Poetics of Encryption
Workshop Special:
Decoding Embodiment: Somatic Exercises in the exhibition
FULLY BOOKED

 

with Alvin Collantes and Thesea Rigou

 

26 April 24, 5–7 pm

 

In English

Registration via mediation@kw-berlin.de

Participation included in the exhibition ticket. Limited capacity.

 

<p>Photo: Luisa Orduno Cazares</p>
<p> </p>

Photo: Luisa Orduno Cazares

 

 

In this practical workshop, moderated by Alvin Collantes and Thesea Rigou, participants are invited to encounter the exhibition Poetics of Encryption through bodily impulses and movement. In the span of two hours, Alvin and Thesea will introduce individual and collective exercises that relate to specific artworks and themes of the exhibition. Everyone, regardless of their abilities, are welcome to participate. Wear comfortable clothes and shoes. The meeting point of this workshop is the Ticket Counter of KW. The main language of the workshop is English. 

 

Alvin Collantes is a Filipino-Canadian dance artist, drag performer and certified Gaga teacher based in Berlin. Drawing from his personal experiences as queer, immigrant and a person of color, his work explores topics of assimilation and physical sensations of marginalized bodies in queer communities. He facilitates dance floor spaces in Berlin that centres on the body as a radical collaborator into the space of building inclusivity, solidarity and community. 

 

Thesea Rigou (*1997, Cyprus) is an artist, gardener and art educator based in Pankow. They are a graduate of the Weißensee Academy of Art Berlin, and are currently working in art education in various Museums in Berlin. Their artistic practice explores current socioecological issues in installations, performances, and printmaking. Thesea enjoys designing site-specific and/or age-specific educational formats and has extensive experience in collective and self-organised work.

Poetics of Encryption
Workshop Special:
Decoding Embodiment: Somatische Übungen in der Ausstellung
AUSGEBUCHT

 

mit Alvin Collantes und Thesea Rigou

 

26. April 24, 17–19 Uhr

 

In englischer Sprache

Ort: KW Institute for Contemporary Art

Anmeldung via mediation@kw-berlin.de

Teilnahme in Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen. Begrenzte Teilnehmer*innenzahl.

 

<p>Foto: Luisa Orduno Cazares</p>
<p> </p>

Foto: Luisa Orduno Cazares

 

 

In diesem praktischen Workshop, der von Alvin Collantes und Thesea Rigou moderiert wird, sind die Teilnehmer*innen eingeladen, die Ausstellung Poetics of Encryption durch körperliche Impulse und Bewegung zu erleben. Innerhalb der zwei Stunden werden Alvin und Thesea individuelle und kollektive Übungen vorstellen, die sich auf bestimmte Kunstwerke und Themen der Ausstellung beziehen. Alle sind unabhängig von Ihren Fähigkeiten eingeladen mitzumachen. Kommt in bequemer Kleidung und Schuhen. Treffpunkt ist der Ticketschalter der KW. Der Workshop findet hauptsächlich in englischer Sprache statt. 

 

Alvin Collantes ist ein philippinisch-kanadischer Tanzkünstler, Drag-Performer und zertifizierter Gaga-Lehrer mit Sitz in Berlin. Basierend auf seinen persönlichen Erfahrungen als Queer, Immigrant und Person of colour erforscht seine Arbeit Themen der Assimilation und der körperlichen Empfindungen marginalisierter Körper in queeren Gemeinschaften. Er ermöglicht Tanzflächen in Berlin, die sich auf den Körper als radikalen Mitwirkenden beim Aufbau von Inklusivität, Solidarität und Gemeinschaft konzentrieren.

 

Thesea Rigou (*1997, Zypern) ist eine in Pankow ansässige Künstler*in, Gärtner*in und Kunstvermittler*in. Thesea ist Absolvent*in der Kunsthochschule Berlin Weißensee und arbeitet derzeit in der Kunstvermittlung in verschiedenen Berliner Museen. Theseas künstlerische Praxis beschäftigt sich mit aktuellen sozioökologischen Fragestellungen in Installationen, Performances und Druckgrafiken. Thesea gestaltet gerne ortsspezifische und/oder altersspezifische Bildungsformate und verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrungen in der kollektiven und selbstorganisierten Arbeit.