Pause: Michele Rizzo
REACHING
1–3 October 21

 

1–3 October 21

Doors open: 7:30 pm

Start: 8 pm

 

Tickets (sold out)

 

<p>Image: Michele Rizzo, <em>Prospect <E V A></em>, 2019, performance. Courtesy the artist. Photo: Luca Ghedini</p>

Image: Michele Rizzo, Prospect <E V A>, 2019, performance. Courtesy the artist. Photo: Luca Ghedini

 

In October 2021, KW Institute for Contemporary Art and Julia Stoschek Collection collaboratively present a commissioned performance by Michele Rizzo (born in 1984, based in Amsterdam). The choreographer and multidisciplinary artist investigates rave culture and the significance of the moments and spaces in which it becomes palpable. Departing from the ecstatic attitude of his HIGHER xtn. (2019) performance, the trajectory of the artist’s research transitions in the liminal space of REACHING, through a slow-paced choreography, with 14 performers, a sound score by composer Billy Bultheel (born in 1987, based in Berlin and Brussels) and light design by Theresa Baumgartner (born in 1990, based in Berlin).

 

Rizzo assesses and embraces multiple layers intrinsic to a journey of unison and transcendence, which comes into existence between and among moving bodies. REACHING unfolds the space hidden within and around the predominantly addressed emotions of ecstasy, euphoria, and acceleration by unveiling allusions to desire and the secret will of each individual, to evolve into an introspective yet rousing choreography of friction and coalescence.

 

Choreographer / Artist: Michele Rizzo
Curator: Léon Kruijswijk
Composer: Billy Bultheel
Light Design: Theresa Baumgartner

Dramaturgical advise: Juan Pablo Cámara

Stylist: Leendert Sonnevelt
Performers: Aaron Ratajczyk, Anna Rose, Arad Inbar, Carolina de Vega, Daniel Schabert, Dionisis Argyropoulos-Ioannou, Djibril Sall, Ewa Dziarnowska, Maria Metsalu, Matilde Bassetti, Max Göran, Milena Weber, Reza Mirabi, Snorre Hansen

 

The Pause series is envisioned as a platform to punctuate the program by presenting singular artworks for a short period of time in order to bridge relationships between the past, present and future.

 

<p>A production by KW Institute for Contemporary Art, in collaboration with Julia Stoschek Collection</p>

 

A production by KW Institute for Contemporary Art, in collaboration with Julia Stoschek Collection

 

<p>With generous support from Mondriaan Fonds, the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Germany and Q-International, Quadriennale di Roma</p>

 

With generous support from Mondriaan Fonds, the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Germany and Q-International, Quadriennale di Roma

Pause: Michele Rizzo
REACHING
1.–3. Oktober 21

 

1.–3. Oktober 21, 20 Uhr
Tickets

 

<p>Bild: Michele Rizzo, <em>Prospect <E V A></em>, 2019, Performance. Courtesy der Künstler. Foto: Luca Ghedini</p>

Bild: Michele Rizzo, Prospect <E V A>, 2019, Performance. Courtesy der Künstler. Foto: Luca Ghedini

 

Im Oktober 2021 präsentieren die KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Zusammenarbeit mit der Julia Stoschek Collection eine Auftragsperformance von Michele Rizzo (*1984, ansässig in Amsterdam). Der Choreograf und multidisziplinäre Künstler untersucht die Rave-Kultur und die Bedeutung der Momente und Räume, in denen sie greifbar wird. Ausgehend von der ekstatischen Haltung seiner Performance HIGHER xtn. (2019) weist der Ansatz des Künstlers in den liminalen Raum von REACHING, durch eine gleichsam bedächtig voranschreitende Choreografie mit 14 Performer*innen, die mit einem Sound Score des Komponisten Billy Bultheel (*1987, ansässig in Berlin und Brüssel) unterlegt ist und einem Lichtdesign von Theresa Baumgartner (*1990, ansässig in Berlin).

 

Der Künstler untersucht und umfasst dabei mehrere Ebenen, die einer Reise von Einklang und Transzendenz innewohnen und die sich zwischen und unter den sich bewegenden Körpern formiert. REACHING offenbart einen Raum, der sich hinter den hier vorherrschenden Emotionen Ekstase, Euphorie und Beschleunigung verbirgt; Anspielungen auf das Begehren und den heimlichen Willen jedes Einzelnen werden enthüllt und entwickeln sich zu einer introspektiven und zugleich mitreißenden Choreografie von Reibung und Koaleszenz.

 

Choreograph / Künstler: Michele Rizzo
Kurator: Léon Kruijswijk
Komponist: Billy Bultheel
Lichtdesign: Theresa Baumgartner

Stylist: Leendert Sonnevelt

Performer*innen: Aaron Ratajczyk, Anna Rose, Arad Inbar, Carolina de Vega, Daniel Schabert, Dionisis Argyropoulos-Ioannou, Djibril Sall, Ewa Dziarnowska, Maria Metsalu, Matilde Bassetti, Max Göran, Milena Weber, Reza Mirabi, Snorre Hansen

 

Die Pause-Reihe fungiert als Unterbrechung des laufenden Programms und stellt anhand von einzelnen künstlerischen Arbeiten Verbindungen zwischen der Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft her.

 

 

<p>Eine Produktion der KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Zusammenarbeit mit der Julia Stoschek Collection</p>

 

Eine Produktion der KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Zusammenarbeit mit der Julia Stoschek Collection

 

<p>Mit großzügiger Unterstützung von Mondriaan Fonds, der Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande, Deutschland und Q-International, Quadriennale di Roma</p>
<p> </p>
<p> </p>

 

Mit großzügiger Unterstützung von Mondriaan Fonds, der Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande, Deutschland und Q-International, Quadriennale di Roma