On Film: Hélio Oiticica, Lygia Clark and Arthur Bispo do Rosário

 

Available online from April 15 until May 24, 21
In English and Portuguese

 

<p>Image: Still from <em>Memória do Corpo</em> (<em>Memory of the Body</em>), 1984, directed by Mario Carneiro, Brazil; Courtesy <em>The World of Lygia Clark</em> Cultural Association</p>

Image: Still from Memória do Corpo (Memory of the Body), 1984, directed by Mario Carneiro, Brazil; Courtesy The World of Lygia Clark Cultural Association

 

On Film: Hélio Oiticica, Lygia Clark and Arthur Bispo do Rosário brings together a unique selection of films about and/or by these three artists who have played a defining role in the Brazilian art scene from the 1960s onwards. Each to their own extent — intended or not — contributed to discourses moving away from modernist artistic traditions, by embracing subjectivity, sensuality, color and poetic feelings in their work. Such approaches resonate in the work of Leonilson, who belonged to a younger generation of artists. In general, the groundbreaking practices of Oiticica, Clark and Bispo do Rosário did not lose significance until this day.

 

 

Apocalipopótese, 1968
Directed by Raymundo Amado, Brazil
16mm transferred to digital video, 9 minutes
Courtesy the artist and the Museum of Modern Art, NYC

 

Apocalipopótese was a collective exhibition as manifesto, which took place in the Aterro do Flamengo park in Rio de Janeiro in 1968. Literally breaking away from the limitations and categories of museums, the manifestation became an important moment to show the desire of a young generation of artists to shift the focus from working with institutional constraints to practices characterized by action, experience, process and participation, intervening in the public sphere.

 

The fragments left of the full 16mm film show among others Lygia Pape’s Ovos (Eggs), Antonio Manuel’s Urnas quentes (Hot urns), and Rogério Duarte’s taming wheel of trained police dogs. The film ultimately shows a new movement in the Brazilian art scene of the 1960s, behind which Hélio Oiticica and Lygia Clark were driving forces.

 

 

Agrippina é Roma-Manhattan, 1972
Directed by Hélio Oiticica and Neville d’Almeida, USA
Super 8-film transferred to digital video, 15:05 minutes
Courtesy César Oiticica and Projeto Hélio Oiticica

 

With Agrippina é Roma-Manhattan, Hélio Oiticica (Brazil, 1937—1980) translates the story of Agrippina—the widowed aristocrat determined to install her son Nero as the Roman emperor by arranging the right marriage for herself—to New York City in the 1970s. Dressed in a blood-red dress, Agrippina promenades in front of the solemn neo-classical architecture of Manhattan guided by a B-cast pimp. Followed by a scene in which a drag queen is playing dice on the streets the film can be read as homage to New York’s cityscape and the outlaws ruling the streets—played by Mario Montez, Antonio Diaz and Cristiny Nazareth.

 

The film illustrates the term quasi-cinema coined by Oiticica and d’Almeida, which questions the passive relationship between the cinematic image and the spectator, and presents a blending of pop culture, social issues, film and sound.

 

 

O Prisioneiro Da Passagem (The Prisoner of the Passage), 1982
Directed by Hugo Denizart, Brazil
Digital copy, 30 minutes
Courtesy Museu Bispo do Rosário Arte Contemporânea

 

Arthur Bispo do Rosário (Brazil, 1909—1989) was an outsider artist who lived as a psychiatric patient in a mental health institution in Rio de Janeiro for 50 years. He created collages, sculptures, installations and cloths with objects found in his daily surroundings. Made in complete isolation from the art world, these objects were rather an expression of his self-proclaimed divine mission than intentional pieces of art. They visualize a mind oscillating between reality and delirium, and represent how a work can encompass one’s entire world-view, regardless of that world’s tangible dimensions.

 

Psychoanalyst Hugo Denizart made this documentary about Bispo do Rosário after the Brazilian Ministry of Health assigned him to investigate the conditions at the Colônia Juliano Moreira institution. During the process he discovered Bispo do Rosário and his work, and was so impressed that he made him the subject of the documentary instead.

 

 

Memória do Corpo (Memory of the Body), 1984
Directed by Mario Carneiro, Brazil
Digital copy, 30 minutes
Courtesy The World of Lygia Clark Cultural Association

 

Lygia Clark (Brazil, 1920—1988), who started as a painter and sculptor, was part of the Brazilian Neo-Concrete group of artists, who declared with a manifesto in 1959 to perceive an artwork rather as a quasi-corpus than as a ‘machine’ or an ‘object’, and embraced the subjective experience, of both the artist and the viewer. Although Clark would withdraw from the group shortly after, she dedicated her life-long practice to question objecthood and to explore how one can relate to works of art, among others by making participatory propositions and collective body experiments.

 

Memória do Corpo (Memory of the Body) is one of the few videos featuring Clark, in a session of Estruturação do Self (Structuration of the Self). From 1979—1988, she identified the relational capacity of materials to create her Objetos relacionais (Relational objects), with which she would develop therapeutic sessions to replace art by a practice of aesthetic healing. With this approach, Clark undid the categorized and hierarchical relationship between materials, objects and individuals, to come an artistic practice rooted in the senses.

On Film: Hélio Oiticica, Lygia Clark und Arthur Bispo do Rosário

 

Online verfügbar vom 15. April bis 24. Mai 21
In englischer und portugiesischer Sprache

 

<p>Bild: Filmstill aus <em>Memória do Corpo</em> (<em>Memory of the Body</em>), 1984, von Mario Carneiro, Brasilien; Courtesy <em>The World of Lygia Clark</em> Cultural Association</p>

Bild: Filmstill aus Memória do Corpo (Memory of the Body), 1984, von Mario Carneiro, Brasilien; Courtesy The World of Lygia Clark Cultural Association

 

On Film: Hélio Oiticica, Lygia Clark and Arthur Bispo do Rosário versammelt eine einzigartige Auswahl von Filmen über und/oder von den drei Künstler*innen, die seit den 1960er Jahren eine entscheidende Rolle in der brasilianischen Kunstszene gespielt haben. Jede*r von ihnen trug auf seine Weise – ob beabsichtigt oder nicht – zu Diskursen bei, die sich von modernistischen Kunsttraditionen wegbewegten, indem sie Subjektivität, Sinnlichkeit, Farbe und Poesie in ihre Arbeit einfließen ließen. Dieselben Ansätze schwingen im Schaffen Leonilsons mit, der einer jüngeren Künstler*innengeneration angehörte. Bis heute haben die bahnbrechenden Praktiken von Oiticica, Clark und Bispo do Rosário nicht an Bedeutung verloren.

 

 

Apocalipopótese, 1968
Regie: Raymundo Amado, Brasilien
16mm-Film, auf Digitalvideo übertragen, 9 Minuten
Courtesy der Filmemacher und Museum of Modern Art, New York

 

Apocalipopótese war eine als Manifest fungierende Kollektivausstellung, die 1968 im Aterro do Flamengo-Park in Rio de Janeiro stattfand. Buchstäblich mit den konventionellen Beschränkungen und Kategorien der Institution des Museums brechend, wurde die Ausstellung zu einem wichtigen Moment, den Wunsch einer jungen Generation von Künstler*innen zum Ausdruck zu bringen und den Fokus von der Auseinandersetzung mit institutionellen Zwängen auf Praktiken zu verlagern, die durch Aktionen, Erfahrung, Prozess sowie Partizipation und Interaktion mit dem öffentlichen Raum gekennzeichnet sind.

 

Die Fragmente, die von dem 16-mm-Film übrig geblieben sind, zeigen unter anderem Lygia Papes Ovos (Eier), Antonio Manuels Urnas quentes (Heiße Urnen) und Rogério Duartes Zähmungsrad zur Bändigung von Polizeihunden. Der Film ist Zeugnis einer neuen Bewegung in der brasilianischen Kunstszene der 1960er Jahre, in der Hélio Oiticica und Lygia Clark treibende Kräfte waren.

 

 

Agrippina é Roma-Manhattan, 1972
Regie: Hélio Oiticica und Neville d’Almeida, USA
Super-8-Film, auf Digitalvideo übertragen, 15:05 Minuten
Courtesy César Oiticica und Projeto Hélio Oiticica

 

Mit Agrippina é Roma-Manhattan überträgt Hélio Oiticica (Brasilien, 1937-1980) die Geschichte von Agrippina – der verwitweten Aristokratin, die entschlossen ist, ihren Sohn Nero zum Römischen Kaiser zu machen, indem sie für sich selbst die richtige Ehe arrangiert – ins New York der 1970er Jahre. In einem blutroten Kleid spaziert Agrippina vor der Kulisse Manhattans eindrücklicher, neoklassizistischer Architektur, wobei sie von einem suspekten Zuhälter begleitet wird. Es folgt eine Szene, in der eine Drag Queen auf der Straße mit Würfeln spielt. Der Film lässt sich als Hommage an das New Yorker Stadtbild lesen, das von gesellschaftlichen Außenseiter*innen – hier gespielt von Mario Montez, Antonio Diaz und Cristiny Nazareth – regiert wird.

 

Durch die Vermischung von Popkultur, sozialen Themen, Bild und Ton veranschaulicht der Film den von Oiticica und d’Almeida geprägten Begriff des Quasi-Kinos, der die passive Beziehung zwischen dem projizierten Bild auf der Leinwand und dem/der Zuschauer*in in Frage stellt.

 

 

O Prisioneiro Da Passagem, 1982
Regie: Hugo Denizart, Brasilien
Digitale Kopie, 30 Minuten
Courtesy Museu Bispo do Rosário Arte Contemporânea

 

Arthur Bispo do Rosário (Brasilien, 1909-1989) war ein Außenseiterkünstler, der 50 Jahre lang als Patient in einer Psychiatrischen Klinik in Rio de Janeiro lebte. Sein Werk umfasst Collagen, Skulpturen, Stickereien und Installationen aus Tüchern und Gegenständen, die er seiner alltäglichen Umgebung entnahm. In völliger Isolation von der Kunstwelt entstanden, waren diese Objekte weniger tatsächlich beabsichtigte Kunstwerke als Ausdruck einer selbstauferlegten, spirituellen Mission. Sie visualisieren ein Denken, das zwischen Realität und Delirium oszilliert, und zeigen, wie ein Werk das gesamte Weltbild eines Menschen umfassen kann, unabhängig von den greifbaren Dimensionen dieser Welt.

 

Der Psychoanalytiker Hugo Denizart drehte den Dokumentarfilm über Bispo do Rosário, nachdem ihn das brasilianische Gesundheitsministerium beauftragt hatte, die Zustände in der Einrichtung Colônia Juliano Moreira zu untersuchen. Im Zuge dieser investigativen Dreharbeiten entdeckte er Bispo do Rosário und dessen Arbeiten. Denizart war derart beeindruckt, dass er anstelle der Klinik den Künstler zum Thema seiner Dokumentation machte.

 

Im Film können Qualitätsunterschiede sichtbar werden, da es sich um eine Montage von digitalen Kopien eines verlorenen Originals handelt.

 

 

Memória do Corpo, 1984
Regie: Mario Carneiro, Brasilien
Digitale Kopie, 30 Minuten
Courtesy „The World of Lygia Clark“ Cultural Association

 

Lygia Clark (Brasilien, 1920-1988), die als Malerin und Bildhauerin begann, gehörte der brasilianischen Künstler*innengruppe Neoconcretismo an, die 1959 in einem Manifest erklärte, ein Kunstwerk eher als Quasi-Körper denn als „Maschine” oder „Objekt” zu behandeln und dabei die subjektive Erfahrung, sowohl der/des Künstlers*in als auch des/der Betrachter*in, zu berücksichtigen. Obwohl Clark sich kurz darauf aus der Gruppe zurückzog, widmete sie sich in ihrer lebenslangen künstlerischen Praxis dem Hinterfragen von Objekthaftigkeit. Unter anderem in der Form partizipatorischer Projekte und kollektiver Körperexperimente erforschte sie, wie Körper und Kunstwerk zueinander in Beziehung treten.

 

Memória do Corpo ist eines der wenigen Videos, die Clark in einer Sitzung von Estruturação do Self (Strukturierung des Selbst) zeigen. Von 1979-1988 ergründete sie die relationale Fähigkeit von Materialien, um ihre Objetos relacionais (Relationale Objekte) zu schaffen, mit denen sie therapeutische Sitzungen entwickelte. Ihr Anliegen war es, Kunst durch eine Praxis der ästhetischen Heilung zu ersetzen. Mit ihren Ansätzen löste Clark die kategorisierte, hierarchische Beziehung zwischen Materialien, Objekten und Individuen auf und gelangte zu einer künstlerischen Praxis, die nur auf den Sinnen aufbaute.