Clémentine Deliss
The Metabolic Museum

29 July 21

KW presents an audio serialisation of The Metabolic Museum (2020, Hatje Cantz/KW) written and read by Clémentine Deliss, Associate Curator of KW. Coco Fusco writes in the New York Review of Books, “In ‘The Metabolic Museum’, Deliss outlines her radical curatorial vision and chronicles her attempts to transform the Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt am Main from a moribund storehouse of artifacts into a laboratory and educational center for critical engagement with the material cultures of non-European societies.” Regularly, a new chapter will be read by the author and added to the website.

Prologue to The Metabolic Museum

Manifesto for The Post-Ethnographic Museum

Walking Through

Artists and Anthropologists

Pogo Bar Podcast
Taylor Le Melle:
Orion J. Facey’s The Virosexuals

28 July 21

 

A science-fantasy novel set in Manchester, UK in 2080, Orion J. Facey’s The Virosexuals portraits a subculture that shares a desire to escape the broad algorithmization of our lives, bodies, and minds. Experimenting with virosexuality—the sexual attraction to transmitting and receiving STI’s—, the group around the main character Amygdala negotiates their bodies and desires while being faced with a virus sweeping the scene and the dangers and vulnerabilities of going off-grid. More

Pogo Bar Podcast
Nicholas Grafia and Mikołaj Sobczak:
It’s 10PM. Do You know where your children are?

28 July 21

It’s 10pm. Do You know where your children are? narrates the struggles of teenagers dealing with their queerness within varying family dynamics and socio-political realities. The intertwined stories of the two protagonists touch upon memories, expectations and values shared between parents and their offspring with a diasporic background, unveiling the confluence of primary feelings of love, hate, desire and regret. More

Unlearning Archives
Onyeka Igwe and Ariella Aïsha Azoulay in conversation with Mason Leaver-Yap

28 July 21

In conjunction with Onyeka Igwe’s film commission A So-Called Archive, the KW Production Series hosts a discussion with Igwe and historian Ariella Aïsha Azoulay. The conversation interrogates the role of cultural production and its relation to imperial foundations of knowledge: the document, the archive, and the museum.

 

A crucial text that informed Igwe’s own research as she made her new film, Azoulay’s book Potential History: Unlearning Imperialism (Verso, 2019) seeks to expose the violent apparatus of the museum and the archive—institutions that order (and thereby have the power to narrate) time, space, and politics. This event looks to Azoulay’s writing and Igwe’s film as mutually resonant discourses that might inform not only how we look at the past, but how we might rehearse its unlearning.

 

Ariella Aïsha Azoulay teaches political thought and visual culture at Brown University. She is the author of Potential History and the director of Un-documented: Unlearning Imperial Plunder (2019). More

Pogo Bar Podcast
Nour Mobarak:
Memory Talk

13 July 21

Courtesy the artist

In Memory Talk, artist-performer Nour Mobarak continues her ongoing exploration of memory, psychic spaces and the spatialization of language. Based largely on field-recordings from Hollywood Boulevard and other places in Los Angeles where she asked strangers to share their earliest memories, her sound textures delve deep into the invisible architecture of both the individual mind and US therapy culture, often capturing moments of trauma, transgression, and intense feelings. More

Pogo Bar Podcast
Alexander Iezzi:
Heehaw Angel Hunting—Lesson in Companionshit

13 July 21

Meet Hope and Derek Heehaw—two siblings from a country-music-obsessed family in the south of the USA—in this radio show as day trip journal. More

Heike Geißler: Seasonal Associate

12 July 21

From: Heike Geißler, Seasonal Associate, Semiotext(e), 2018

Read Heike Geißler’s accounts of how the brutalities of working life are transformed into exhaustion, shame, and self-doubt, while working as a seasonal associate in an Amazon fulfillment center. The selected chapters include reflections on the frugal work ethic of the mega-corporation, and precarious work conditions at large.

Note from Sarah Rapson

12 July 21

Courtesy Sarah Rapson

Pogo Bar Podcast
Joshua Leon:
Lamentation No.1: A Smuggler’s Guide to Loss

12 July 21

We were having one of our usual phone calls. Talking about life, dealing with the distance the pandemic had enforced upon us. Then there was a suicide that hit your family. Grief overwhelmed us both. I could not reach you. I wanted to cross the border from the UK to the EU, but death is not essential travel. I wanted to smuggle my body across the border. I was not allowed. More

You’re not muted.

8 July 21

Diogo de Moraes, from the series Testes vocais, 2020–2021

Emancipatory art education practices should not only adapt to online scenarios, but also create questions and languages that respond to a radical shift in today’s social, political, and cultural landscapes. How do we – cultural workers, educators, artists, and researchers – actively bring these new tools, meanings and words into our daily practice?

 

The event series You’re not muted. Negotiating new meanings through art and education continues KW’s investigation into new settings in educational and socially engaged practices and opens a path to a collaboration with the DAAD Artists-in Berlin Program, to foster possibilities of broad international exchange in the realm of the educational field in the arts.

Cyberfeminist Index
(~1990s–present)

8 July 21

Lee Lozano, A Boring Drawing, 1963 – 1969; Courtesy The Estate of Lee Lozano and Hauser & Wirth; Photo: Jon Etter

The group exhibition Zeros and Ones at KW Institute for Contemporary Art is inspired by the approach from the book Zeros + Ones: Digital Women and the New Technoculture (1997) by writer and theorist Sadie Plant. The book is a prominent contribution to the cyberfeminist literature. Plant’s publication is part of a scene, which established worldwide since the early 1990s and authors numerous texts, publications, and essays. Cyberfeminist Index list categorizes, and describes publications in an open-source Google Spreadsheet. Any user can edit and contribute to the list and includes publications on topics such as hacking, science fiction, surveillance, glitch, and much more.

Pogo Bar Podcast
Beth Collar:
Scatter Cushion

8 July 21

With a melancholic anticipation of absent bodies permeating her thoughts after a day-trip to the Etruscan site of the Necropolis Banditaccia, she counters the epic fabric of history and ideology-serving, gendered notions of the chronicler or bard with too-personal comment, fragmented memory, incidental noises, alcohol and urine. More

Open Secret

6 July 21

Vladan Joler, Preview from the video work The News Extractivism, 2021

 

Open Secret (16 July – 31 December 21) is a six-month long online program that explores the image of the ‘technological hidden’ in our apparently ‘open’ society. With new contributions released on a monthly basis, the Open Secret website opensecret.kw-berlin.de will bring together art, automation, politics, and new patterns of exchange. The website is designed by Sometimes Always and will be made available from 16 July 2021 onwards.

Web-site-specific Sculpture: Juliana Cerqueira Leite in conversation with Nadim Samman

16 June 21

The Last Museum featured artworks straddling both real and virtual domains. In this talk, participating artist Juliana Cerqueira Leite (Brasil/USA) reflects upon productive blurring between physical original, digital doppelganger, and the stakes of sculpture online. More info

The Last Museum

16 June 21

The Last Museum will tour as a ‘pop-up exhibition’ on the website of Polyeco Contemporary Art Initiative (PCAI), Athens from September 14 to October 16, 2021.

Amelie von Wulffen
Pedigree, 1996/1999

Claymation, in collaboration with Michael Graessner

In Pedigree (1996–1999, co-produced with Michael Graessner) audio fragments from films by Michelangelo Antonioni and Andrei Tarkovsky provide the acoustic bed of politics and love in which a couple’s passionate encounter unfolds against a melodramatic technicolor sky.

A Letter for Leo,
Krist Gruijthuijsen

Dear Leonilson, José, Zé, Leo, As you can see, I am not even sure how to address you. When I began to research your work, talking to your colleagues, friends, and family, I learned that each addressed you differently. The question is, why am I writing to you nearly twenty-seven years after your death? As to that, there are many answers, just as you have many names.

 

From Leonilson: Drawn 1975–1993, KW Institute for Contemporary Art and Hatje Cantz Verlag Berlin, 2020 More Info

Residenz Fahrenbühl
A Reading by Anna Haifisch

„Fahrenbühl is a remote artists’ residence inhabited by two mice. It’s the most beautiful place in the world. Rural life, they say, offers peace and contemplation. And yet, the dreariness of seclusion soon dampens the spirits. Maintaining paradise requires a radical approach. In this respect, a mouse is no different from God.” The latest comic by Anna Haifisch is set in Fahrenbühl – a fictional, remote artists’ residency which becomes an outlet for fundamental questions about artistic production, oscillating between loneliness, ambition, inspiration, and external scrutiny.

Pogo Bar Podcast
Luzie Meyer: The Acquisition of Language & The Language of Acquisition

Image: Courtesy the artist

Artist-poet Luzie Meyer traces the property of language to both confine and liberate, and the verbal means of expression available to us in times of digital media and algorithms. More Info

Beatrice Gibson
What’s Love Got To Do With It?

Courtesy Beatrice Gibson, Design by HIT Studio

Artist Beatrice Gibson pairs six contemporary poets discussing the topic of love: CAConrad and LeAnne Howe, Alice Notley and Precious Okoyomon, and Ariana Reines and Sophie Robinson. This three-part podcast series makes sonic space in which these poets share, listen and respond to one another’s work, and features unique compositions by Crystabel Riley and Seymour Wright. More info

Pogo Bar Podcast
Simnikiwe Buhlungu:
Anecdotal Through-isms

Simnikiwe Buhlungu is interested in the mechanisms that produce and mediate knowledge[s]; how it is produced and by whom, its dissemination and its nuances as a commonplace ecology. She uses her practice to wrestle between these questions and their infinite potential answers. Lately, she enjoys listening to gospel music and has been thinking about apiaries. More info

Pogo Bar Podcast
Nadja Abt:
Mutiny on the Bivalvia –
Interview with a Seafarer

Courtesy the artist

Mutiny on the Bivalvia is a radio play about power and relationships. In an interview, a seafarer and previously successful artist delineates her motives for wanting to become a member of the female crew on board of the „Bivalvia“ and her daily life as a seafarer. The interviewer has but one question on her mind: What has lead the all-women crew to shipwreck and mutiny? More info

Orpheus and the Technocave

Lecture + sonic reply with curator Nadim Samman and techno producer Inland (Ed Davenport). The myth of Orpheus tells the story of a musician and poet who charms his way into the underworld, to recover a love stolen away and imprisoned. At the birth of the modern world, this myth would become the basis of an initiatory cult exalting the status of the artist for their ability to cross thresholds between worlds and (re)capture knowledge. Today’s Orphic journeys foreground the functional texture of searching: The labor of finding one’s direction inside the thing—all the wrong turns, and right ones too—cutting fences; picking locks; crawling through gaps. Diving deeper into the megastructure in order to move beyond it. More info

Pogo Bar Podcast
Thea Reifler and Philipp Bergmann: 
Truth is a Matter of the Imagination

Image: Courtesy the artists; Photo: Rasmus Bell

Thea Reifler and Philipp Bergmann invited Lou Drago, Isabel Lewis, Ann Mbuti and Omsk Social Club for exchanges of thoughts departing from science fiction quotes. They sat down to talk about how the genre has influenced their ways of thinking, relating, creating art and programming institutions. Within the conversations, they discuss how it changed their perceptions of truth and fiction, dreamtime and world-time, structures and processes as well as change and collaboration. More info

Clémentine Deliss
The Metabolic Museum

29. Juli 21

Die KW präsentieren eine Audio-Serie zu The Metabolic Museum (2020, Hatje Cantz/KW), geschrieben und gelesen von Clémentine Deliss, Assoziierte Kuratorin der KW. Coco Fusco schreibt in der New York Review of Books, „Deliss skizziert in ‘The Metabolic Museum’ ihre radikale kuratorische Vision und legt ihre Ansätze dar, das Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt am Main von einem Artefakte-Lager in ein Laboratorium und Bildungszentrum für eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit den materiellen Kulturen außereuropäischer Gesellschaften umzugestalten.“ Regelmäßig wird ein neues Kapitel des Buches auf der Webseite veröffentlicht.

Prolog zu The Metabolic Museum

Manifest zum post-ethnografische Museum

Walking Through

Künstler*innen und Anthropolog*innen

Weitere Informationen hier

Pogo Bar Podcast
Taylor Le Melle:
Orion J. Facey’s The Virosexuals

28. Juli 21

Orion J. Faceys The Virosexuals ist ein Science-Fantasy-Roman, der im britischen Manchester im Jahr 2080 spielt. Er portraitiert eine Subkultur, die der weitgehenden Algorithmisierung unseres Lebens, Körpers und Denkens entkommen möchte. Die Gruppe um die Hauptfigur Amygdala experimentiert mit Virosexualität – dem sexuellen Verlangen, so genannte STI’s zu übertragen und zu empfangen – und verhandelt unterschiedliche Körperlichkeiten und Begehren, während sie sich mit einem ausbreitenden Virus und den Gefahren des Offline-Gehens konfrontiert sieht. Mehr

Pogo Bar Podcast
Nicholas Grafia und Mikołaj Sobczak:
It’s 10PM. Do You know where your children are?

28. Juli 21

It’s 10pm. Do You know where your children are? erzählt von den Kämpfen Jugendlicher, die mit ihrer Queerness im Rahmen unterschiedlicher Familiendynamiken und soziopolitischer Realitäten umgehen müssen. Die miteinander verflochtenen Geschichten der beiden Protagonisten sprechen Erinnerungen, Erwartungen und Werte an, die zwischen Eltern und ihren Kindern mit diasporischem Hintergrund geteilt werden und offenbaren primäre Gefühle wie Liebe, Hass, Sehnsucht und Bedauern. Mehr

Unlearning Archives

Onyeka Igwe und Ariella Aïsha Azoulay im Gespräch mit Mason Leaver-Yap

28. Juli 21

Anlässlich Onyeka Igwes filmischer Auftragsarbeit A So-Called Archive präsentieren die KW Production Series ein Gespräch zwischen Igwe und der Historikerin Ariella Aïsha Azoulay über die Rolle kultureller Produktion und deren Beziehung zu imperialen Wissensgrundlagen wie dem Dokument, dem Archiv und dem Museum.

 

Während der Produktion ihres neuen Films wurde Azoulays Buch Potential History: Unlearning Imperialism (Verso, 2019) für Onyeka Igwes Forschungen zu einem Schlüsseltext: Es versucht Museumsapparate und Archive als Zeit, Raum und Politik ordnende Institutionen zu entlarven, die ein bestimmtes Narrativ vorzugeben vermögen. Die Veranstaltung betrachtet Azoulays Schrift und Igwes Film als wechselseitig resonierende Diskurse, die nicht nur darüber informieren, wie wir die Vergangenheit betrachten, sondern auch, wie wir ihr Verlernen üben können.

 

Ariella Aïsha Azoulay lehrt politisches Denken und visuelle Kulturen an der Brown University, Providence (US). Sie ist Autorin des Buches Potential History und Regisseurin des Films Un-documented: Unlearning Imperial Plunder (2019). Mehr

Pogo Bar Podcast
Nour Mobarak:
Memory Talk

13. Juli 21

Courtesy die Künstlerin

In Memory Talk setzt die Künstlerin und Performerin Nour Mobarak ihre Auseinandersetzung mit Erinnerung, psychologischen Räumen und der Verräumlichung von Sprache fort. Ihre Soundtexturen basieren zum größten Teil auf Außenaufnahmen am Hollywood Boulevard und anderen Orten in Los Angeles, wo sie Fremde danach fragte, von ihren frühesten Erinnerungen zu erzählen, und tauchen tief ein in die unsichtbaren Architekturen der individuellen Psyche und der US-Therapiekultur. Mehr

Pogo Bar Podcast
Alexander Iezzi:
Heehaw Angel Hunting—Lesson in Companionshit

13. Juli 21

Heehaw Angel Hunting—Lesson in Companionshit, eine Radioshow inspiriert von einem abenteuerlichen Tagesausflug, stellt Hope und Derek Heehaw vor—zwei Geschwister aus einer Countrymusik-versessenen Familie im Süden der USA. Mehr

Heike Geißler: Saisonarbeit

12. Juli 21

Aus: Heike Geißler, Saisonarbeit, Spector Books, 2014

In Saisonarbeit berichtet Heike Geißler darüber, wie sich die Brutalitäten des Arbeitslebens in Erschöpfung, Scham und Selbstzweifel verwandeln, während sie als Saisonmitarbeiterin in einem Amazon Fulfillment Center arbeitet. Die ausgewählten Kapitel beinhalten Reflexionen über die sparsame Arbeitsmoral des Megakonzerns sowie prekäre Arbeitsbedingungen im Allgemeinen. 

Note from Sarah Rapson

12. Juli 21

Courtesy Sarah Rapson

Pogo Bar Podcast
Joshua Leon:
Lamentation No.1: A Smuggler’s Guide to Loss

12. Juli 21

Wir führten eines unserer üblichen Telefongespräche. Wir sprachen über das Leben, über den Umgang mit der durch die Pandemie uns aufgezwungenen Distanz. Ein Suizid hatte deine Familie erschüttert. Die Trauer überwältigte uns beide. Ich konnte dich nicht erreichen. Ich wollte die Grenze von Großbritannien nach Europa überqueren, doch schien der Tod kein angemessener Reisegrund zu sein. Mehr

You’re not muted.

8. Juli 21

Diogo de Moraes, aus der Serie Testes vocais, 2020–2021

Emanzipatorische Praktiken der Kunstvermittlung sollten sich nicht nur an digitale Realitäten anpassen, sondern auch Fragen und Sprachen entwickeln, die auf einen radikalen Wandel in der heutigen sozialen, politischen und kulturellen Landschaft reagieren. Wie können wir – Kulturschaffende, Pädagog*innen, Künstler*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen – diese neuen Werkzeuge, Bedeutungen und Worte aktiv in die verschiedenen Realitäten des Alltags einbeziehen?

 

Die Veranstaltungsreihe You’re not muted. Neue Wege zwischen Kunst und Bildung setzt KWs Auseinandersetzung mit dem gegenwärtigen Shift in pädagogischen und sozial engagierten Praktiken fort und ist gleichzeitig Ausgangspunkt einer Zusammenarbeit mit dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, um Möglichkeiten eines breiten internationalen Austauschs im Bereich der künstlerischen Bildung und Vermittlung zu fördern.

Cyberfeminist Index
(~1990s–present)

8. Juli 21

Lee Lozano, A Boring Drawing, 1963 – 1969; Courtesy des Lee Lozano Estate und Hauser & Wirth; Foto: Jon Etter

Die Gruppenausstellung Zeros and Ones in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art ist inspiriert von dem Buch Zeros + Ones: Digital Women and the New Technoculture (1997) der Autorin und Theoretikerin Sadie Plant. Das Buch ist ein prominenter Beitrag zur cyberfeministischen Literatur. Plants Publikation reiht sich in eine Szene, die sich seit den frühen 1990er Jahren weltweit etabliert hat und zahlreiche Texten, Publikationen und Essays verfasst, ein. Cyberfeminist Index listet, kategorisiert und beschreibt Veröffentlichungen in einem frei zugänglichen Google Spreadsheet. Die Liste kann von jedem*r User*in mit Zugriffsrecht bearbeitet und ergänzt werden und umfasst Veröffentlichungen zu Themen wie Hacking, Science-Fiction, Überwachung, Glitch und vielem mehr.

Pogo Bar Podcast
Beth Collar:
Scatter Cushion

8. Juli 21

Nach einem Tagesausflug zur etruskischen Stätte der Necropolis Banditaccia durchstreift eine melancholische Vorahnung von abwesenden Körpern Collars Gedanken. Sie kontert den epischen Stoff der Geschichte und ideologiedienende, geschlechtsspezifische Vorstellungen des Chronisten oder Barden mit zu persönlichen und lückenhaften Erinnerungen, zufälligen Geräuschen, Alkohol und Urin. Mehr

Open Secret

  1. 6. Juli 21

Vladan Joler, Vorschau der Videoarbeit The News Extractivism, 2021

 

Das sechsmonatige Online-Programm Open Secret (16. Juli – 31. Dezember 21) untersucht die Rolle des Verborgenen in unserer scheinbar ‚offenen‘ Gesellschaft. Monatlich werden neue Beiträge auf der Website opensecret.kw-berlin.de veröffentlicht, die Kunst, Automatisierung, Politik und neue Formen des Austauschs zusammenbringt. Das Webdesign wurde von Sometimes Always entworfen und wird ab dem 16. Juli 2021 verfügbar sein.

Web-site-specific Sculpture: Juliana Cerqueira Leite im Gespräch mit Nadim Samman

16. Juni 21

The Last Museum präsentiert künstlerische Arbeiten, die sowohl reale als auch virtuelle Bereiche durchkreuzen. Die Künstlerin Juliana Cerqueira Leite (Brasilien/USA) spricht über die produktive Verwischung von physischem Original, digitalem Doppelgänger und dem Online-Platzierung von Skulpturen. Weitere Informationen

The Last Museum

16. Juni 21

The Last Museum wird vom 14. September bis 16. Oktober 2021 als Pop-up-Ausstellung auf der Webseite der Polyeco Contemporary Art Initiative (PCAI), Athen, zu sehen sein.

Amelie von Wulffen
Pedigree, 1996/1999

Claymation, in Zusammenarbeit mit Michael Graessner

In dem Knetgummi-Animationsfilm Pedigree (1996–1999, koproduziert mit Michael Graessner) bereiten Audio-Fragmente aus Filmen von Michelangelo Antonioni und Andrei Tarkowski das akustische Bett aus Politik und Liebe, in dem sich vor einem dramatisch gefärbten Himmel die leidenschaftliche Begegnung eines Paares vollzieht.

A Letter for Leo,
Krist Gruijthuijsen

Dear Leonilson, José, Zé, Leo, As you can see, I am not even sure how to address you. When I began to research your work, talking to your colleagues, friends, and family, I learned that each addressed you differently. The question is, why am I writing to you nearly twenty-seven years after your death? As to that, there are many answers, just as you have many names.

 

From Leonilson: Drawn 1975–1993, KW Institute for Contemporary Art und
Hatje Cantz Verlag Berlin, 2020 Zum Text

Residenz Fahrenbühl
A Reading von Anna Haifisch

„Fahrenbühl ist eine abgeschiedene Künstlerresidenz, die von zwei Mäusen bewohnt wird. Es ist der schönste Ort der Welt. Das Ländliche, so sagt man, stiftet Ruhe und Besinnung. Doch die Reizlosigkeit der Abgeschiedenheit beginnt auf die Stimmung zu drücken. Wer das Paradies bewahren will, muss zu radikalen Mitteln greifen. In diesem Punkt unterscheidet sich eine Maus nicht von Gott.“ Der neueste Comic von Anna Haifisch spielt in Fahrenbühl, einer fiktiven, abgeschiedenen Künstler*innenresidenz, die zum Ventil für grundlegende Fragen künstlerischer Produktion zwischen Einsamkeit, Ambition, Inspiration und dem Blick von Außen wird.

Pogo Bar Podcast
Luzie Meyer:
The Acquisition of Language & The Language of Acquisition

Bild: Courtesy die Künstlerin

Die Künstlerin und Lyrikerin Luzie Meyer geht der Eigenschaft von Sprache nach, gleichzeitig zu beschränken und zu befreien, sowie den verbalen Ausdrucksmitteln, die uns in Zeiten von digitalen Medien und Algorithmen zur Verfügung stehen. Weitere Information 

Beatrice Gibson
What’s Love Got To Do With It?

Courtesy Beatrice Gibson, Design by HIT Studio

Künstlerin Beatrice Gibson mit sechs zeitgenössischen Poet*innen CAConrad und LeAnne Howe, Alice Notley und Precious Okoyomon sowie Ariana Reines und Sophie Robinson über das Thema Liebe. Die dreiteilige Podcast-Serie schafft einen akustischen Raum, in dem die Künstler*innen ihre Werke miteinander teilen, einander zuhören und darauf reagieren und bietet zudem einzigartige Kompositionen von Crystabel Riley und Seymour Wright. Weitere Informationen

Pogo Bar Podcast
Simnikiwe Buhlungu:
Anecdotal Through-isms

Simnikiwe Buhlungu interessiert sich für Mechanismen, die Wissen produzieren und vermitteln, wie und von wem dies produziert wird sowie dessen Verbreitung und Nuancen als alltägliche Ökologie. Buhlungu ringt in ihrer Arbeit gleichsam mit diesen Fragen und den schier unerschöpflichen Antworten darauf. In letzter Zeit hat sie gerne Gospelmusik gehört und über Bienenstöcke reflektiert. Weitere Informationen 

Pogo Bar Podcast
Nadja Abt:
Mutiny on the Bivalvia –
Interview with a Seafarer

Courtesy die Künstlerin

Meuterei auf der Bivalvia ist ein Hörspiel über Machtverhältnisse und Beziehungen. In einem Interview schildert eine Seefahrerin, ehemals erfolgreiche Künstlerin, ihre Beweggründe, die dazu führten, Teil der weiblichen* Besatzung an Bord der „Bivalvia“ zu werden und ihren Alltag als Seefahrerin. Die Interviewerin treibt dabei vor allem eine Frage um: Was führte zum Schiffbruch und zur Meuterei der Frauschaft? Weitere Informationen 

Orpheus and the Technocave

Vortrag + Klangantwort mit Kurator Nadim Samman und Techno-Produzent Inland (Ed Davenport). Der Orpheus-Mythos erzählt von einem Sänger und Dichter, der mithilfe seiner Musik in die Unterwelt hinabsteigt, um seine ihm entrissene Ehefrau zurückzuholen. In der frühen Neuzeit lag der Mythos der Vorstellung zugrunde, der Künstler könne auf der Suche nach Wissen zwischen den Welten wandeln. Heutige orpheische Reisen lassen die Struktur der Suche zum Vorschein treten: Die Schwierigkeit, seinen eigenen Weg zu finden, falsch oder richtig abzubiegen, Zäune einzureißen, Schlösser aufzubrechen und durch Löcher zu kriechen – tiefer in die Megastruktur einzudringen, um sie hinter sich zu lassen. Weitere Informationen

Pogo Bar Podcast
Thea Reifler and Philipp Bergmann: 
Truth is a Matter of the Imagination

Courtesy die Künstler*innen; Foto: Rasmus Bell

Thea Reifler und Philipp Bergmann laden Lou Drago, Isabel Lewis, Ann Mbuti und Omsk Social Club zu einem Gespräch über Zitate aus Science-Fiction-Büchern ein. Diskutiert wird, wie das Genre ihr Denken, ihre Beziehungen, ihr Kunstschaffen und die Programmarbeit für Institutionen beeinflusst sowie ihre Wahrnehmung von Wahrheit und Fiktion, Traumzeit und Weltzeit, Strukturen, Prozessen, Wandel und Kollaboration verändert hat. Weitere Informationen