Tamara Henderson
Womb Life
3 November 18 – 6 January 19

 

Opening: 2 November 18, 7 pm

 

<p>Tamara Henderson, Still from <em>Womb Life</em>, 2018, Courtesy the artist and Rodeo, Athens/London</p>

Tamara Henderson, Still from Womb Life, 2018, Courtesy the artist and Rodeo, Athens/London

 

The foundation for the exhibition Womb Life by Tamara Henderson (born 1982 in Sackville, CA) is manifold. One strand can be traced back to an encounter at Gatwick Airport. At 10 am on Sunday, May 27, 2018 in a Tokyo-style hotel room capsule, the artist had an impromptu hypnotherapy session with the hypnotist Marcos Lutyens. The written account by Lutyens tells us that an inward-leading progression took place: “(…) into the mud, the clay, the slip. Dissolving downwards into the loam with an x-ray view of time and space and body.”

 

Tamara Henderson’s process of creation develops its own mythology out of an ongoing practice of writing, drawing, and making notations of everyday objects. She registers patterns in objects and atmospheric phenomena and protocols their appearance in dreams in order to expand conventional registers of consciousness. The hypnosis session at Gatwick Airport made way for a multitude of resulting evolutions that would eventually become the work for the exhibition—born from the language of the mud, matured in the body of the artist, decoded by the umbilical chord, and finally grounded by the pulse of the placenta.

 

The artist works through an instinctive approach. Here, inanimate objects often become implicated in the act of storytelling as they shape-shift their way across different bodies of work, time zones, and spaces. For KW, Henderson presents her new film Womb Life—for which the exhibition space is transformed into an underground cinema. The film is accompanied by a group of eight characters masked as performative items of furniture and equipped with intrinsic instructions for the willing participant. The windows, shrouded in custom-made curtains, create a theatre space that breathes the lights on and off, allowing the visitors to encounter the furniture as sculptures at times while the film is inactive.

 

Curator: Anna Gritz

Assistant curator: Maurin Dietrich

 

Tamara Henderson, Trailer of Womb Life, 2018, produced for the Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement The sound of screens imploding, Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, Editor Video and Sound: Oliver Bancroft, Courtesy the artist

 

 

 

<p><span lang="EN-US">The exhibition is generously supported by the Canadian Embassy.</span></p>

 

The exhibition is generously supported by the Canadian Embassy.

 

<p class="Body"><span lang="EN-US">With special thanks to Kvadrat.</span></p>

 

With special thanks to Kvadrat.

Tamara Henderson
Womb Life
3. November 18 – 6. Januar 19

 

Eröffnung: 2. November 18, 19 Uhr

 

<p><span lang="EN-US">Tamara Henderson, Film Still aus <i>Womb Life, </i>2018, Courtesy die Künstlerin und Rodeo, Athen/London</span></p>

Tamara Henderson, Film Still aus Womb Life, 2018, Courtesy die Künstlerin und Rodeo, Athen/London

 

Die Ausstellung Womb Life von Tamara Henderson (*1982 in Sackville, CA) erschließt sich über mannigfaltige Erzählstränge, wovon einer sich auf eine Begegnung am Londoner Flughafen Gatwick Airport am Sonntag, den 27. Mai 2018 morgens um 10 Uhr zurückführen lässt. Im Zimmer eines im Tokio-Stil gehaltenen Kapselhotels erhält Henderson eine spontane Hypnotherapie des Hypnotiseurs Marcos Lutyens. In dem von Lutyens verfassten Therapiebericht heißt es, die Aufmerksamkeit Hendersons habe sich während der Sitzung zunehmend nach innen gerichtet: „ […]  in den Schlamm, den Lehm, das Rutschen. Sie löst sich abwärts in Lehmerde auf, ausgestattet mit einem Röntgenblick für Zeit, Raum und Körper.“  

 

Tamara Hendersons Schaffensprozess entwickelt mittels einer kontinuierlichen Praxis des Schreibens, Zeichnens und Aufzeichnens von Alltagsgegenständen eine eigenständige Mythologie. Indem Henderson die Muster von Objekten und atmosphärischen Phänomenen festhält und ihr Auftreten in Träumen protokolliert, versucht sie, die konventionellen Kategorien von Bewusstsein zu erweitern. Die Hypnose am Londoner Flughafen war Auslöser für eine Vielzahl von Entwicklungen, die in die Arbeit Womb Life mündeten – geboren aus der Sprache des Schlamms, herangereift im Körper der Künstlerin, wurde die Arbeit schließlich von der Nabelschnur dekodiert und vom Puls der Plazenta geerdet.

 

Die Künstlerin verfolgt in ihrer Arbeitsweise einen instinktgesteuerten Ansatz. Leblose Objekte werden häufig in den Akt des Geschichtenerzählens eingebunden und bahnen sich ihren gestaltwandlerischen Weg durch die verschiedenen Werkkomplexe, Zeitzonen und Räume. Im Rahmen der Ausstellung in den KW präsentiert Henderson ihren neuen Film Womb Life, für den der Ausstellungsraum in ein unterirdisches Kino umgestaltet wird. Begleitet wird der Film von einer achtköpfigen Gruppe, die als performatives Mobiliar getarnt und mit Instruktionen für die willigen TeilnehmerInnen ausgestattet ist. Die von maßgefertigten Vorhängen verdeckten Fenster bilden einen Theaterraum, in dem aufflammende und erlöschende Lichter den BesucherInnen gestatten, den Möbeln als Skulpturen zu begegnen, wenn der Film gerade nicht läuft.

 

Kuratorin: Anna Gritz

Assistenzkuratorin: Maurin Dietrich

 

Tamara Henderson, Trailer of Womb Life, 2018, produziert für die Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement The sound of screen imploding, Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, Bild- und Tonverarbeitung: Oliver Bancroft, Courtesy die Künstlerin

 

 

 

 

<p>Die Ausstellung wird großzügig unterstützt von der Botschaft von Kanada.</p>

 

Die Ausstellung wird großzügig unterstützt von der Botschaft von Kanada.

 

<p class="Body">Besonderer Dank gilt Kvadrat.</p>

 

Besonderer Dank gilt Kvadrat.