Leonilson
Drawn 1975–1993
5 December 20 – 21 February 21

 
<p>Leonilson, <em>Inflammable</em>, ca. 1990, Courtesy Projeto Leonilson, Photo: Eduardo Ortega</p>

Leonilson, Inflammable, ca. 1990, Courtesy Projeto Leonilson, Photo: Eduardo Ortega

 

KW Institute for Contemporary Art is pleased to present the first major retrospective of Brazilian artist Leonilson (1957–1993) in Europe. Leonilson was one of the major exponents of a generation of Brazilian artists known as Geração 80 (80s Generation). After the end of Brazil’s military dictatorship in the mid-1980s, this group of artists celebrated their newly acquired freedom with a gestural, colorful, and expressive style of painting. While American Pop Art appropriated the symbols of a highly industrialized society in the 1980s, the Geração 80s art was firmly critical of society.

 

Born in 1957, Leonilson studied art in São Paulo (BR) from 1978 to 1981. Apart from Eva Hesse and Blinky Palermo, both of whom he met during travels in Europe, his first major influence was the Italian transavanguardia movement. Formed in the late 1970s, transavanguardia turned to figuration, ancient mythology, and expressive coloration. Similarly, Leonilson’s paintings and drawings from this period show an eclectic subjectivism and an emblematic visual language. An exhibition of textiles produced by the Shakers, a Christian American sect, marked a key moment in the artist’s early career. The Shaker’s embroidered maps of their estates influenced him greatly and inspired him to embrace fabric as a medium. When Leonilson was diagnosed with AIDS in 1991, his visual language changed significantly: between 1991 and 1993, his work, which resembled a diary, betrayed his deteriorating health and a preoccupation with death. Towards the end of his life, he was only able to work with needle, thread, and cloth. In this period, language and abstraction, as well as religious visual and formal language played an important role in Leonilson’s work.

 

The retrospective at KW presents a selection of over 250 works that encompass a broad range of mediums and styles, from early paintings to the introspective embroidery of Leonilson’s last years, providing an overview of his entire oeuvre. Afterwards, the exhibition will be shown at Moderna Museet, Stockholm (March – May 2021), Malmö Konsthall (June – August 2021), and Museu de Arte Contemporânea de Serralves, Porto (November 2021 – April 2022). An catalogue accompanies the exhibition.

 

Curator: Krist Gruijthuijsen

Assistant Curator: Léon Kruijswijk

 

 

<p>The exhibition <em>Leonilson:</em> <em>Drawn 1975–1993</em> is funded by the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation).</p>
<p> </p>

 

The exhibition Leonilson: Drawn 1975–1993 is funded by the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation).

 

 

<p>With generous support by the Galeria Almeida e Dale</p>
<p> </p>

 

With generous support by the Galeria Almeida e Dale

 

 

<p> </p>
<p>The publication accompanying the exhibition is supported by Itaú Cultural and Galeria Marilia Razuk and is published by Hatje Cantz Verlag.</p>
<p> </p>

 

The publication accompanying the exhibition is supported by Itaú Cultural and Galeria Marilia Razuk and is published by Hatje Cantz Verlag.

Leonilson
Drawn 1975–1993
5. Dezember 20 – 21. Februar 21

 
<p>Leonilson, <em>Inflammable</em>, ca. 1990, Courtesy Projeto Leonilson, Foto: Eduardo Ortega</p>

Leonilson, Inflammable, ca. 1990, Courtesy Projeto Leonilson, Foto: Eduardo Ortega

 

Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art freuen sich, die erste groß angelegte Retrospektive des brasilianischen Künstlers José Leonilson (1957–1993) in Europa zu präsentieren. Leonilson zählt zu den wichtigsten Vertreter*innen einer Generation brasilianischer Künstler*innen, die unter dem Namen Geração 80 (Generation 80) bekannt wurde. Nach dem Ende der Militärdiktatur in Brasilien Mitte der 1980er Jahre verlieh diese Künstler*innengruppe der neu gewonnen Freiheit mit einer gestischen, farbreichen und expressiven Malerei Ausdruck. Anders als die US-amerikanische Pop Art der 1980er Jahre, die sich die Symbole einer stark industrialisierten Gesellschaft aneignete, war die Kunst der Geração 80 sozialkritisch.

 

Der 1957 geborene José Leonilson studierte von 1978 bis 1981 bildende Kunst in São Paulo (BR). Neben Eva Hesse und Blinky Palermo, die er in den frühen 1980er Jahren auf Reisen durch Europa kennenlernte, war sein frühes Werk vor allem von der italienischen Transavanguardia-Bewegung beeinflusst, die sich Ende der 1970er Jahre formierte und deren Vertreter*innen sich der Figuration, antiker Mythologie und einer expressiven Farbigkeit zuwandten. So sind Leonlisons Malereien und Zeichnungen aus dieser Zeit von einem eklektizistischen Subjektivismus und der Verwendung einer emblematischen Bildsprache gekennzeichnet. Ein wichtiger Moment in der frühen Schaffensphase des Künstlers war der Besuch einer Ausstellung zu Textilarbeiten der Shakers, einer amerikanisch-christlichen Sekte. Vor allem die gestickten Karten der Shakers, die unter anderem deren Ländereien darstellten, beeinflussten Leonilson und führten zur verstärkten Arbeit des Künstlers mit Stoff. Mit seiner HIV-Diagnose 1991 änderte sich Leonilsons Bildsprache erkennbar: Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Tod sowie sein immer schlechter werdender körperlicher Zustand prägten die tagebuchartigen Arbeiten aus den Jahren 1991 bis 1993. Gegen Ende seines Lebens war es ihm nur noch möglich, mit Stoff, Nadel und Faden zu arbeiten – gleichzeitig spielen in jener letzten Schaffensphase Sprache und Abstraktion sowie religiöse Bild- und Formensprache eine wichtige Rolle.

 

Die Retrospektive in den KW zeigt eine Auswahl von über 250 Arbeiten mannigfaltiger Medien und Stile, von frühen Malereien bis hin zu den introspektiven Stickereien und bietet damit einen Überblick über Leonilsons künstlerisches Œuvre. Im Anschluss wird die Ausstellung im Moderna Museet in Stockholm (März – Mai 2021), in der Malmö Konsthall (Juni – August 2021) sowie im Museu de Arte Contemporânea de Serralves in Porto (November 2021 – April 2022) präsentiert. Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog. 

 

Kurator: Krist Gruijthuijsen

Assistenzkurator: Léon Kruijswijk

 

 

<p>Die Ausstellung <em>Leonilson: Drawn 1975–1993</em> wird durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes gefördert.</p>
<p> </p>

 

Die Ausstellung Leonilson: Drawn 1975–1993 wird durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes gefördert.

 

 

<p>Mit großzügiger Unterstützung der Galerie Almeida e Dale</p>
<p> </p>

 

Mit großzügiger Unterstützung der Galerie Almeida e Dale

 

 

<p>Die begleitend zur Ausstellung entstehende Publikation wird durch Itaú Cultural und die Galeria Marilia Razuk gefördert und erscheint im Hatje Cantz Verlag. </p>

 

Die begleitend zur Ausstellung entstehende Publikation wird durch Itaú Cultural und die Galeria Marilia Razuk gefördert und erscheint im Hatje Cantz Verlag.