Pause: Jimmy Robert
(After Ian White)
Joie noire
19–20 January 19

 

In the framework of Pause the performance Joie noire takes place on

19 January 19, 8 pm

20 January 19, 8 pm

 

Please note that the event starts at 8 pm sharp. Admission after this time is not possible.

 

Admission: 5 € / 3 € reduced

No tickets anymore. Tickets for the performance Joie noire by Jimmy Robert are sold out.

 

<p class="_3vFF3xH4Yd" dir="ltr" data-test="textbox">Jimmy Robert, 2018, research still, Charles James adjusting a black crepe gown on Juan Fernandez, photo by Bill Cunningham in: Douglas Crimp, <em>Before Pictures</em>, 2016</p>

Jimmy Robert, 2018, research still, Charles James adjusting a black crepe gown on Juan Fernandez, photo by Bill Cunningham in: Douglas Crimp, Before Pictures, 2016

 

Berlin-based artist Jimmy Robert (born in 1975, Guadeloupe, FR) presents Joie noire, a performance that uses KW as a stage to investigate the worlds of disco and death. Robert’s new work starts with an examination of two bodies in the context of the history of clubbing, and asks: What is the nature of a body’s visibility? What is the role of desire? What and who remains when the party is over? And how will the show go on? Considering the nightclub as a space of rhythm and sensuality, as well as assessing its potential to host underground celebration, Joie noire dissects elements of club culture. It blocks out the white light of the gallery to embrace the vernacular of the dancefloor, and by this means opens up a critical meditation on the legacy of the 1980s with specific regard to AIDS, activism, gender and race. Joie noire is produced with support from The Hunterian, University of Glasgow, and Tanya Leighton Gallery, Berlin. Thanks to Susanna Kirschnick and Christine Fenzl at gOlab, and Dominic Paterson.

 

This performance is the first in a three-part Pause series dedicated to the late Ian White (1971–2013) and comprises work by White’s friends and collaborative associates—Jimmy Robert, Emma Hedditch, and Every Ocean Hughes. An artist, performer, curator, teacher and writer based in London and Berlin, White’s work responded critically to the role of institutional infrastructures in the production of art. His work often raised the question how the limits of these infrastructures could be exposed, tested and disrupted through moments of public performance. The 2019 Pause program will explore how White’s legacy continues to influence contemporary performance and durational collaboration. The 2019 Pause series is part of Reflect-Suspend-Dismantle, a year-long program around the work of Ian White, which takes place at various locations in Berlin, and is delivered in collaboration with curator Kirsty Bell, Arsenal Institute for Film and Video Art, DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program, and the Estate of Ian White.

 

Jimmy Robert’s multidisciplinary practice encompasses performance, photography and film. His work often explores the politics of spectatorship, reworking canonical and avant-garde performances and hereby challenging their racial and gendered readings. Recent solo exhibitions include Jeu de Paume, Paris (2012); Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago, (2012); Power Plant, Toronto, (2013); Museum M, Leuven (2015); La Synagogue De Delme, France (2016); Western Front, Vancouver, and Peer Gallery, London (both in 2017). Robert’s performances have been presented at Tate Britain, London, (2004); MoMA, New York (2014) and Migros Museum, Zurich (2015). Robert’s most recent performance work Imitation of Lives was co-commissioned by Performa17 and the Glass House, and took place in New York in November 2017. Robert lives and works in Berlin.

 

Curator: Mason Leaver-Yap

Pause: Jimmy Robert
(After Ian White)
Joie noire
19.–20. Januar 19

 

Im Rahmen von Pause findet die Performance Joie noire an folgenden Terminen statt:

19. Januar 19, 20 Uhr

20. Januar 19, 20 Uhr

 

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Veranstaltung um pünktlich 20 Uhr beginnt. Ein Nacheinlass ist nicht möglich.

 

Eintritt: 5 € / 3 € ermäßigt 
Für die Perfromance Joie noire von Jimmy Robert sind leider keine Tickets mehr erhältlich.

 

<p>Jimmy Robert, 2018, Recherchebild, Juan Fernandez bei der Anprobe eines schwarzen Kleides in Anwesenheit von Charles James, Foto: Bill Cunningham, in: Douglas Crimp, <em>Before Pictures</em>, 2016</p>

Jimmy Robert, 2018, Recherchebild, Juan Fernandez bei der Anprobe eines schwarzen Kleides in Anwesenheit von Charles James, Foto: Bill Cunningham, in: Douglas Crimp, Before Pictures, 2016

 

Für seine Performance Joie noire nutzt der in Berlin lebende Künstler Jimmy Robert (geb. 1975, Guadeloupe, FR) die KW als Bühne, um die Welten von Disko und Tod zu untersuchen. Ausgehend von der Untersuchung zweier Körper im Kontext der Geschichte des Clubbing setzt sich Robert mit der Sichtbarkeit des Körpers, der Rolle des Verlangens und den Überresten nach einer Party auseinander. Wie wird die Show weitergehen? In Joie noire werden Elemente der Clubkultur analysiert und der Nachtclub als Ort des Rhythmus und der Sinnlichkeit, sein Potenzial, Untergrund-Partys zu beherbergen, untersucht. Das helle Ausstellungslicht wird abgedunkelt, um den Jargon der Tanzfläche aufzugreifen und eine kritische Betrachtung des Vermächtnisses der 1980er Jahre im Hinblick auf AIDS, Aktivismus, Gender und Herkunft vorzunehmen.

 

Als Auftakt der einzelnen Ausstellungsblöcke präsentieren die KW eine dreiteilige Pause-Reihe, die dem verstorbenen Künstler Ian White (1971–2013) gewidmet ist. Als in London und Berlin lebender Künstler, Performer, Kurator, Pädagoge und Autor reagierte White in seiner Arbeit kritisch auf die Rolle institutioneller Infrastrukturen in der Kunstproduktion. Seine Arbeit befasste sich oft mit der Frage, wie die Beschränkungen dieser Infrastrukturen durch Momente öffentlicher Performance offengelegt, auf die Probe gestellt und aufgebrochen werden können. Das Pause-Programm für 2019 bezieht mit Jimmy Robert, Emma Hedditch und Every Ocean Hughes drei von Whites Wegbegleiter*innen und Kollaborateur*innen ein und erkundet, welchen Einfluss ihr gemeinsames Werk und Whites Nachlass weiterhin auf zeitgenössische Performances und zeitbasierte Formen der Zusammenarbeit haben. Die Pause-Reihe ist Teil von Reflect-Suspend-Dismantle, einem einjährigen Programm rund um die Arbeit von Ian White, das 2019 an verschiedenen Orten in Berlin stattfinden wird. Pause entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit der Kuratorin Kirsty Bell, dem Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst, dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD sowie dem Nachlass von Ian White. Joie noire wird mit Unterstützung von The Hunterian, University of Glasgow, und der Galerie Tanya Leighton, Berlin produziert. Besonderer Dank gilt Susanna Kirschnick und Christine Fenzl von gOLab und Dominic Paterson.

 

Roberts multidisziplinäre Praxis umfasst Performance, Fotografie und Film. In seinen Werken erforscht er oft die Rolle des Zuschauers, indem er tradierte und Avantgarde-Performances neu aufarbeitet und so deren rassistische und genderspezifische Lesarten herausfordert. Roberts jüngste Einzelausstellungen wurden bei Western Front, Vancouver, der Peer Gallery, London (2017), La Synagogue De Delme (2016), im Museum M, Leuven (2015),  Power Plant, Toronto (2013), im Jeu de Paume, Paris (2012) und im Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago (2012) gezeigt. Seine Performances wurden u.a. im Migros Museum, Zürich (2015), im Museum of Modern Art, New York (2014) und in der Tate Britain, London (2004) präsentiert. Roberts jüngste Performance-Arbeit Imitation of Lives, die von Performa17 und The Glass House kommissioniert wurde, fand im November 2017 in New York statt. Robert lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

 

Kurator*in: Mason Leaver-Yap

 

 

Faltblatt zur Ausstellung (PDF)

 

 

1/5
Jimmy Robert, Joie noire, Performance mit Courtney Henry in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2019, Berlin, Courtesy der Künstler, Foto: Frank Sperling
Jimmy Robert, Joie noire, Performance mit Courtney Henry in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2019, Berlin, Courtesy der Künstler, Foto: Frank Sperling
Jimmy Robert, Joie noire, Performance mit Courtney Henry in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2019, Berlin, Courtesy der Künstler, Foto: Frank Sperling
Jimmy Robert, Joie noire, Performance mit Courtney Henry in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2019, Berlin, Courtesy der Künstler, Foto: Frank Sperling
Jimmy Robert, Joie noire, Performance mit Courtney Henry in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2019, Berlin, Courtesy der Künstler, Foto: Frank Sperling
Jimmy Robert, Joie noire, Performance mit Courtney Henry in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2019, Berlin, Courtesy der Künstler, Foto: Frank Sperling
Jimmy Robert, Joie noire, Performance mit Courtney Henry in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2019, Berlin, Courtesy der Künstler, Foto: Frank Sperling
Jimmy Robert, Joie noire, Performance mit Courtney Henry in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2019, Berlin, Courtesy der Künstler, Foto: Frank Sperling
Jimmy Robert, Joie noire, Performance mit Courtney Henry in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2019, Berlin, Courtesy der Künstler, Foto: Frank Sperling
Jimmy Robert, Joie noire, Performance mit Courtney Henry in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2019, Berlin, Courtesy der Künstler, Foto: Frank Sperling