Pause:
Every Ocean Hughes
Help the Dead
(After Ian White)

 

24 August 19, 5 pm and 7 pm 

25 August 19, 5 pm 

Venue: Hall

Admission: 5 € / reduced 3 €

In English

 

Tickets can be purchased online or at KW’s counter. Please note that capacity for this performance is limited. Booking is advised. No latecomers admitted.

 

 

<p>Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, <em>Help the Dead</em>, 2019</p>

Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, Help the Dead, 2019

 

Stockholm-based artist Every Ocean Hughes (EOH) presents Help the Dead—a new live art project that addresses self-determination, accountability, and the fantasy of continuity. Performed by Colin Self and Geo Wyeth, Help the Dead is part concert, part theatre, and draws inspiration from a series of death doula workshops which the artist attended during the past two years. In that time, EOH learned how to care for dead bodies and perform home funerals. Help the Dead considers “queer death,” mutual aid, and the societal aspects of surviving and dying on planet Earth in contemporary times.

 

*

 

Every Ocean Hughes, formerly known as Emily Roysdon, is an interdisciplinary artist and writer based in Stockholm. EOH’s recent projects have taken the form of live art, photography, printmaking, text, video, and curating. EOH was editor and co-founder of queer feminist journal and artist collective LTTR. Her many collaborations include writing lyrics for The Knife, Colin Self, and JD Samson & MEN, as well as designing costumes for Levi Gonzalez, Vanessa Anspaugh, Faye Driscoll, and Le Tigre. EOH will be a 2019/20 fellow at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University, Cambridge (US).

 

Colin Self is a composer and choreographer based in New York and Berlin. He creates music, performances, and environments to expand consciousness, trouble binaries and the boundaries of perception and communication. His recent work, The Elation Series, is a six-part sequential opera about queer family and global transfiguration. In 2015 he released his debut solo record Elation and toured with Radiohead as one third of the Holly Herndon trio. Self has presented his work at the Dutch National Opera, Amsterdam, HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin, New Museum, MoMA PS1, The Kitchen, Issue Project Room, New York, and other international festivals and venues.

 

Geo Wyeth is an artist and educator working in the realms of music, performance, narrative sculpture, and video. Their ongoing project Muck Studies Dept melds black/American music and history, extractive industry survey, and techniques of investigative journalism to trouble the swampy waters of race and memory. Wyeth teaches graduate performance practice at the Dutch Art Institute, Arnhem (NL) and composes music for film. Wyeth is a co-founder of the queer community space Tender Center, Rotterdam (NL), and is based between Rotterdam and New York.

 

Additional performances by Eli Berman, Sanni Est, Perel, Liz Rosenfeld, and Hari Stojan.
 

Help the Dead is the final installment of a three-part Pause series dedicated to Ian White (1971–2013). An artist, performer, curator, teacher and writer based in London and Berlin, White’s work responded critically to the role institutional infrastructures play in the production of art. The 2019 Pause program comprises Jimmy Robert, Emma Hedditch, and Every Ocean Hughes – three of White’s friends and collaborators. Each explore how their shared work and White’s legacy continues to inflect contemporary performance and collaboration.

 

Help the Dead is commissioned by Volt, Bergen (NO), and a co-produced by KW, with the support of Konstnärsnämnden, Stockholm, DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program, and The Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (US).

 

This year’s Pause series is also part of Reflect-Suspend-Dismantle, a year-long program around the work of Ian White, which takes place at various locations throughout 2019 within the city of Berlin, and is delivered in collaboration with curator Kirsty Bell and the Estate of Ian White, Arsenal Institute for Film and Video Art, and DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.

 

Curator: Mason Leaver-Yap

 

 

Exhibition Folder (PDF)

 

 

 

1/3
Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, <i>Help the Dead</i>, 2019.
Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, Help the Dead, 2019.
Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, <i>Help the Dead</i>, 2019.
Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, Help the Dead, 2019.
Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, <i>Help the Dead</i>, 2019.
Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, Help the Dead, 2019.

Pause:
Every Ocean Hughes
Help the Dead
(After Ian White)

 

24. August 19, 17 und 19 Uhr 

25. August 19, 17 Uhr 

Ort: Halle

Eintritt: 5 € / ermäßigt 3 €

In englischer Sprache

 

Tickets sind online und am Counter erhältlich. Wegen der begrenzten Platzanzahl empfehlen wir, Tickets vorab zu kaufen. Kein späterer Einlass möglich.

 

 

<p>Every Ocean Hughes und Bryce Wilner, <em>Help the Dead</em>, 2019</p>

Every Ocean Hughes und Bryce Wilner, Help the Dead, 2019

 

Die in Stockholm lebende Künstlerin Every Ocean Hughes (EOH) thematisiert in ihrem neuen Live Art– Projekt Help the Dead die Freiheit zur Selbstbestimmung, Verlässlichkeit und die Fantasie vom Leben nach dem Tod. Die von Colin Self und Geo Wyeth aufgeführte Performance ist teils Konzert, teils Theater und vereint Inspirationen zahlreicher Workshops, an denen die Künstlerin in den letzten zwei Jahren teilgenommen hat, um sich zur Sterbebegleiterin ausbilden zu lassen. In diesen Workshops lernte EOH, wie Totenversorgung und Hausbestattungen durchgeführt werden. Help the Dead untersucht den „queeren Tod“, gegenseitige Unterstützung und die gesellschaftlichen Aspekte irdischen Überlebens und Sterbens in der heutigen Zeit.

 

*

 

Every Ocean Hughes, bislang bekannt unter dem Namen Emily Roysdon, ist eine interdisziplinär arbeitende Künstlerin und Schriftstellerin mit Sitz in Stockholm. EOHs aktuelle Projekte finden in Form von Live Art-Performances statt und bedienen sich ferner der Fotografie, Druckgrafik, Text, Video und Kuration. Sie war Herausgeberin und Mitbegründerin des queerfeministischen Magazins und Künstler*innenkollektivs LTTR. EOH blickt auf zahlreiche Kollaborationen zurück, verfasste unter anderem Texte für The Knife, Colin Self, JD Samson & MEN und entwarf Kostüme für Levi Gonzalez, Vanessa Anspaugh, Faye Driscoll und Le Tigre. 2019–2020 ist EOH Fellow am Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study der Harvard University, Cambridge (US).

 

Colin Self ist Komponist und Choreograph und lebt in New York und Berlin. Er entwickelt Musik, Performances und Environments, um das Bewusstsein zu erweitern, tradierte binäre Ordnungen und die Grenzen der Wahrnehmung und Kommunikation zu stören. Sein jüngstes Werk, die sechsteilige Oper The Elation Series, widmet sich der Thematik der queeren Familie und globaler Verklärung. Im Jahr 2015 veröffentlichte Self sein Debütalbum Elation und tourte als Teil des Holly Herndon-Trios mit Radiohead. Seine Arbeiten wurden u.a. an der Niederländischen Nationaloper, Amsterdam, am HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin, im New Museum, MoMA PS1, Issue Project Room und bei The Kitchen, New York, und anderen Veranstaltungsorten präsentiert sowie auf internationalen Festivals gespielt.

 

Geo Wyeth ist als Künstler*in und Pädagog*in in den Bereichen Musik, Performance, narrativer Skulptur und Video tätig. Wyeths aktuelles Projekt Muck Studies Dept vereint Aspekte Schwarzer/amerikanischer Musik und Geschichte sowie die Betrachtung ausgelagerter Ökonomien mit Techniken investigativen Journalismus, um in den sumpfigen Gewässern nach Zugehörigkeit und Erinnerung zu bohren. Derzeit lehrt Wyeth Performance am Dutch Art Institute, Arnhem (NL) und komponiert Filmmusik. Wyeth ist Mitbegründer*in des queeren Projektraums Tender Center, Rotterdam (NL), und lebt zwischen Rotterdam und New York.

 

Weitere Auftritte von Eli Berman, Sanni Est, Perel, Liz Rosenfeld und Hari Stojan.

 

Help the Dead ist die letzte Veranstaltung der dreiteiligen Pause-Reihe, die dem verstorbenen Künstler Ian White (1971–2013) gewidmet ist. Als in London und Berlin lebender Künstler, Performer, Kurator, Lehrer und Autor reagierte White in seiner Arbeit kritisch auf die Rolle institutioneller Infrastrukturen in der Kunstproduktion. Seine Arbeit befasste sich oft mit der Frage, wie die Beschränkungen dieser Infrastrukturen durch Momente öffentlicher Performance offengelegt, auf die Probe gestellt und aufgebrochen werden können. Das Pause-Programm 2019 bezieht mit Jimmy Robert, Emma Hedditch und Every Ocean Hughes drei von Whites Wegbegleiter*innen und Kollaborateur*innen ein und erkundet, welchen Einfluss ihr gemeinsames Werk und Whites Nachlass weiterhin auf zeitgenössische Performances und zeitbasierte Formen der Zusammenarbeit haben.

 

Help the Dead wurde beauftragt von Volt, Bergen (NO), entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit den KW und wird gefördert von Konstnärsnämnden, Stockholm, dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD und dem Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (US).

 

Die Pause-Reihe ist Teil von Reflect-Suspend-Dismantle, einem einjährigen Programm rund um die Arbeit von Ian White, das 2019 an verschiedenen Orten in Berlin stattfindet. Pause entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit der Kuratorin Kirsty Bell und dem Nachlass von Ian White, dem Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst sowie dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD.

 

Kurator*in: Mason Leaver-Yap

 

 

Faltblatt zur Ausstellung (PDF)

 

 

 

1/3
Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, <i>Help the Dead</i>, 2019.
Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, Help the Dead, 2019.
Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, <i>Help the Dead</i>, 2019.
Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, Help the Dead, 2019.
Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, <i>Help the Dead</i>, 2019.
Every Ocean Hughes and Bryce Wilner, Help the Dead, 2019.