REALTY
STATECRAFT

 

14–18 November 18: Closed-door workshops

Venue: KW Studio

16 November 18, 6–8 pm: Public presentations

Venue: ExRotaPrint, Gottschedstraße 4, 13357 Berlin

17 November 18, 1­–7.30 pm: Public presentations

Venue: ExRotaPrint, Gottschedstraße 4, 13357 Berlin

 

 

<p>Repurposing Contemporary Art, with Agendas in Mind Beyond Contemporary Art</p>
<p>Image: svgsilh.com</p>

Repurposing Contemporary Art, with Agendas in Mind Beyond Contemporary Art

Image: svgsilh.com

 

The REALTY program addresses the art field’s complicity with the ongoing financialization and gentrification of city space. Contemporary Art plays a well-documented role in the way cities are being redeveloped and governed. In essence, REALTY argues that any shift in this role would require a change in the economic and ideological ground Contemporary Art stands on.

More

After all, broke artists will not stop servicing real estate. The Right to the City is not an option while Frequent Flying remains our best-case scenario. And theorists and curators who believe in limbo and tricksterism will only make things worse.
Some argue that it’s a perfect time to jump ship. At this point, Contemporary Art is a fast-growing infrastructure that values its own planetary expansion over all else. In terms of core concerns, its investment in opacity and creative disruption is as obvious as its disregard for positioning and grounding. This makes it an ideal vessel for deregulation agendas across the world; in terms of capital flow, labor conditions, the financialization of space and otherwise.
Others seem to think we can still repurpose the field for better ends. And that other types of Kunstbegriff would allow us to redefine the forms of governance we are partaking in currently. What would an art look like that is not as cynical and exploitative? What sonics of intelligence would apply? Which structures of support are required? STATECRAFT aims for pragmatic answers to this rather dramatic set of questions.

STATECRAFT features closed-door workshops as well as a public program. The latter will include choice selections from the web TV channel realty-v, an artist commission by Christopher Roth, featuring propagandistic vignettes, theoretical pictures, and archival materials.

 

REALTY is curated by Tirdad Zolghadr and supported by KW and the Sommerakademie Paul Klee Bern. So far, the program has taken the shape of public events, a university seminar, artist commissions, semi-formal working groups and a research stipend. While STATECRAFT anticipates imminent moments of art-ontological change, SPACECRAFT is a REALTY conference a few days prior – 8 to 13 November – focusing on corresponding co-ownership and cross-financialization strategies for the here and now.

https://space-time.tv/realty-v

http://realtynow.online/

 

 

 

 

STATECRAFT Public Program
16–17 November 18
ExRotaprint

 

Venue: Project space „Glaskiste“, ExRotaprint, Gottschedstr. 4, 13357 Berlin

Admission: 3/5/8 €

 

16 November 18, 6–8 pm, Victoria Ivanova, Suhail Malik, Daniela Brahm, Les Schliesser and guests, roundtable

Exit? (in English)

Contemporary Art is gaining ground by the minute. Nothing seems to hinder its growing worldwide success. And wherever it is already established, “defending the space of art” becomes a moral objective in its own right. Considering what the artworld actually embodies in moral terms, this is all very surprising. Now the good news is: you can always leave. Or you can attempt to channel the resources of Contemporary Art towards new-fangled objectives. This evening conversation aims for a clarification of terms among those who, in some form or another, have been attempting the latter. Could terms such as regulation, didacticism, instrumentalization and even propaganda be worth revisiting here?

 

17 November 18, 1 pm, Tirdad Zolghadr

STATECRAFT, REALTY, Contemporary Art – an introduction (in English)

 

17 November 18, 1.45 pm, Suhail Malik, lecture 

After Gentrification: what and to whom are the allegiances of artists in the anti-gentrification mandate? (in English)

Gentrification was meant to save cities from their deindustrialised decline. Yet even its advocates now recognise gentrification to present a threat to the vitality of the postindustrial city. Constraints on gentrification are entering the policy space, as is anti-gentrification. Protecting spaces and rents for low-income sectors like artworkers and creative entrepreneurs is now on the agenda for global cities. This talk examines whether and how this revision to the gentrification programme can extend beyond the self-regarding interests of the creative class. In particular, how can the artfield deploy its privileges to serve the interests of those who are the primary casualties of the inequalities reinforced by creative-led gentrification: typically, an under-capitalised demographic with historically low income and low social mobility. 

 

17 November 18, 3.30 pm, Kristel Raesaar, lecture 

Redistributing Risk – Tuleva as Case Study (in English)

Tuleva is a cooperative fintech that has changed Estonia’s financial landscape from within. Instead of paying high fees for bank owned services, Tuleva’s 4000 members have started their own automated pension fund. Within 18 months of obtaining its license, the fund already has 70 million euros under management. With no third party investors, Tuleva’s users are also its owners. Each member’s vote is of equal weight, regardless of capital contribution. What potential does such a structure hold and what types of challenges does it create? Could Tuleva’s model be useful for addressing power asymmetries within Contemporary Art’s ecology?

 

17 November 18, 4 pm, Renzo Martens, lecture

Reverse Gentrification (in English)

In 2012, Martens established the Institute for Human Activities (IHA) and its Reverse Gentrification Program in DR Congo. Together with the plantation workers of Cercle d’Art des Travailleurs de Plantation Congolaise (CATPC) he uses artistic critique to redress economic inequality—not symbolically, but in material terms. Consequently, they opened a OMA-designed White Cube on a former Unilever plantation in 2017, meant to further attract capital. The work of the CATPC has recently been shown in a solo exhibition in SculptureCenter New York, and in the 21st Biennale of Sydney.

 

17 November 18, 5.30 pm, Christopher Kulendran Thomas, lecture

New Eelam (in English)

New Eelam is a long-term artwork in the form of a startup—a real estate technology company founded by the artist Christopher Kulendran Thomas to develop a new form of housing, based on collective co-ownership, rather than individually owned private property. Originated in collaboration with curator Annika Kuhlmann, the venture takes as a starting point the art field’s involvement in the global processes through which cities around the world are transformed. In this lecture, Kulendran Thomaswill be addressing his ongoing project as an attempt to reconfigure what art can actually doin the world, structurally speaking.

 

17 November 18, 6 pm, Rachel Rosenfelt, lecture

Rhetorical Software (in English)

Rachel Rosenfelt is a founding member of “Dark Inquiry”, a coalition of technologists, artists, writers, and investigative researchers who aim to expose the anti-human logic of dominant technologies, and re-channel their momentum toward more egalitarian ends. The coalition’s experiments have been termed “rhetorical software”, and can amount to an app, a bot, or a successful, concerted media campaign with nationwide leverage. The aim being to produce agency through collective effort, using written language strategically as an asset, beyond its remit of representation alone.

 

 

STATECRAFT Workshops
14–18 November 18
KW Studio

 

Workshop space is limited. Please RSVP at reservation@kw-berlin.de.

 

14 November 18, 1–3.30 pm, Friederike Landau 

Cultures, Codes, Contingencies: Exploring the (Im)Possibilities of City-Political Positionings Among Cultural Actors in Berlin (workshop in German)
Art’s freedom of use and purpose is a signifier that is as untouchable as it is empty. How should the freedom of art be thought or pursued within structures of political and administrative rulings? Who could regulate art’s freedoms – how, why, and for how long?  How do art’s conditions of production change within a context of urban developments marked by financialization, commercialization and growing social polarities? This workshop addresses the crossroads between city- and cultural policies; the aim being to discuss which forms of local political engagement might be pursued by cultural producers and art institutions in Berlin today. A discussion which will touch on well-known tensions between artists, administrators, parliament and real estate. But more importantly, it will equally address the question of which cultural-political strategies, which approaches and attitudes, which road maps or ethical codes would be feasible here, in order to better ground the ambivalent positions of cultural protagonists, both reflexively and politically speaking.

 

15 November 18, 3pm–late, Marion von Osten — at Haus der Statistik Pavillon, Karl Marx Allee 1, 10178 Berlin

Dovecote (workshop in German)

Which formats of contemporary art allow for a production of knowledge that goes beyond the ritualized boundaries of exhibition spaces, catalog texts and artist talks? To what extent is a combination of intellectual ambition, political passion, and professional endurance within the art world still realistic? Through a playful combination of guest speakers and collective sculpture manufacturing, Dovecote aims to at least briefly bridge the gap between discourse and production. In this workshop, Herzog & de Meuron’s expansion of the Tate Modern—the former Bankside power plant in London— will be used to discuss the architectural displacement of animals. Practical, everyday strategies are being developed that can prevent or even reverse bird control measures on facades and in squares. The history of the urban domestication and exploitation of the pigeon serves as a starting point to rethink forms of displacement from an applied bird’s eye perspective.

 

16 November 18, 1.30–4 pm, Kristel Raesaar

Reclaiming Risk – Tuleva as Case Study (in English)

How do art’s infrastructures redistribute risk and value? What is needed to imagine possible shifts, however small? In a financialised world risk aversion makes us pay to secure certain loss. Potential returns, on the other hand, are often diluted between multiple agents, or seem unquantifiable altogether. Thus we leave the profits unattended for third parties to seize. The 4000 members of the cooperative fintech Tuleva are scouring Estonia’s financial domain for ways to reverse this dynamic. Could Tuleva’s model serve as a prototype for redesigning some of contemporary art’s institutions? Very hard to say.

 

18 November 18, 10 am–12.30 pm, Renzo Martens & Suhail Malik

Financializing Critique (in English)

The Institute for Human Activities operates within a difficult space marked by unadulterated economic and colonial violence. It attempts to find leeway by redefining the function of the White Cube within global value chains, and instating new forms of collective ownership of farmland. Among the many challenges here, we find the difficult question of how to counteract the financialisation of plantations, by financializing the production identity and critique instead. Our morning workshop attempts to tackle this challenge head-on, with the help of both Martens and respondent Suhail Malik.

 

18 November 18, 2–4.30 pm, Rachel Rosenfelt

Authorship and Post-Authorship – Strategically Speaking (in English)
Based on her lecture on Rhetorical Software, Rosenfelt addresses questions of authorship and sustainability in non-institutionalized settings, this in cross-comparison to her work as publisher and vice-President of the New Republic Magazine. To this day, the currency of the creator-as-individual is still surprisingly instrumental to the field of art & culture. With dire consequences in terms of labor, co-ownership and sustainability. But even though authorship needs to be revisited – might this be conducted in a manner that does not squander the cultural capital that hinges upon it?

REALTY
STATECRAFT

 

14.–18. November 18: Geschlossene Workshops

Ort: KW Studio

16. November 18, 18–20 Uhr: Öffentliche Vorträge

Ort: ExRotaprint, Gottschedstraße 4, 13357 Berlin

17. November 18, 13­–19.30 Uhr: Öffentliche Vorträge

Ort: ExRotaprint, Gottschedstraße 4, 13357 Berlin

 

<p class="BodyA">Zielsetzungen für die zeitgenössische Kunst, die über die Kunst hinausgehen </p>
<p>Bild: svgsilh.com</p>

Zielsetzungen für die zeitgenössische Kunst, die über die Kunst hinausgehen 

Bild: svgsilh.com

 

Das REALTY-Programm thematisiert die Mitverantwortung des Kunstfeldes an der Gentrifizierung und Finanzialisierung des urbanen Raums. Zeitgenössische Kunst spielt eine umfassend dokumentierte Rolle bei der Neuentwicklung und Regulierung von Städten. Grundsätzlich argumentiert REALTY, dass jede Rollenveränderung einen Wandel an der ökonomischen und ideologischen Basis der zeitgenössischen Kunst voraussetzen würde.

Mehr

Schließlich werden blanke Künstler*innen nicht davon absehen, dem Immobilienmarkt in die Hände zu spielen. Das Recht auf Stadt kann nicht eingelöst werden, solange Vielfliegerei das „Bestcase-Szenario“ darstellt. Und Theoretiker*innen und Kurator*innen, die an Narrenfreiheit glauben, machen alles nur noch schlimmer.

Manche behaupten, es sei ein guter Zeitpunkt, sich zu verabschieden. Die zeitgenössische Kunst ist zu einer schnell wachsenden Infrastruktur geworden, der die eigene weltweite Expansion mehr als alles andere am Herzen liegt. Eine zentrale Problematik ist, dass ihr Interesse an Subversion und Opazität so offensichtlich ist, wie ihre Geringschätzung von fundierter Positionierung. So wird die zeitgenössische Kunst zur idealen Hülle für Deregulierungsbestrebungen inaller Welt – im Hinblick auf Kapitalströme, Arbeitsbedingungen und die Finanzialisierung des öffentlichen Raums.           

Andere wiederum scheinen überzeugt, dass das Feld noch immer einem besseren Zweck dienen könnte. Sie sind außerdem der Meinung, dass alternative Kunstbegriffeaucheine Neudefinition der Machtverhältnisse, an denen wir ohnehin teilhaben, zulassen würden. Wie könnte eine Kunst aussehen, die nicht zynisch und selbstausbeuterisch ist? Welche Terminologie würde hier greifen? Welche Strukturen wären nötig? STATECRAFTsucht nach pragmatischen Antworten auf diese recht dramatischen Fragen.

 

STATECRAFT umfasst sowohl geschlossene Workshops als auch ein öffentliches Programm. Letzteres schließt eine Auswahl von Sequenzen aus dem Web-TV-Kanal realty-vvon Christopher Roth ein, darunter Propaganda-Vignetten und Archivmaterial.  

 

REALTY wird von Tirdad Zolghadr kuratiert und von den KW und der Sommerakademie Paul Klee Bern gefördert. Bisher nahm das Programm bereits das Format öffentlicher Veranstaltungen,semi-formaler Arbeitsgruppen, künstlerischerAuftragsarbeiten, eines Web-TV-Senders, eines Universitätsseminars sowie eines Forschungsstipendiums an. Während STATECRAFT bevorstehende Momente des kunst-ontologischen Wandels vorwegnimmt, konzentriert sich die wenige Tage zuvor stattfindende (8.–13. November) REALTY-Konferenz SPACECRAFTauf entsprechende Strategien der kollektiven Eigentümerschaft und der Querfinanzierungim Hier und Jetzt.

https://space-time.tv/realty-v

http://realtynow.online/

 

 

 

STATECRAFT Öffentliches Programm
16.–17. November 18
ExRotaprint

 

Ort: Projektraum „Glaskiste“, ExRotaprint, Gottschedstraße 4, 13357 Berlin

Eintritt: 3/5/8 €

 

16. November 18, 18–20 Uhr, Victoria Ivanova, Suhail Malik, Daniela Brahm, Les Schliesser und Gäste Diskussionsrunde

Exit? (auf Englisch)

Zeitgenössische Kunst macht von Jahr zu Jahr institutionell und geographisch an Boden gut. Und wo immer sie schon etabliert ist, wird der Freiraum der Kunst zum moralischen Selbstzweck. Angesichts der tatsächlichen moralischen Beschaffenheit des Kunstbetriebs ist das alles sehr erstaunlich. Und zum Glück kann man das Kunstfeld auch jederzeit verlassen. Handkehrum kann man auch versuchen, die Ressourcen der Gegenwartskunst ganz anderen Zielsetzungen zu widmen. Exit ist eine Abendunterhaltung unter einer Handvoll Akteure, die ebendiese Taktik verfolgen. Sie zielt auf eine Klärung der Begrifflichkeiten hinaus; könnten Wortgebräuche wie Regulierung, Didaktik, Instrumentalisierung oder sogar Propaganda vielleicht neu verhandelt werden?

 

17. November 18, 13 Uhr, Tirdad Zolghadr

STATECRAFT, REALTY, Contemporary Art – an Introduction (STATECRAFT, REALTY, Zeitgenössische Kunst – eine Einführung) (auf Englisch)

 

17. November 18, 13.45 Uhr, Suhail Malik, Vortrag

After Gentrification: what and to whom are the allegiances of artists in the anti-gentrification mandate? (Nach der Gentrifizierung: Wem halten die Künstler*innen im Anti-Gentrifizierungs-Auftrag die Treue?) (auf Englisch)

Gentrifizierung sollte die Städte vor ihrem deindustrialiserten Niedergang bewahren. Dennoch erkennen nun sogar ihre Befürworter*innen an, dass Gentrifizierung eine Bedrohung für die Vitalität der postindustriellen Stadt darstellt. Beschränkungen für Gentrifizierung finden Eingang in die Welt der Politik, wie auch Anti-Gentrifizierung. Dabei steht es heute auf der Agenda globaler Städte Räume und Mieten für schwache Einkommensgruppen wie Kunstschaffende und kreative Unternehmer*innen zu schützen. In diesem Vortrag wird untersucht, ob und wie diese Überarbeitung des Gentrifizierungs-Programms über die eigennützigen Interessen der kreativen Klasse hinaus erfolgen kann. Insbesondere wird die Frage gestellt, wie die Kunstwelt ihre Privilegien einsetzen kann, um den Interessen derer zu dienen, die als erste von der Ungleichheit betroffen sind. Einer Ungleichheit, die durch die kreativ-geführte Gentrifizierung verstärkt wird: Es handelt sich ja in der Regel um Bevölkerungsgruppen mit wenig Kapital, historisch niedrigem Einkommen und niedriger sozialer Mobilität.

 

17. November 18, 15.30 Uhr, Kristel Raesaar, Vortrag

Redistributing Risk – Tuleva as Case Study (Risiko umverteilen – Tuleva als Fallstudie) (auf Englisch)

Tuleva ist eine kollektive Finanztechnologie, die Estlands Finanzlandschaft von innen heraus verändert hat. Anstatt hohe Gebühren für bankeigene Dienstleistungen zu zahlen, riefen die 4000 Mitglieder ihren eigenen automatisierten Pensions-Fonds ins Leben. 18 Monate nach der Erteilung der Konzession verwaltet der Fonds bereits 70 Millionen Euro. Ohne die Involvierung von externen Investor*innen sind Tulevas Nutzer*innen auch ihre Eigentümer*innen. Die Stimme jedes Mitglieds ist gleich gewichtet, unabhängig von der Kapitalverteilung. Über welches Potenzial verfügt eine solche Struktur, und welche Herausforderungen entstehen daraus? Könnte Tulevas Modell nützlich sein, um die Macht-Asymmetrien innerhalb des Biotops der zeitgenössischen Kunst anzugehen?

 

17. November 18, 16 Uhr, Renzo Martens, Vortrag

Reverse Gentrification (auf Englisch)

2012 gründete Martens das Institute for Human Activities (IHA) und sein Reverse Gentrification Program in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo. Zusammen mit den Plantagen-Arbeiter*innen des Cercle d’Art des Travailleurs de Plantation Congolaise (CATPC) nutzt er Kunstkritik, um ökonomische Ungleichheit zu überwinden – nicht symobolisch, sondern konkret und materiell. Dementsprechend eröffneten sie 2017 auf einer ehemaligen Unilever-Plantage einen von OMA designten White Cube, der weiterhin Kapital anziehen soll. Die Arbeit des CATPC wurde kürzlich in einer Einzelausstellung im SculptureCenter New Yorkund auf der 21. Biennale von Sydneygezeigt.

 

17. November 18, 17.30 Uhr, Christopher Kulendran Thomas, Vortrag

New Eelam (auf Englisch)

New Eelam ist ein Langzeit-Kunstprojekt in Form eines Startups – ein Immobilien-Technologie-Unternehmen, das von dem Künstler Christopher Kulendran Thomas gegründet wurde, um eine neue Form des Wohnungsbaus zu entwickeln, der auf kollektivem Ko-Eigentum anstelle von individuellem Privateigentum beruht. Das Unternehmen hat seinen Ursprung in einer Zusammenarbeit mit Kuratorin Annika Kuhlmann, und nutzt als Ausgangspunkt die Involvierung der Kunstwelt in globale Prozesse, mittels derer Städte auf der ganzen Welt umgestaltet werden. In seinem Vortrag beleuchtet Kulendran Thomas sein fortlaufendes Projekt als Versuch einer Neuausrichtung dessen, was Kunst in struktureller Hinsicht real und tatsächlich vollbringen kann.

 

17. November 18, 18 Uhr, Rachel Rosenfelt, Vortrag

Rhetorical Software (auf Englisch)

Rachel Rosenfelt ist Gründungsmitglied von Dark Inquiry, einer Koalition aus Technolog*innen, Künstler*innen, Schriftsteller*innen und investigativen Forscher*innen, die die anti-humane Logik dominanter Technologien offenlegen und deren Dynamik zu egalitäreren Zwecken hin umlenken wollen. Die Experimente der Vereinigung wurden als „rhetorical Software“ bezeichnet und können in einer App, einem Bot oder einer erfolgreichen Medienkampagne mit landesweiter Wirkungskraft münden. Ziel ist es, mittels kollektiver Bemühungen Handlungsfähigkeit zu bewirken, wobei die Sprache strategisch als Asset genutzt wird, über ihre allein darstellende Aufgabe hinaus.

 

 

STATECRAFT Workshops
14.–18. November 18
KW Studio

 

Bitte melden Sie sich im Voraus unter reservation@kw-berlin.de an.

 

14. November 18, 13–15.30 Uhr, Friederike Landau

Kultur, Kodex, Kontingenz: Ergründungen von (Un)Möglichkeiten stadtpolitischer Positionierungen von Berliner Kulturakteuren (auf Deutsch)
Die Zweckfreiheit der Kunst ist unumstößlich und gleichzeitig leerer Signifikant. Wie soll die Freiheit der Kunst in Architekturen politischer und administrativer Regeln denk- und praktizierbar sein? Wer reguliert künstlerische Freiheit wie, warum und für wie lange? Wie verändern sich Produktionsbedingungen von Kunst und Kultur in urbanen Veränderungsprozessen, die von Finanzialisierung, Kommerzialisierung und zunehmender sozialer Polarität gekennzeichnet sind? Der Workshop setzt an der Schnittstelle zwischen lokaler Stadt- und Kulturpolitik an, um zu ergründen, welche Formen stadtpolitisches Engagement für und von Kulturinstitutionen und freien Kulturschaffenden in Berlin heute annehmen kann. Diese Überlegungen bringen nicht nur die teils bekannten Spannungsverhältnisse zwischen Künstler*innen, Verwaltung, Parlament und (Immobilien)Wirtschaft zum Vorschein, sondern steuern vielmehr bewusst auf die Fragestellung zu, wie kulturpolitische Strategien, Haltungen, eine Roadmap oder ein kulturpolitisch-ethischer Kodex aussehen könnte, um die ambivalenten Positionen kultureller Protagonisten reflexiv und zeitweise politisch (be)gründen zu können.

 

15. November 18, ab 15 Uhr, Marion von Osten – am Pavillon Haus der Statistik, Karl Marx Allee 1, 10178 Berlin
Taubenturm (auf Deutsch)
Welche Formate der Gegenwartskunst erlauben eine Wissensproduktion, die über die ritualisierten Grenzen von Ausstellungsraum, Katalogstext und Künstlervortrag hinausgehen? Inwiefern ist eine Kombination von intellektuellem Ehrgeiz, politischer Leidenschaft und professioneller Ausdauer innerhalb des zeitgenössischen Kunstbetriebs weiterhin realistisch? Mittels einer spielerischen Verknüpfung von Gastvorträgen und kollektiver Skulpturenverfertigung wird in Taubenturm ein Versuch unternommen, zumindest die Kluft zwischen Diskurs und Produktion zu überbrücken. Inhaltlich wird in diesem Workshop mittels Herzog & de Meuron’s Erweiterung der Tate Modern –  das ehemalige Bankside Kraftwerk in London – über Architektur und Verdrängung von Tieren gesprochen. Dabei werden praktische Alltagsstrategien entwickelt, die Maßnahmen zur Vogelabwehr an Fassaden und Plätzen verhindern oder gar rückgängig machen können. Die Geschichte der städtischen Domestizierung, Nutzbarmachung und Verwilderung der Taube dient dabei als Ausgangspunkt um Formen der Verdrängung aus einer angewandten Vogelperspektive neu zu denken.

 

16. November 18, 13.30–16 Uhr, Kristel Raesaar 

Reclaiming Risk – Tuleva as Case Study (Risiko reklamieren – Tuleva als Fallstudie) (auf Englisch)

Wie verteilen Kunst-Infrastrukturen Risiko und Wertschaffung neu? Was ist nötig, um sich mögliche Veränderungen vorstellen zu können, so klein diese auch sein mögen? In einer finanzialisierten Welt zahlt man aus Risikoscheu gutes Geld, um mögliche Verluste zu vermeiden, während andererseits potenzielle Gewinne zwischen zahlreichen Akteur*innen oft ausgedünnt werden, bis sie nicht mehr quantifizierbar sind. So überlassen wir die Gewinne Dritten. Die 4000 Mitglieder der Finanztechnologie-Kooperative Tuleva durchkämmen Estlands Finanzsektor nach Wegen, diese Dynamik umzukehren. Könnte Tulevas Modell der Prototyp dafür sein, wie Institutionen zeitgenössischer Kunst umgestaltet werden könnten? Schwer zu sagen.

 

18. November 18, 10–12.30 Uhr, Renzo Martens & Suhail Malik 

Financializing Critique (Kritik finanzialisieren) (auf Englisch)

Das Institute for Human Activities agiert innerhalb eines prekären Raumes, der sich durch zügellose wirtschaftliche und koloniale Gewalt auszeichnet. Es lotet dennoch einen Spielraum aus, indem es die Funktion des White Cube innerhalb globaler Wertschöpfungsketten neu definiert, und neue Formen kollektiven Eigentums an landwirtschaftlicher Nutzfläche einsetzt. Unter den zahlreichen Herausforderungen, die sich hier stellen, findet sich die schwierige Frage danach, wie man der Finanzialisierung von Plantagen durch Finanzialisierung von Identität und Kritik entgegenwirken kann. In unserem Workshop soll diese Herausforderung mithilfe von Martens und Gesprächspartner Suhail Malik direkt angegangen werden.

 

18. November 18, 14–16.30 Uhr, Rachel Rosenfelt 

Authorship and Post-Authorship – Strategically Speaking (Urheberschaft und Post-Urheberschaft – strategisch gesprochen) (auf Englisch)

Basierend auf ihrer Lesung über Rhetorical Software befasst sich Rosenfelt mit Fragen der Urheber*innenschaft und Nachhaltigkeit in nicht-institutionalisierten Settings, und zwar im Quervergleich zu ihrer Arbeit als Herausgeberin und Vize-Präsidentin des New Republic Magazine. Bis heute spielt die Autorität der Autor*in-als-Individuum immer noch eine überraschend wesentliche Rolle in Kunst undKultur. Mit verheerenden Folgen in Bezug auf Arbeitsverhältnissen, kollektiver Urheber*innenschaft und professioneller Nachhaltigkeit. Aber auch wenn Autor*innenschaft neu beurteilt werden muss – kann dies auf eine Art und Weise erfolgen, die das jeweils entstandene kulturelle Kapital nicht vergeudet?