Kris Lemsalu Malone &
Kyp Malone Lemsalu
Love Song Sing-Along
29 February – 3 May 20

 

Opening: 28 February 20, 7 pm

 

Opening Performance: 28 February 20, 8.30 pm
Closing Performance: 3 May 20, 7 pm
Venue: 3rd floor
Please note that only a limited number of people can be admitted at any one time.

 

<p>Kris Lemsalu Malone & Kyp Malone Lemsalu, 2019, photo: Eric Martin</p>

Kris Lemsalu Malone & Kyp Malone Lemsalu, 2019, photo: Eric Martin

 

KW Institute for Contemporary Art is pleased to present the first institutional exhibition by Estonian artist Kris Lemsalu Malone (born in 1985, EE) in Germany. Kris Lemsalu Malone creates sculptures, installations, and performances that fuse the animal kingdom with humankind, nature with the artificial, beauty with repulsion, lightness with gravity, and life with death. She combines animal bodies and porcelain objects with found (natural) material such as furs, leather, seashells, wool, or paper in theatrical installations that whisk us off into a world of fantastic imagination. Endeavoring to erase any distance between herself and her objects, the artist also uses her installations as stages for performance pieces in which her sculptures become an integral part of her attire. Her works carry the memory of local mythologies onto the surfaces of objects that resemble artifacts and byproducts of contemporary civilization.
 
Since Performa 17, Kris Lemsalu Malone has collaborated with New York-based artist and multi-instrumentalist Kyp Malone Lemsalu (born in 1973, US) to create enhanced installations and performances encompassing sculpture, ceramics, animation, performative elements as well as music and sound. The exhibition at KW presents a newly conceived body of work as a continuation of the multifaceted collaboration between the—in the meantime married—duo. The large-scale installation will take up the entire third floor and will serve as an environment in which the lines between objects, bodies, and action are blurred.

 

During the opening Kris Lemsalu Malone and Kyp Malone Lemsalu will enliven this environment with a new performance to create an enchanting spatial continuum. Through the ephemeral embodiment the duo enhances the blending of seemingly opposed dualities such as object and subject, animals and mankind, life and death, as well as the power and vulnerability of longstanding mythologies, rituals and one’s own narrative.

 

Curator: Cathrin Mayer

Assistant Curator: Léon Kruijswijk

 

<p>The exhibition <em>Love Song Sing-Along </em>by Kris Lemsalu Malone & Kyp Malone Lemsalu is supported by the Cultural Endowment of Estonia and Miettinen Collection, Berlin.</p>

 

The exhibition Love Song Sing-Along by Kris Lemsalu Malone & Kyp Malone Lemsalu is supported by the Cultural Endowment of Estonia and Miettinen Collection, Berlin.

Kris Lemsalu Malone &
Kyp Malone Lemsalu
Love Song Sing-Along
29. Februar – 3. Mai 20

 

Eröffnung: 28. Februar 20, 19 Uhr

 

<p>Kris Lemsalu Malone & Kyp Malone Lemsalu, 2019, Foto: Eric Martin</p>

Kris Lemsalu Malone & Kyp Malone Lemsalu, 2019, Foto: Eric Martin

 

Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art freuen sich, die erste institutionelle Ausstellung der estnischen Künstlerin Kris Lemsalu (*1985, EE) in Deutschland zu präsentieren. Kris Lemsalu schafft Skulpturen, Installationen und Performances, in denen scheinbar widerstreitende Dualitäten miteinander verschmelzen – das Tierreich mit der Menschheit, die Natur mit dem Künstlichen, das Schöne mit dem Abstoßenden, Leichtigkeit mit Schwere und das Leben mit dem Tod. Aus Tierkörpern, Porzellan und in der Natur vorgefundenen Materialien wie Fell, Leder, Muscheln, Wolle und Papier entstehen theatralische Installationen, die die Betrachter*innen in eine irrationale Fantasiewelt entführen. Lemsalus Installationen dienen als Bühne für Performances, in denen die Künstlerin eins wird mit ihren Skulpturen und jegliche Grenzen zwischen Subjekt und Objekt verschwinden. Erinnerungen an mythologische Erzählungen werden in Lemsalus Arbeiten in die Oberfläche der Objekte – die Artefakten oder Nebenprodukten moderner Zivilisation gleichen – eingeschrieben.
 
Seit der Performa 17 arbeitet Kris Lemsalu mit dem in New York lebenden Künstler und Multi-Instrumentalisten Kyp Malone (*1973, US) zusammen, um erweiterte Installationen und Performances mit Skulptur, Keramik, Animation, performativen Elementen sowie Musik und Klang zu schaffen. In ihrer neuen, eigens für die KW konzipierten Arbeit entwickelt das inzwischen verheiratete Duo eine groß angelegte Installation, die das gesamte dritte Obergeschoss einnehmen wird und die Grenzen zwischen Objekten, Körpern und Handlungen verschwimmen lässt.

 

Im Rahmen der Ausstellungseröffnung werden Kris Lemsalu Malone und Kyp Malone Lemsalu diese Umgebung beleben und anhand ihrer neu konzipierten Performance ein lebendiges Raumkontinuum schaffen. In ihrer ephemeren Darstellung steigert das Duo die Verschmelzung scheinbar komplementärer Dualitäten – das Objekt mit dem Subjekt, das Tierreich mit der Menschheit, das Leben mit dem Tod sowie die Macht mit der Anfälligkeit langjähriger Mythen, Rituale und der eigenen Narration.

 

Kuratorin: Cathrin Mayer

Assistenzkurator: Léon Kruijswijk

 

 

<p>Die Ausstellung wird gefördert vom Cultural Endowment of Estonia und der Miettinen Collection, Berlin.</p>

 

Die Ausstellung wird gefördert vom Cultural Endowment of Estonia und der Miettinen Collection, Berlin.