Steve Bishop
Deliquescing
3 November 18 – 6 January 19

 

Opening: 2 November 18, 7 pm

 

<div>
<div class="">
<div class="">
<div class=""><span class="" lang="EN-US"><span class="">Steve Bishop, <em>Deliquescing</em>, 2018, </span><span class="">Courtesy the artist and Carlos/Ishikawa, London</span><br />
</span></div>
</div>
</div>
</div>
Steve Bishop, Deliquescing, 2018, Courtesy the artist and Carlos/Ishikawa, London

 

In his practice, London-based artist Steve Bishop focuses on creating complex, surreal spatial environments that conjure subtle emotional states through the evocation of abstract, biographically informed, dream-like parallel worlds. His objects, films, and sculptures address questions of remembrance and how architectural spaces can reflect interior states.

 

For his exhibition Deliquescing at KW, Bishop builds upon a body of research that focuses specifically on the fragility of memory and the potential for its preservation, defying the gradual breakdown of matter through the effects of time. The exhibition is based on two distinct but interrelated pillars: one of which is a deserted town in northern Canada that was built in 1981 to house the workers of a nearby mine and then abandoned in 1983. Its remarkably intact state is due to the constant struggle to prevent the surrounding forest from reclaiming the town and is a testament to the live-in caretaker, who ensures that the lawns are mowed and the buildings are heated. The other point of departure is the unique restorative qualities of the lion’s mane mushroom: an edible, bulbous-looking mushroom native to the forests of North America, Europe and Asia that has shown a remarkable ability to stimulate the synthesis of nerve growth factor in the brain. Lion’s mane is sold as a dietary supplement for memory enhancement and is being researched as a potential medicine for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease.

 

A large structural frame covered in a semi-opaque polyethylene tarp retains the specific air conditions needed for growing the mushrooms within the exhibition space. The tarp is both a practical element and a conceptual membrane, setting apart the two realms that frame the exhibition; the world where the mushrooms grow and that of the town. Paintings reproduced from the town are displayed behind the tarp, suggesting a fuzziness or out-of-reach quality. In the context of the exhibition, the preservation of the town, the uses of the mushroom, and the growing of the mushrooms in the gallery are brought together as interrelated symbols of “caretaking” and “maintenance,” summoning a feeling of something suspended in the oblique feeling of half-remembering. The work displays a certain sense of aliveness, a charge that highlights a vulnerability in the process of continual growing and in turn deliquescing in a cyclical progression. Bishop strikes a delicate balance between a social blankness and a familiar—if not personal—specificity that both stimulate sensations of a shared consciousness.

 

The exhibition is accompanied by a publication that continues the underlying research and allows for a broader view of Bishop’s work. An interview with Anna Gritz and essays by Orit Gat, Gary Zhexi Zhang and Anna Tsing provide theoretical perspectives on the subjects of his research and contextually frame the larger objectives of the exhibition.

 

Curator: Anna Gritz

Assistant curator: Maurin Dietrich

 

 

<p>The exhibition is generously supported by the British Council through Arts Council England, the Henry Moore Foundation, the Embassy of Canada in Berlin, and the Canada Council for the Arts. We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts, which last year invested $153 million to bring the arts to Canadians throughout the country.</p>
<p> </p>

 

The exhibition is generously supported by the British Council through Arts Council England, the Henry Moore Foundation, the Embassy of Canada in Berlin, and the Canada Council for the Arts. We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts, which last year invested $153 million to bring the arts to Canadians throughout the country.

 

 

<p><span lang="EN-US">With special thanks to Kvadrat.</span></p>

 

With special thanks to Kvadrat.

 

<p>Media partner: <a href="http://momus.ca/">Momus</a></p>

 

Media partner: Momus

Steve Bishop
Deliquescing
3. November 18 – 6. Januar 19

 

Eröffnung: 2. November 18, 19 Uhr

 

<div>
<div class="">
<div class="">
<div class=""><span class="" lang="EN-US"><span class="">Steve Bishop, <em>Deliquescing</em>, 2018, Courtesy der Künstler und </span>Carlos/Ishikawa, London<br />
</span></div>
</div>
</div>
</div>
Steve Bishop, Deliquescing, 2018, Courtesy der Künstler und Carlos/Ishikawa, London

 

Der in London lebende Künstler Steve Bishop konzentriert sich in seiner Arbeit auf die Schaffung komplexer, surrealer Raumumgebungen, die durch die Beschwörung abstrakter, biografisch begründeter und traumhafter Parallelwelten subtile emotionale Zustände hervorrufen. In seinen Objekten, Filmen und Skulpturen beschäftigt er sich mit Fragen der Erinnerung und damit, wie architektonische Räume innere Zustände widerspiegeln können.

 

Die Ausstellung Deliquescing beruht auf einer umfangreichen Recherche zur Vergänglichkeit von Erinnerung. Bishop geht der Frage nach, ob und wie sich Erinnerungen bewahren lassen – trotz eines der Zeit geschuldeten, graduellen Verfalls von Materie. Der Ausstellung in den KW liegen zwei eigenständige, jedoch miteinander verbundene Themenstränge zugrunde: der in den Wäldern Nordamerikas heimische Löwenmähne-Pilz und eine verlassene Stadt im Norden Kanadas. Letztere wurde 1981 errichtet, um eine nahegelegene Mine zu bewirtschaften und blieb nach deren Schließung im Jahr 1983 unbewohnt und verlassen. Ihren bemerkenswert intakten Zustand verdankt sie dem vor Ort lebenden Verwalter, der unablässig gegen den umliegenden Wald ankämpft, da dieser ständig droht, die Stadt zu überwuchern. Darüberhinaus sorgt der Verwalter dafür, dass die Wiesen der Gärten regelmäßig gemäht und die Gebäude beheizt werden. Der in den Wäldern Nordamerikas heimische, knollenartige und essbare Löwenmähne-Pilz besitzt die außerordentliche Eigenschaft, die Synthese des Nervenwachstumsfaktors des menschlichen Gehirns anzuregen. Aufgrund seiner regenerativen Wirkung wird der Löwenmähne-Pilz inzwischen als Nahrungsergänzungsmittel sowie als mögliches Heilmittel gegen Alzheimer eingesetzt.

 

Eine große Raum-in-Raum-Installation, die von einer halbtransparenter Polyethylen-Plane umgeben ist, schafft die für die Pilzzucht spezifischen und notwendigen Klimabedingungen in den Räumen der KW. Die Folie ist zugleich ein praktisches Element und eine konzeptuelle Membran, die die beiden Themenstränge der Ausstellung voneinander räumlich trennt: in die Welt der Pilzzucht und den Bereich, der die kanadische Stadt untersucht. 

 

Reproduzierte Objekte aus der Stadt erscheinen durch die Plane und verweisen auf eine gewisse Unschärfe und unterstreichen eine unerreichbare Qualität, die für beide Elemente der Installation zentral ist. Im Kontext der Ausstellung werden der Erhalt der Stadt sowie die Verwendung und der eigentliche Anbau des Pilzes als Sinnbilder für „Pflege“ und „Instandhaltung“ zusammengeführt und miteinander in Beziehung gesetzt. Es entsteht der Eindruck, als würde etwas in dem diffusen Gefühl unvollständiger Erinnerungen in der Schwebe gehalten. Parallel vermittelt die Arbeit ein Gefühl von Lebendigkeit – eine Emotionsgeladenheit, die die Verletzlichkeit im Prozess kontinuierlichen Wachstums aufzeigt und in der Umkehr in der zyklischen Fortentwicklung zerfällt. Bishop erzeugt ein zerbrechliches Gleichgewicht zwischen sozialer Leere und vertrauter, gar persönlicher Spezifität, womit Empfindungen eines kollektiven Bewusstseins stimuliert werden. 

 

Die Ausstellung wird von einer Publikation begleitet, die die zugrunde liegende Forschung fortsetzt und eine umfassendere Einsicht in die Arbeit von Bishop erlaubt. Ein Interview mit Anna Gritz und Essays von Orit Gat, Gary Zhexi Zhang und Anna Tsing erweitern die Betrachtung um eine theoretische Perspektive und bilden den inhaltlichen Rahmen für die weitreichenderen Ziele der Ausstellung.

 

Kuratorin: Anna Gritz

Assistenzkuratorin: Maurin Dietrich

 

<p>Die Ausstellung wird großzügig unterstützt vom Arts Council England des British Council, der Henry Moore Foundation, der Botschaft von Kanada und vom Canada Council for the Arts. Wir danken dem Canada Council for the Arts, der im vergangenen Jahr $ 153 Millionen investiert hat, um den kanadischen BürgerInnen einen Zugang zu Kunst zu ermöglichen.   </p>
<p> </p>

 

Die Ausstellung wird großzügig unterstützt vom Arts Council England des British Council, der Henry Moore Foundation, der Botschaft von Kanada und vom Canada Council for the Arts. Wir danken dem Canada Council for the Arts, der im vergangenen Jahr $ 153 Millionen investiert hat, um den kanadischen BürgerInnen einen Zugang zu Kunst zu ermöglichen.   

 

 

<p>Besonderer Dank gilt Kvadrat.</p>

 

Besonderer Dank gilt Kvadrat.

 

<p>Medienpartner: <a href="http://momus.ca/">Momus</a></p>

 

Medienpartner: Momus