Christian Friedrich
Are You Warm? Did You Have Trouble Getting Here? Have They Treated You Well?
8–16 December 18

 

Opening: 7 December 18, 7 pm

 

<p>Christian Friedrich, Production still, 2017, Courtesy the artist</p>

Christian Friedrich, Production still, 2017, Courtesy the artist

 

Toggling between modes including video, sculpture, audio, and even scent, Christian Friedrich (born 1977 in Freiburg, DE) frequently employs elements of the sexually outré—e.g., bodily endurance and violence, foot fetishism—but plays them against formalism, aestheticism, and structural contradiction. In, for example, his highly rhythmic and accelerating videos that mix footage from sex dungeons with touristy imagery of New York and aquatic life (Untitled, 2010–11), delicate glass sculptures of feet scented with pungent foot odor (various titles, 2017–), and ominous audio-visual installations involving water dropping (Are You Warm? Did You Have Trouble Getting Here? Have They Treated You Well?, 2017), Friedrich leverages a mood of risk and unacceptability that is maintained by the works’ avoidance of easy resolution and embrace of sustained internal disputation. Accordingly, reminding viewers that the artworld is a latently conservative sphere that is supremely adept at normalizing and defusing, his art wanders beyond the pale while evading full interpretative capture. It’s notable that in Want (2017), a series of suspended hybrid sculptures conjoining brains and legs, everything in the middle of the body is elided. The heart, the gut, the groin: these, emphasized by their absence, are receptors that Friedrich’s kinesthetic art brings from margin to center. In the exhibition, Friedrich’s combinatorial approach extends to the interplay between two time-based works, each a darkly playful prism for the other.

 

<p>The exhibititon by Christian Friedrich at KW takes place in the framework of <a href="http://www.videoart-at-midnight.de/festival-18">Videoart at Midnight Festival ‘18</a>.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Videoart at Midnight Festival ’18 (VAM) celebrates 10 years and 100 artist with a two-day artist film and video program at Kino Babylon, <span class="st">accompanied by a symposium at Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.), and Akademie der Künste; the VAM-</span><span class="st">Campus event with students of the Academy of Fine Arts Leipzig (HGB), the Kunsthochschule Kassel, and the Berlin University of the Arts, as well as exhibitions at Berlinische Galerie, Galerie Pankow, and KW Institute for Contemporary Art.<br />
 </span></p>
<p> </p>

 

The exhibititon by Christian Friedrich at KW takes place in the framework of Videoart at Midnight Festival ‘18.

 

Videoart at Midnight Festival ’18 (VAM) celebrates 10 years and 100 artist with a two-day artist film and video program at Kino Babylon, accompanied by a symposium at Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.), and Akademie der Künste; the VAM-Campus event with students of the Academy of Fine Arts Leipzig (HGB), the Kunsthochschule Kassel, and the Berlin University of the Arts, as well as exhibitions at Berlinische Galerie, Galerie Pankow, and KW Institute for Contemporary Art.

Christian Friedrich
Are You Warm? Did You Have Trouble Getting Here? Have They Treated You Well?
8.–16. Dezember 18

 

Eröffnung: 7. Dezember 18, 19 Uhr

 

<p>Christian Friedrich, Produktions-Still, 2017, Courtesy der Künstler</p>

Christian Friedrich, Produktions-Still, 2017, Courtesy der Künstler

 

Christian Friedrich (*1977 in Freiburg, DE) bezieht sich in unterschiedlichen Medien wie Video, Skulptur, Audio und sogar Geruch häufig auf das sexuell Extravagante – zum Beispiel auf körperliche Belastbarkeit und Gewalt oder auf Fußfetischismus – und spielt es gegen Formalismus, Ästhetizismus sowie strukturell Gegensätzliches aus. In rhythmischen, sich beschleunigenden Videos schneidet Friedrich in Untitled (2010-11) Aufnahmen aus Sexkerkern gegen touristische Bilder von New York oder von Unterwasserlebewesen, parfümiert filigrane Glasskulpturen von Füßen mit beißendem Fußgeruch (verschiedene Titel, seit 2017 fortlaufend) oder schafft beunruhigende audiovisuelle Installationen, die tropfendes Wasser zum Gegenstand haben (Are You Warm? Did You Have Trouble Getting Here? Have They Treated You Well?, 2017). Der Kunstbetrieb mag gut darin sein, noch das Abseitigste zu entschärfen und zu normalisieren, Friedrichs Arbeiten aber entziehen sich mit ihrer Stimmung von Risiko und Unzumutbarkeit einer allzu einfachen Auflösung ihrer inneren Gegensätze. Für diese Ausstellung in den KW weitet der Künstler seinen kombinatorischen Ansatz auf das Zusammenspiel zwischen den Arbeiten selbst aus, bis jede ein dunkel-spielerisches Prisma für die andere wird.

 

<p>Die Ausstellung von Christian Friedrich in den KW wird im Rahmen des <a href="http://www.videoart-at-midnight.de/festival-18">Videoart at Midnight Festival ‘18</a> gezeigt.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Das Videoart at Midnight Festival ’18 (VAM) feiert 10 Jahre und 100 Künstler*innen mit einem zweitägigen Filmprogramm im Kino Babylon, einem Symposium im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) und in der Akademie der Künste; dem VAM-Campus mit Studierenden der Hochschule HGB Leipzig, Kunsthochschule Kassel und der Universität der Künste Berlin und mit Ausstellungen in der Berlinischen Galerie, der Galerie Pankow und den KW Institute for Contemporary Art.</p>

 

Die Ausstellung von Christian Friedrich in den KW wird im Rahmen des Videoart at Midnight Festival ‘18 gezeigt.

 

Das Videoart at Midnight Festival ’18 (VAM) feiert 10 Jahre und 100 Künstler*innen mit einem zweitägigen Filmprogramm im Kino Babylon, einem Symposium im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) und in der Akademie der Künste; dem VAM-Campus mit Studierenden der Hochschule HGB Leipzig, Kunsthochschule Kassel und der Universität der Künste Berlin und mit Ausstellungen in der Berlinischen Galerie, der Galerie Pankow und den KW Institute for Contemporary Art.