Pia Arke
Arctic Hysteria
6 July – 20 October 24

 
<div class="page" title="Page 2">
<div class="layoutArea">
<div class="column">
<p>Pia Arke, Selvportræt (Self-Portrait), Photography, 1992. Courtesy Pia Arke Estate. Private collection, on long-term loan at Louisiana Museum of Modern Art © Pia Arke Estate.</p>
</div>
</div>
</div>

Pia Arke, Selvportræt (Self-Portrait), Photography, 1992. Courtesy Pia Arke Estate. Private collection, on long-term loan at Louisiana Museum of Modern Art © Pia Arke Estate.

 

KW, in collaboration with the John Hansard Gallery, Southampton (UK), presents the first solo exhibition of works by artist Pia Arke (1958–2007) to be shown outside of Kalaallit Nunaat, also known as Greenland, and the Nordic countries.

 

From the late 1980s until the beginning of the 2000s, Pia Arke mapped the intricate relations between time, memory, space, identity, and myth in pictures of and from Greenland. Born to a Greenlandic Inuk mother and a Danish father, she wove biographical components of her own complex history into her work. Rendered in Arke’s own words, her images are about the silence that envelopes the ties between Greenland and Denmark, and how she herself was born into that silence. Arke consciously slips between the roles of artist, ethnographer, and explorer, while drawing on different historical, vernacular and archival sources. She is considered a pioneering voice in the decolonial discourses in the Nordic and Arctic regions and continues to influence them today.

 

Arctic Hysteria takes its title from an influential work series by Pia Arke and brings together her photographic, sculptural, performative and written work, as well as her work on paper. It aims to shed light on the narratives enclosing the colonial relations between Greenland and Denmark, as seen through Arke’s works, and to open it up to a discussion of continuing colonial structures at large. While Arke’s practice is born from the bind between the two countries, it unfolds as a struc-tural feminist critique. Arctic Hysteria revolves around her methods as projected through the body, in particular Arke’s use of performative strategies—montage, staging, re-enactment—with which she attempted to create a sense of belonging and critical self-reflection.

 

The exhibition is accompanied by an extensive publication with newly commissioned texts to discuss different aspects of Arke’s practice within an international discourse, with an emphasis on voices of contemporary feminist researchers.

 

Curator: Sofie Krogh Christensen

Academic Trainee: Aykon Süslü

 

 

The exhibition at KW is supported by the New Carlsberg Foundation.

 

<p> </p>
<p> </p>
<p>The exhibition and publication are produced in collaboration with John Hansard Gallery, Southampton (UK).</p>

 

 

 

The exhibition and publication are produced in collaboration with John Hansard Gallery, Southampton (UK).

Pia Arke
Arctic Hysteria
6. Juli – 20. Oktober 24

 
<div class="page" title="Page 2">
<div class="layoutArea">
<div class="column">
<p>Pia Arke, Selvportræt (Selbstportrait), Fotografie, 1992. Courtesy Pia Arke Estate. Privatsammlung, Langzeitleihgabe im Lousiana Museum of Modern Art © Pia Arke Estate.</p>
</div>
</div>
</div>

Pia Arke, Selvportræt (Selbstportrait), Fotografie, 1992. Courtesy Pia Arke Estate. Privatsammlung, Langzeitleihgabe im Lousiana Museum of Modern Art © Pia Arke Estate.

 

Die KW präsentieren in Zusammenarbeit mit der John Hansard Gallery, Southampton (UK), die erste Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin Pia Arke (1958–2007) außerhalb von Kalaallit Nunaat (Grönland) und den nordischen Ländern.

 

Von Ende der 1980er- bis Anfang der 2000er-Jahre hat Pia Arke die komplizierten Beziehungen zwischen Zeit, Erinnerung, Raum, Identität und Mythos in Bildern von und aus Grönland kartiert. Als Tochter einer grönländischen Mutter und eines dänischen Vaters ließ sie dabei biografische Komponenten ihrer eigenen komplexen Geschichte einfließen. In ihren Bildern geht es, mit Arkes eigenen Worten, um das Schweigen, das die Verbindungen zwischen Grönland und Dänemark umgibt, und darum, wie sie selbst in dieses Schweigen hineingeboren wurde. Arke bewegt sich dabei bewusst zwischen den Rollen der Künstlerin, Ethnografin und Forscherin hin und her und bedient sich verschiedener historischer, volkstümlicher und archivarischer Quellen. Sie gilt als Pionierin des dekolonialistischen Diskurses in den nordischen Ländern und der Arktis und beeinflusst diesen bis heute.

 

Der Titel Arctic Hysteria (arktische Hysterie) ist einer einflussreichen Werkreihe Pia Arkes entnommen. Die Ausstellung vereint fotografische, skulpturale, performative und schriftstellerische Werke sowie Arbeiten der Künstlerin auf Papier. Es werden die in Arkes Werken verarbeiteten Narrative beleuchtet, die sich um die kolonialen Beziehungen zwischen Grönland und Dänemark ranken, auch um eine Diskussion über fortbestehende koloniale Strukturen im Allgemeinen anzustoßen. Arkes künstlerische Praxis ist zwar aus der Verbindung der beiden Länder hervorgegangen, entfaltet sich jedoch als eine strukturelle feministische Kritik. Arctic Hysteria widmet sich Arkes durch den Körper vermittelten Methoden, insbesondere ihrem Einsatz performativer Strategien wie Montage, Inszenierung und Reinszenierung, mit denen sie versuchte, ein Gefühl der Zugehörigkeit und kritischen Selbstreflexion zu erzeugen.

 

Die Ausstellung wird von einer umfangreichen Publikation mit neuen Texten begleitet, der verschiedene Aspekte von Arkes Praxis in einem internationalen Diskurs erörtert, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf Stimmen aus der zeitgenössischen feministischen Forschung liegt.

 

Kuratorin: Sofie Krogh Christensen

Wissenschaftlicher Volontär: Aykon Süslü

 

 

Die Ausstellung in den KW wird gefördert durch die New Carlsberg Foundation.

 

<p> </p>
<p> </p>
<p>Die Ausstellung und die zugehörige Publikation werden in Zusammenarbeit mit der John Hansard Gallery, Southampton (UK) realisiert.</p>

 

 

 

Die Ausstellung und die zugehörige Publikation werden in Zusammenarbeit mit der John Hansard Gallery, Southampton (UK) realisiert.