Pause: Evelyn Taocheng Wang
What is he afraid of?
27–30 September 18

 

Opening: 26 September 18, 7 pm

Admission: 5 €, reduced 3 €

Free admission on Thursday evenings between 6–9 pm

Free admission to people up to the age of 18

 

<p>Evelyn Taocheng Wang, <em>Cool Smell Room</em>, 2018, Courtesy the artist</p>

Evelyn Taocheng Wang, Cool Smell Room, 2018, Courtesy the artist

 

The work of Evelyn Taocheng Wang (born 1981 in Chengdu, CN) emerges from an interest in what constitutes identity, as well as how one’s own body is culturally relative to—and intertwined with—autobiographical structures. For KW Institute for Contemporary Art’s series Pause, Wang will present a completely new body of work, consisting of two films and an installation of large-scale fabrics. Pause is envisioned as a platform to punctuate the program by presenting a singular installation for a short period of time in order to bridge relationships between the past, present and future.

 

The new work is a result of Wang’s reflection on differing versions of mythologies that derive from various origins and have been written, altered, edited, and retold over time in different cultural contexts, with a particular focus on the fairy tale of The Princess and the Frog. Across all of these contexts, the tale is closely related to questions of transformation and the idea that identity is fluid and adaptable.

 

Taking the notion of the fictionalization of characters as well as an actual architectural site, the exhibition becomes a space where narratives are translated into a spatial structure within KW’s main hall. The institution’s premises symbolize both the architecture of the body and its structure in the process of transformation.

 

Curators: Maurin Dietrich, Cathrin Mayer

 

 

 

<p>With kind support of the Dutch Embassy and Galerie Fons Welters, Amsterdam</p>
<p> </p>
<p> </p>

 

With kind support of the Dutch Embassy and Galerie Fons Welters, Amsterdam

 

 

 

<p><em>Pause: Evelyn Taocheng Wang</em> is part of <a href="http://www.berlinartweek.de">Berlin Art Week 2018.</a></p>

 

Pause: Evelyn Taocheng Wang is part of Berlin Art Week 2018.

Pause: Evelyn Taocheng Wang
What is he afraid of?
27.–30. September 18

 

Eröffnung: 26. September 18, 19 Uhr

 

<p>Eveyln Taocheng Wang, <em>Cool Smell Room</em>, 2018, Courtesy die Künstlerin</p>

Eveyln Taocheng Wang, Cool Smell Room, 2018, Courtesy die Künstlerin

 

Das Werk von Evelyn Taocheng Wang (*1981, CN) entwickelt sich aus der Fragestellung heraus, wie sich Identität konstituiert und wie der eigene Körper von autobiografischen Strukturen kulturell geprägt und durchzogen ist. Im Rahmen von Pause präsentiert Wang eine neue Werkserie in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, die sich aus zwei Filmen und einer Installation aus großformatigen Stoffen zusammensetzt. Das Format Pause fungiert als Unterbrechung des laufenden Ausstellungsprogramms der KW und stellt anhand von einzelnen Kunstwerken Verbindungen zwischen der Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft her.

 

Die von Wang neu produzierte Arbeit resultiert aus ihrer Reflexion über die Erzählweisen von Mythologien, die aus unterschiedlichen Quellen stammen und über kulturelle Kontexte und Jahre hinweg umgeschrieben, verändert, bearbeitet und neu erzählt wurden. Dabei rückt Wang das Märchen Die Prinzessin und der Frosch in den Fokus, da alle Versionen dieser Erzählung in einem engen Zusammenhang mit Fragen der Transformation und einem Verständnis von Identität stehen, die als fließend und anpassungsfähig begriffen wird.

 

Ausgehend von der Idee eines fiktionalisierten Charakters und der real vorgefundenen Architektur in den KW wird die Ausstellung so zu einem Ort, in dem Narrative in die räumliche Struktur der Halle übertragen werden. Die Räumlichkeiten der Institution werden zu einem Symbol für die Architektur des Körpers und seiner Struktur im Transformationsprozess.

 

Kuratorinnen: Maurin Dietrich, Cathrin Mayer

 

 

 

<p>Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande in Berlin und der Galerie Fons Welters, Amsterdam</p>
<p> </p>
<p> </p>

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande in Berlin und der Galerie Fons Welters, Amsterdam

 

 

 

<p><em>Pause: Evelyn Taocheng Wang</em> ist Teil der <a href="http://www.berlinartweek.de">Berlin Art Week 2018.</a></p>

 

Pause: Evelyn Taocheng Wang ist Teil der Berlin Art Week 2018.