KW Production Series 2019: Andrea Büttner and Rachel O’Reilly

 

For its second year of commissioning, KW Production Series engages the work of two Berlin-based artists: Andrea Büttner (born in 1972, Stuttgart, DE) and Rachel O’Reilly (born in Gladstone, AU). Already in development, these new moving image works will be premiered in the fall of 2019.

 

Organised in collaboration with the Julia Stoschek Foundation and OUTSET Germany_Switzerland, the KW Production Series is inspired by KW’s founding principles as a place of production, critical exchange, and thoughtful collaboration. The series seeks to identify and serve artists that are at a pivotal moment in their work and career—those who will benefit not only from the financial support and institutional visibility this opportunity provides, but also those who will be able to use the Series to significantly contribute towards the depth and rigor of their moving image practice.

 

Andrea Büttner

 
<div>Andrea Büttner, <i>What is so terrible about craft?</i>, 2019, Double-channel video.</div>
<div> </div>
Andrea Büttner, What is so terrible about craft?, 2019, Double-channel video.
 

 

Andrea Büttner’s new moving image work considers how Western European traditions of craft have been infused with models for life and ways of being. The artist questions whom these models are serving, and how craft is deployed to “heal the wounds of Modernism”. The film considers craft’s ongoing relation to reactionary political movements, its role in national narratives and religious identities, as well as its solutions for societal discontents. 
 
Andrea Büttner lives a in Berlin and London. She has had recent solo exhibitions at Bergen Kunsthall; the Hammer Art Museum, Los Angeles; Museum Ludwig, Cologne; MMK, Frankfurt am Main; Kunsthalle Wien; and the Walker Art Center, Minneapolis (US). Her work has also been included in Documenta 13, Kassel and Kabul, and the 33rd and 29th São Paulo Biennial. In 2017 Büttner was nominated for the Turner Prize. Her book Beggars was recently published by Koenig Books, and includes texts by Anne Carson and Linda Nochlin. In 2019, her forthcoming book Shame will be published by Koenig Books in collaboration with KW.

 

 

Rachel O’Reilly

 
<p>Rachel O’Reilly, <em>Drawing Rights</em>, Film-Still, 2018</p>

Rachel O’Reilly, Drawing Rights, Film-Still, 2018

 

The story of “managing” and conceptualising land and water in Australia—the driest continent on earth—comes with complex cinematic, algorithmic, linguistic, legal and translation challenges. Rachel O’Reilly’s new work considers material connections of living, dead and “at-risk” archives of land, memory, activism and research that connect to describe the territory of the North of Australia. “What does it mean to trace the mediocre languages and images of any ongoing colonial development industry,” asks O’Reilly, “as it participates in the larger project of exhausting material entanglements?” Impasses and gathered intimacies within the gaps left by increasing value uniformity, neutral branding, and singular vocabularies of “best practice”, mark out rifts that query the category of the infrastructural itself.

 

Rachel O’Reilly grew up in Goreng Goreng country in the settler colony of Australia and lives and works in Berlin as an independent artist, poet, researcher, and curator. Her work has been shown at Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven (NL); David Roberts Art Foundation, London; the Museum of Yugoslav History, Belgrade; If I Can’t Dance, Amsterdam; and BAK – basis voor actuele kunst, Utrecht (NL). Recent curatorial collaborations include Ex-Embassy, Berlin and Planetary Records: Performing Justice Between Art and Law, Contour Biennale. Her book with Jelena Vesic and Vlidi Jeric, On Neutrality was published by the Non-Aligned Modernisms series, Museum of Contemporary Art, Belgrade. She writes with Danny Butt on artistic autonomy in settler colonial space. O’Reilly’s writing has been published by Cambridge Scholars Press, The MIT Press, Postcolonial Studies, and e-flux Journal. She currently teaches the theory seminar At the Limits of the Writerly at the Dutch Art Institute, Arnhem (NL).

 

 

<p>The KW Production Series is curated and produced by Mason Leaver-Yap, KW’s Associate Curator and is made possible with generous support by the JULIA STOSCHEK FOUNDATION and OUTSET Germany_Switzerland.</p>

 

The KW Production Series is curated and produced by Mason Leaver-Yap, KW’s Associate Curator and is made possible with generous support by the JULIA STOSCHEK FOUNDATION and OUTSET Germany_Switzerland.

KW Production Series 2019:
Andrea Büttner und Rachel O'Reilly

 

Die KW Production Series widmen sich in ihrer zweiten Ausgabe den beiden in Berlin lebenden Künstlerinnen Andrea Büttner (geb. 1972, Stuttgart, DE) und Rachel O’Reilly (geb. in Gladstone, AU), deren neue Videoarbeiten sich bereits in der Entwicklung befinden und im Herbst 2019 der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert werden.

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Julia Stoschek Foundation und OUTSET Germany_Switzerland widmen sich die KW Production Series anhand zweier Neuproduktionen pro Jahr dem künstlerischen Bewegtbild. Das Projekt ist inspiriert von den Gründungsprinzipien der KW Institute for Contemporary Art als einem Ort für Produktion, Reflexion und kritischen Austausch. Die KW Production Series setzen sich zum Ziel, ausgewählte Künstler*innen zu unterstützen, deren Arbeit und Karriere sich vor einem wegweisenden Durchbruch befinden und die nicht nur von der finanziellen Unterstützung und dem institutionellen Renommee profitieren, sondern dieses Format auch nutzen, um den Tiefe- und Schärfegrad ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit maßgeblich und nachhaltig zu modifizieren.

 

 

Andrea Büttner

 
<p>Andrea Büttner, <em>Little Sisters: Lunapark Ostia</em>, 2012, Film-Still, Courtesy die Künstlerin / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn</p>
<h2 class="header__date"> </h2>

Andrea Büttner, Little Sisters: Lunapark Ostia, 2012, Film-Still, Courtesy die Künstlerin / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn

 

 

Andrea Büttners Arbeit untersucht, wie westeuropäische Handwerkstraditionen mit Lebens- und Seinsmodellen durchdrungen sind. Die Künstlerin fragt, wem diese Modelle dienen und wie das Handwerk eingesetzt wird, um „die Wunden der Moderne zu heilen“. Ihr Film befasst sich mit dem anhaltenden Verhältnis von Handwerk und reaktionären, politischen Bewegungen sowie dessen Funktion in nationalen Erzählungen, religiösen Identitäten und Rolle zur Lösung gesellschaftlicher Missstände.
 
Andrea Büttner lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und London. Zuletzt hatte sie Einzelausstellungen in der Bergen Kunsthall, im Hammer Art Museum, Los Angeles, im Museum Ludwig, Köln, im MMK, Frankfurt am Main, in der Kunsthalle Wien und im Walker Art Center, Minneapolis (US). Ihre Arbeiten wurden auf der Documenta 13, Kassel und Kabul sowie auf der 33. und 29. São Paulo Biennale präsentiert. 2017 war Büttner für den Turner Prize nominiert. Ihr Buch Beggars wurde kürzlich bei Koenig Books veröffentlicht und enthält Texte von Anne Carson und Linda Nochlin. 2019 wird ihr Buch Shame in Zusammenarbeit mit den KW bei Koenig Books erscheinen.
 

 

 

Rachel O'Reilly

 
<p>Rachel O’Reilly, <em>Drawing Rights</em>, Film-Still, 2018</p>
<p> </p>

Rachel O’Reilly, Drawing Rights, Film-Still, 2018

 

 

Die Geschichte der Erschließung und Verwaltung von Land und Wasser in Australien, dem trockensten Kontinent der Erde, führt zu komplexen filmischen, algorithmischen, linguistischen, rechtlichen und vermittlerischen Herausforderungen. Rachel O’Reillys neue Arbeit untersucht materielle Verbindungen lebender, toter und gefährdeter Landes-, Erinnerungs-, Bewegungs- und Forschungsarchive, um das Northern Territory in Australien abzustecken. Was bedeutet es, die Sprachen und Bilder einer anhaltenden kolonialen Entwicklungsindustrie zu verfolgen – trägt sie dazu bei, dass sich materielle Verstrickungen erschöpfen? Sackgassen und Vertrautheiten innerhalb der Lücken, die durch eine zunehmende Werteeinheit, neutrales Branding und singuläres Vokabular von „Best Practice“ entstehen, markieren Gräben, die die Kategorie des Infrastrukturellen selbst hinterfragen. 


 

Rachel O’Reilly ist in der australischen Siedlerkolonie Goreng Goreng aufgewachsen und lebt und arbeitet derzeit als freie Künstlerin, Lyrikerin, Researcherin und Kuratorin in Berlin. Ihre Arbeiten wurden im Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven (NL), der David Roberts Art Foundation, London, im Museum of Yugoslav History, Belgrad, bei If I Can’t Dance, Amsterdam und im BAK – basis voor actuele kunst, Utrecht (NL) gezeigt. Zu ihren jüngsten kuratorischen Kooperationen gehören Ex-Embassy, Berlin und Planetary Records: Performing Justice Between Art and Law, Contour Biennale 8, Mechelen (BE). Ihr Buch On Neutrality, das sie gemeinsam mit Jelena Vesić und Vladimir Jerić Vlidi herausgegeben hat, wurde im Rahmen der Reihe Non-Aligned Modernisms im Museum of Contemporary Art, Belgrad veröffentlicht. Zusammen mit Danny Butt schreibt O’Reilly über künstlerische Autonomie in Siedlungskolonien; weitere Publikationen erschienen bei Cambridge Scholars Publishing, The MIT Press, Postcolonial Studies und im e-flux Journal. Derzeit lehrt O’Reilly im Rahmen des Theorieseminars At the Limits of the Writerly am Dutch Art Institute, Arnhem (NL).

 

 

 

<p>Die KW Production Series werden kuratiert und organisiert von Mason Leaver-Yap, Assoziierte*r Kurator*in der KW und mit großzügiger Unterstützung der Julia Stoschek Foundation und OUTSET Germany_Switzerland ermöglicht.</p>

 

Die KW Production Series werden kuratiert und organisiert von Mason Leaver-Yap, Assoziierte*r Kurator*in der KW und mit großzügiger Unterstützung der Julia Stoschek Foundation und OUTSET Germany_Switzerland ermöglicht.