Pause: Lydia Ourahmane
sync
1 –2 October 22

 

Venue: KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Main Hall

11 am–11 am, continuously (24 hours)

 

<p>Lydia Ourahmane, <em>sync</em>, 2022. Courtesy the artist and Daniel Blumberg</p>

Lydia Ourahmane, sync, 2022. Courtesy the artist and Daniel Blumberg

 

Lydia Ourahmane (b. 1992, DZ) creates a site-specific installation at KW Institute for Contemporary Art. This new commission is a continuation of the artist’s ongoing engagement with the emotional, psychological, and political correlations between material, body, and place. Comprising approaches to composition and performance, the work engages her relation to rituals and the notion of permanence. KW’s invitation poses a challenge for Ourahmane to reflect on the transcendence of matter and the many deceptions of eternity.

Ourahmane’s installation will materialize in a one time-intensive event discussing permanence as a non-tangible, yet an embodied matter sitting between myth and endurance. Ourahmane’s approach questions how continuity is both reflected in the opportunity of coexistence as well as our fellow inscription of meaning and affection onto one another, while simultaneously being defined by its exhaustion, its breaking point, its rupture—and how it becomes a way of reflecting and challenging the continuum of personal and broader histories.

 

For this extended event, the doors to KW’s main hall will remain open for 24 consecutive hours, interrogating the endurance of visitors and artist alike. Visitors are invited to engage in the creation of an in-progress immersive sonic composition orchestrated by each participants’ heart beats.

 

Curator: Sofie Krogh Christensen

Curatorial Assistance: Nikolas Brummer

 

The Pause series serves as a platform to disrupt the regular program of KW by presenting singular artworks for a short period of time that create connections between the past, present, and future.

 

As part of

 

Pause-series

Pause: Lydia Ourahmane
sync
1. – 2. Oktober 22

 

Ort: KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Haupthalle

11–11 Uhr durchgehend (24 Stunden)

 

<p>Lydia Ourahmane, <em>sync</em>, 2022. Courtesy die Künstlerin und Daniel Blumberg</p>

Lydia Ourahmane, sync, 2022. Courtesy die Künstlerin und Daniel Blumberg

 

Lydia Ourahmane (geb. 1992, DZ) schafft eine ortsspezifische Installation in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art. Diese neue Auftragsarbeit ist eine Fortsetzung der kontinuierlichen Auseinandersetzung der Künstlerin mit den emotionalen, psychologischen und politischen Zusammenhängen zwischen Material, Körper und Ort. Die Arbeit umfasst Ansätze zur Komposition und Performance und setzt sich mit ihrer Beziehung zu Ritualen und der Vorstellung von Dauerhaftigkeit auseinander. Die Einladung der KW stellt für Ourahmane eine Herausforderung dar, über die Transzendenz der Materie und die vielen Täuschungen der Ewigkeit nachzudenken.

 

Ourahmanes Installation wird sich in einer einmaligen Veranstaltung materialisieren, die Dauerhaftigkeit als nicht greifbare, aber verkörperte Materie zwischen Mythos und Dauerhaftigkeit diskutiert. Ourahmanes Ansatz hinterfragt, wie sich Kontinuität sowohl in der Fähigkeit zur Koexistenz als auch in unserer gegenseitigen Zuschreibung von Sinn und Verbundenheit widerspiegelt, während sie gleichzeitig durch ihre Erschöpfung, ihre Bruchstelle und ihren Bruch definiert wird – und wie sie zu einer Möglichkeit wird, das Kontinuum persönlicher und allgemeiner Geschichten zu reflektieren und herauszufordern.

 

Für diese ausgedehnte Veranstaltung werden die Türen der KW-Haupthalle 24 Stunden lang geöffnet bleiben, um die Ausdauer von Besucher*innen und Künstlerin gleichermaßen zu befragen. Die Besucher*innen sind eingeladen, sich an der Entstehung einer immersiven Klangkomposition zu beteiligen, die aus den Herzschlägen der Teilnehmer*innen erzeugt wird.

 

Kuratorin: Sofie Krogh Christensen

Kuratorischer Assistent: Nikolas Brummer

 

Die Pause-Reihe fungiert als Unterbrechung des laufenden Programms und stellt anhand einzelner künstlerischer Arbeiten Verbindungen zwischen der Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft her. 

 

 

Teil der

 

Pause-Reihe