstlerisch-experimentellen Ansatzes dachte Sharif tradierte Vorstellungen von Raum, Zeit, Form und sozialer Interaktion neu. Sein Werk ruft bis heute eine große Resonanz bei einer jüngeren Künstler*innengeneration hervor.

 

Hassan Sharif wurde Anfang der 1950er Jahre in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten geboren und wuchs in einer Zeit großer sozialer und wirtschaftlicher Umbrüche auf, die durch die Entdeckung des Erdöls Anfang der 1960er Jahre – dem wichtigsten Wendepunkt in der Region – gekennzeichnet war. 1984 kehrte Sharif nach seinem Studienabschluss an der Londoner Byam Shaw School of Art zurück in die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate und realisierte Interventionen sowie Ausstellungen zeitgenössischer Kunst in Schardscha, die die dortige Künstler*innenszene erstmals mit Konzeptkunst und Fluxus-Praxis in Berührung brachten. In unterschiedlichen Rollen als Künstler, Vermittler, Kritiker und Autor suchte Sharif stets sein Publikum für den Dialog mit zeitgenössischer Kunst zu gewinnen – nicht nur mit seinen Ausstellungen, sondern auch mit historischen Kunsttexten und Manifesten, die er ins Arabische übertrug. Durch die produktive Auseinandersetzung mit dem internationalen Kunstdiskurs leistete er einen entscheidenden Beitrag zu einem neuen Kunstverständnis in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten und wurde zur treibenden Kraft eines experimentellen Ansatzes um künstlerische Entsprechungen für ein hybrides Identitätsbewusstsein, bei dem die Erinnerung an die noch junge Vergangenheit nomadisierender Beduinenstämme mit einer hypermodernen Gegenwart vereinbar ist.

 

Hassan Sharif schuf im Laufe seines Lebens ein komplexes, kritisches und mannigfaltiges Œuvre, das Zeichnungen, Gemälde, Assemblagen, skulpturale Installationen und Performances umfasst. Losgelöst von der lokalen Kunstproduktion artikulierte er eine künstlerische Sprache, die ihrer eigenen Logik und ihrem eigenen künstlerischen Impuls folgte, prozessorientiert und nicht elitär war. Seine Arbeiten zeichnen sich durch die Verwendung alltäglicher Materialien aus und spiegeln die Produktionsbedingungen in einer postmodernen, postglobalen Gesellschaft wider – einer künstlerischen Reflexion gleich, die sich aus einer analytischen Sicht auf die unmittelbare Umgebung und aus philosophischen Fragen speist.  

 

Die Retrospektive in den KW markiert den Höhepunkt von Sharifs langer und wechselvoller Beziehung zum Emirat Schardscha und ist in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Sharjah Art Foundation entstanden. Gezeigt werden rund 150 Werke aus dem vielfältigen Œuvre des Künstlers, darunter frühe Zeitungskarikaturen und Comiczeichnungen, Gemälde, Skulptureninstallationen und Assemblagen. Im Herbst 2020 wird die Ausstellung in der Malmö Konsthall präsentiert. Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog. 

 

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung wird der Dokumentarfilm Objects. A documentary on Hassan Sharif (2006) von Valsalan Kanara in der Pogo Bar gezeigt. An folgenden Tagen findet keine Filmpräsentation statt: 28. Februar, 5. und 12. März sowie 9. und 24. April 2020.

 

Kurator*innen: Hoor Al Qasimi, Krist Gruijthuijsen
Assistenzkuratorin: Cathrin Mayer

 

Rundgang durch die Ausstellung mit dem Kurator Krist Gruijthuijsen, in englischer Sprache mit deutschen Untertiteln

 

<p>Die Ausstellung <i>Hassan Sharif: I Am The Single Work Artist</i> entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit der Sharjah Art Foundation (VAE) und der Malmö Konsthall (SE). Die Ausstellung wurde 2017/2018 erstmals in der Sharjah Art Foundation präsentiert und von Hoor Al Qasimi kuratiert. Die europäischen Ausstellungsorte sind die KW Institute for Contemporary Art und Malmö Konsthall.</p>
<p> </p>

 

Die Ausstellung Hassan Sharif: I Am The Single Work Artist entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit der Sharjah Art Foundation (VAE) und der Malmö Konsthall (SE). Die Ausstellung wurde 2017/2018 erstmals in der Sharjah Art Foundation präsentiert und von Hoor Al Qasimi kuratiert. Die europäischen Ausstellungsorte sind die KW Institute for Contemporary Art und Malmö Konsthall.

 

 

<p>Die Ausstellung<em> <i>Hassan Sharif: I Am The Single Work Artist</i></em> wird ermöglicht durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds.</p>

 

Die Ausstellung Hassan Sharif: I Am The Single Work Artist wird ermöglicht durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds.