KW Production Series:
Oreet Ashery
Selfish Road
23–28 November 22

 
<p>Oreet Ashery, <em>Selfish Road</em>, 2022, video, 30 mins. A KW Production Series commission courtesy the artist and KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin.</p>

Oreet Ashery, Selfish Road, 2022, video, 30 mins. A KW Production Series commission courtesy the artist and KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin.

 

KW Production Series presents Selfish Road (2022), a 30-minute film by artist and filmmaker Oreet Ashery. From 23–28 November, this 2022 KWPS commission screens daily on KW’s 4th floor.

 

Journeying through their homeland and recalling autobiographical memories along the way, Ashery observes how both senses of belonging have and continue to fuse with the vertiginous and winding flows of nation-building, infrastructure and land use. Turning a camera onto the contested areas in and around Jerusalem, Selfish Road draws upon the genres of science-fiction, stand-up comedy, the family photo album, and the implicit privilege of the slacker road movie. The film reveals a composite portrait of a rapidly changing landscape: roads collapse into sinkholes, diseased cacti line highways, and location-monitoring apps map circuitous routes to flag “high risk” and “prohibited” areas. This episodic reflection of space and place attempts to work through the paradox: How can you own something that is stolen?

 

Selfish Road depicts a contradictory environment of industrial extraction obscured by spiritual wellness practices. With anger, grief, hope and resistance, it dreams of material ecological visions for indigenous life away from settler occupation, and seeks out an ethics in and beyond the beauty of the region.

 

Oreet Ashery is a visual artist who works across established art institutions and grassroots social contexts. Using film, photography, performance, 2D and textiles, they narrate stories of precarious identities and combine autoethnography, collective knowledge and biopolitical fiction. Ashery was awarded the 2017 Jarman Film Award for Revisiting Genesis (2016), a web series that questions how the boundaries between dying, care and self are affected by digital technologies. In 2020 they were a recipient of the Turner Prize Bursary for the exhibition Misbehaving Bodies: Jo Spence and Oreet Ashery (2019), Wellcome Collection, London. Their monograph How We Die Is How We Live Only More So (2019) was published by Mousse. Ashery is Professor of Contemporary Art at Ruskin School of Art, University of Oxford.

 

Curator: Mason Leaver-Yap
Curatorial Assistant: Linda Franken

 

 

Oreet Ashery’s Selfish Road is a commission by KW Institute of Contemporary Art, Berlin, with kind support from the TORCH Knowledge Exchange Innovation Fund (The Oxford Research Centre in the Humanities), and the John Fell Fund (University of Oxford).

KW Production Series:
Oreet Ashery
Selfish Road
23.–28. November 22

 
<p>Oreet Ashery, <em>Selfish Road</em>, 2022, video, 30 mins. A KW Production Series commission courtesy the artist and KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin.</p>

Oreet Ashery, Selfish Road, 2022, video, 30 mins. A KW Production Series commission courtesy the artist and KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin.

 

Die KW Production Series präsentieren Selfish Road (2022), einen 30-minütigen Film von Künstler*in und Filmemacher*in Oreet Ashery. Die Auftragsarbeit wird vom 23.-28. November täglich im 4. Stock der KW gezeigt.

 

In Selfish Road begibt sich Ashery auf eine Reise durch das eigene Heimatland und gibt dabei Einblicke in autobiographische Erinnerungen. Der*die Künstler*in beobachtet dabei den engen Zusammenhang, gar die Verschmelzung von Gefühlen der Zugehörigkeit mit komplexen, verschlungenen Prozessen der Nationenbildung, der Infrastruktur und der Landnutzung. Die Kamera auf das umkämpfte Land in und um Jerusalem gerichtet, bedient sich Selfish Road der Genres Science-Fiction, Stand-up-Comedy, Familienfotoalbum und dem impliziten Privileg des Slacker-Roadmovies. Der Film zeichnet ein fragmentarisches Porträt einer sich rasch verändernden Landschaft: Straßen brechen zusammen und hinterlassen leere Krater, kranke Kakteen säumen die Autobahnen und Apps mit Standortverfolgung schlagen Umwege vor, um „Hochrisiko“- und „verbotene“ Gebiete zu meiden. Diese episodische Reflexion über Raum und Ort versucht sich an einer Auseinandersetzung mit der paradoxen Frage: Wie kann man etwas besitzen, das gestohlen wird?

 

Selfish Road zeigt ein widersprüchliches Umfeld industrieller Extraktion, das durch spirituelle Wellness-Praktiken verschleiert wird. Mit Wut, Trauer, Hoffnung und Widerstand träumt die Arbeit von materiellen ökologischen Visionen für indigenes Leben abseits der Siedler*innenbesatzung und sucht nach einer Ethik in und jenseits der Schönheit der Region.

 

 

Oreet Ashery ist bildende*r Künstler*in und arbeitet sowohl in etablierten Kunstinstitutionen als auch in gemeinschaftlich orientierten Kontexten. Mit Hilfe von Film, Fotografie, Performance, 2D und Textilien erzählt Ashery Geschichten von prekären Identitäten und verbindet Autoethnografie, kollektives Wissen und biopolitische Fiktion. Ashery wurde 2017 mit dem Jarman Film Award für Revisiting Genesis (2016) ausgezeichnet, eine Webserie, die hinterfragt, wie die Grenzen zwischen Sterben, Pflege und dem Selbst durch digitale Technologien beeinflusst werden. Im Jahr 2020 gewann Ashery ein Turner Prize Stipendium für die Ausstellung Misbehaving Bodies: Jo Spence und Oreet Ashery (2019), Wellcome Collection, London. Asherys Monografie How We Die Is How We Live Only More So (2019) wurde von Mousse veröffentlicht. Ashery ist Professor*in für zeitgenössische Kunst an der Ruskin School of Art der Universität Oxford.

 

Kurator*in: Mason Leaver-Yap

Kuratorische Assistenz: Linda Franken

 

 

Oreet Ashery’s Selfish Road ist eine Auftragsarbeit der KW Institute of Contemporary Art, Berlin.
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch den TORCH Knowledge Exchange Innovation Fund (The Oxford Research Centre in the Humanities) und durch den John Fell Fund (University of Oxford).