KW Digital: Open Secret
16 July – 31 December 21

 

Featuring Nora Al-Badri, Maithu Bùi, Erick Beltrán, Tara Isabella Burton, Caroline Busta, Jennifer Chan, Wendy Chun, Joshua Citarella, András Cséfalvay, Inland (Ed Davenport), Constant Dullaart, Orit & Tal Halpern, Adam Harvey, Vladan Joler, Bea Kittelmann, Katerina Krtilova, Lauren Lee McCarthy, Lukáš Likavčan, Jen Liu, Eva and Franco Mattes, Tom McCarthy, Lisa Messeri, Ramak Molavi Vasse’i, New Models, Lisa Rave, Rachel Rossin, Gillian Russell, Konstanze Schütze, Caroline Sinders, Dirk Sorge, Charles Stankievech, and others, as well as the AURORA School for ARtists, Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum, and MOTIF

 

<p>Image: Joshua Citarella, <em>Choose Your Future</em>, 2021. Still from the website; Courtney the artist</p>

Image: Joshua Citarella, Choose Your Future, 2021. Still from the website; Courtney the artist

 

 

Open Secret is a six-month long online program exploring the role of the hidden in our apparently “open” society. Information technologies are supposed to increase our access to knowledge, making the world more legible, while undermining ignorance and superstition. But sometimes the feeling prevails that we have entered a new dark age of black boxes, projections, and paranoia. Techno-culture is obsessed with the unseen, the inaccessible, the known-unknown. Open Secret pursues things that are obscured–through artistic commissions, a suite of essays by leading thinkers, and an intensive public program dedicated to critical reappraisal of the digital infrastructures that organize civic life. With new contributions released on a monthly basis, the Open Secret website will bring together art, technology, politics, and new patterns of exchange.

 

Curators: Nadim Samman, curator digital sphere, in collaboration with Katja Zeidler, head of education & mediation

 

 

<p><em>Open Secret</em> was developed as part of <em>dive in. Programme for Digital Interactions</em> of the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation) with funding by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM) through the NEUSTART KULTUR program.</p>

 

Open Secret was developed as part of dive in. Programme for Digital Interactions of the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation) with funding by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM) through the NEUSTART KULTUR program.

KW Digital: Open Secret
16. Juli – 31. Dezember 21

 

Mit Nora Al-Badri, Maithu Bùi, Erick Beltrán, Tara Isabella Burton, Caroline Busta, Jennifer Chan, Wendy Chun, Joshua Citarella, András Cséfalvay, Inland (Ed Davenport), Constant Dullaart, Orit Halpern, Adam Harvey, Vladan Joler, Bea Kittelmann, Kateřina Krtilová, Lauren Lee McCarthy, Lukáš Likavčan, Jen Liu, Eva und Franco Mattes, Tom McCarthy, Lisa Messeri, Ramak Molavi Vasse’i, New Models, Lisa Rave, Rachel Rossin, Konstanze Schütze, Caroline Sinders, Dirk Sorge, Charles Stankievech, und anderen, sowie der AURORA School for ARtists, dem Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum und MOTIF

 

<p>Bild: Joshua Citarella, <em>Choose Your Future</em>, 2021. Still von der Webseite; Courtesy der Künstler</p>

Bild: Joshua Citarella, Choose Your Future, 2021. Still von der Webseite; Courtesy der Künstler

 

 

Das sechsmonatige Online-Programm Open Secret untersucht die Rolle des Verborgenen in unserer scheinbar offenen Gesellschaft. Informationstechnologien sollen Unwissen und Aberglaube bekämpfen, indem sie Wissen zugänglich und die Welt verständlich machen. Bisweilen scheint es, als seien wir in ein neues dunkles Zeitalter aus Blackboxen, Projektionen und Paranoia eingetreten. Das Unsichtbare und Unzugängliche, die „Known-Unknowns“, gewinnen zunehmend an Bedeutung. Solchen Verständnislücken widmet sich Open Secret in Auftragsarbeiten, einer Reihe von Essays und einem umfangreichen Vermittlungsprogramm, das die digitalen Infrastrukturen, nach denen unser gesellschaftliches Leben organisiert ist, einer kritischen Neubewertung unterzieht. Jeden Monat erscheinen auf einer eigenen Webseite neue Beiträge, die Kunst, Technologie, Politik und neue Formen des Austauschs zusammenführen.

 

Kurator*innen: Nadim Samman, Kurator Digitaler Raum, in Kollaboration mit Katja Zeidler, Leitung Bildung und Vermittlung der KW

 

 

<p><em>Open Secret</em> wurde entwickelt im Rahmen von <em>dive in. Programm für digitale Interaktionen</em> der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien (BKM) im Programm NEUSTART KULTUR.</p>

 

Open Secret wurde entwickelt im Rahmen von dive in. Programm für digitale Interaktionen der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien (BKM) im Programm NEUSTART KULTUR.