Hreinn Friðfinnsson
To Catch a Fish with a Song: 1964–Today
28 September 19 – 5 January 20

 

Opening: 27 September 19, 7 pm

 

<p>Hreinn Friðfinnsson, <em>First House, </em>1974, one of 16 <span lang="EN-GB">color photographs</span>, Courtesy the artist, i8 Gallery, Reykjavík; Galerie Nordenhake, Berlin/Stockholm/Mexico City; Meessen De Clercq, <span lang="EN-US">Brussels</span>; Galería Elba Benitez, Madrid</p>

Hreinn Friðfinnsson, First House, 1974, one of 16 color photographs, Courtesy the artist, i8 Gallery, Reykjavík; Galerie Nordenhake, Berlin/Stockholm/Mexico City; Meessen De Clercq, Brussels; Galería Elba Benitez, Madrid

 

As one of Iceland’s leading artists, Hreinn Friðfinnsson (born in 1943, Bær Dölum, IS) is celebrated for his inspirational and poetic use of everyday objects. His vocabulary, underscored by a delicate sense of humour, playfully implements storytelling and perceptual ploys. Friðfinnsson’s work could be characterised as conceptual, it investigates our understanding of time and the world around us. He is truly a natural storyteller; hence most of his works often ask for a narrative, or the fabrication of a story, even if there isn’t one. As explained by the artist himself: “Notions of time are always compelling. I read what comes my way about physics and mathematics, but I read as one who is uninitiated. The feeling and the interest in the essence of time is serious, but my dealing with time is not knowledge-based; it is more exploratory and feeling-based”. 

 

With subtle gestures, Friðfinnsson uses the exhibition space as a stage upon which to transform time, space, objects, the rational, and the irrational into captivating yet humble miracles.

 

To Catch a Fish with a Song: 1964–Today is organized in partnership with Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève (24 May – 25 August 19). Presenting around fifty works, the exhibition at KW celebrates Friðfinnsson’s extraordinary practice with a comprehensive retrospective spanning over half a century of work. It is the first institutional solo exhibition in Germany of Icelandic artist Hreinn Friðfinnsson. A catalogue raisonné accompanies the exhibition.

 

Curators: Krist Gruijthuijsen, Andrea Bellini
Assistant Curator: Cathrin Mayer

 

 

<p>The exhibition <em>To Catch a Fish with a Song: 1964–Today</em> by Hreinn Friðfinnsson is co-produced with the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève (CH) and supported by the Mondriaan Fund.</p>

 

The exhibition To Catch a Fish with a Song: 1964–Today by Hreinn Friðfinnsson is co-produced with the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève (CH) and supported by the Mondriaan Fund.

Hreinn Friðfinnsson
To Catch a Fish with a Song: 1964–Today
28. September 19 – 5. Januar 20

 

Eröffnung: 27. September 19

 

<p>Hreinn Friðfinnsson, <em>First House, </em>1974, eine von 16 Farbfotografien, Courtesy der Künstler, i8 Gallery, Reykjavík; Galerie Nordenhake, Berlin/Stockholm/Mexico City; Meessen De Clercq, Brüssel; Galería Elba Benitez, Madrid</p>

Hreinn Friðfinnsson, First House, 1974, eine von 16 Farbfotografien, Courtesy der Künstler, i8 Gallery, Reykjavík; Galerie Nordenhake, Berlin/Stockholm/Mexico City; Meessen De Clercq, Brüssel; Galería Elba Benitez, Madrid

 

Als einer der führenden Künstler Islands wird Hreinn Friðfinnsson (*1943 in Bær Dölum, IS) für seinen inspirativen und poetischen Umgang mit alltäglichen Gegenständen und Materialien geschätzt. Sein künstlerisches Vokabular, das von einem feinen Sinn für Humor geprägt ist, umfasst das Erzählen von Geschichten und Wahrnehmungstäuschungen, mit denen Friðfinnsson nach Entsprechungen zwischen den Dingen sucht. Friðfinnssons Arbeit kann als konzeptuell bezeichnet werden; sie untersucht unser Verständnis von Zeit und Wirklichkeit der uns umgebenden Welt. Die meisten seiner Werke verlangen oft nach einer Erzählung oder Geschichte, auch wenn sie nicht existiert. Friðfinnsson formuliert dies so: „Zeitvorstellungen sind immer stringent. Ich lese, was mir über Physik und Mathematik in den Sinn kommt, aber ich lese es als jemand, der nicht in die Thematik eingeweiht ist. Das Interesse und Empfinden für die Essenz der Zeit sind durchaus ernsthaft, aber mein Umgang mit der Zeit ist nicht wissensbasiert, sondern explorativer und gefühlsbasierter.“ 

 

Friðfinnsson schreibt sich mittels subtiler Gesten in den Ausstellungsraum ein, den er als Bühne nutzt, um Vorstellungen von Zeit, Raum, dem Rationalen und Irrationalen in einnehmende, wenngleich bescheidene Wunder zu verwandeln.

 

To Catch a Fish with a Song: 1964–Today entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève (24. Mai – 25. August 19). Mit rund fünfzig Werken liefert die umfassende Retrospektive in den KW einen Überblick über Hreinn Friðfinnssons Schaffen, das sich mittlerweile über ein halbes Jahrhundert erstreckt. Es ist zudem die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung des isländischen Künstlers in Deutschland. Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Catalogue raisonné.

 

Kurator*innen: Krist Gruijthuijsen, Andrea Bellini

Assistenzkuratorin: Cathrin Mayer 

 

 

 

<p><em>To Catch a Fish with a Song: 1964–Today </em>von Hreinn Friðfinnsson ist in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève entstanden und wird gefördert vom Mondriaan Fund.</p>

 

To Catch a Fish with a Song: 1964–Today von Hreinn Friðfinnsson ist in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève entstanden und wird gefördert vom Mondriaan Fund.