Trix & Robert Haussmann
The Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule: A Retrospective
10 February – 29 April 18

 
<p>Trix & Robert Haussmann, <em>Seven Codes Collage</em>, 1978</p>

Trix & Robert Haussmann, Seven Codes Collage, 1978

 

Opening: 9 February 18, 7 pm 

 

Walk through the exhibition with the curators Fredi Fischli and Niels Olsen

10 February 18, 2 pm

Starting point at the counter desk

 

 

KW Institute for Contemporary Art presents the first survey on the work of Trix & Robert Haussmann in Germany, which showcases an array of projects, spanning over half a century of production and research as well as additional interventions by designer Inside Outside / Petra Blaisse and artists Liam Gillick and Karl Holmqvist. 

 

The architect and designer duo Trix (born 1933 in Chur, CH) & Robert Haussmann (born 1931 in Zurich, CH) may be counted among the most important Swiss architects of the twentieth century. Their multifaceted practice ranges from architecture, product design, furniture, and textiles, in which creative plays on form, function, and language form its base.They have realized about 650 projects in their lifetime including the legendary Da Capo BarShopville in Zurich’s main railway station, the boutique Weinberg, the famous Kronenhallenbar and numerous successful experiments in artistic and handcrafted furniture. Since founding their ‚Allgemeine Entwurfsanstalt’ (General Design Institute) in 1967, Trix & Robert Haussmann have been pioneers in breaking with the premises of modern, canonical orders and concepts, reinterpreting playfully the linguistic dogmas of architecture theories. 

 

Evading the dictum ‚form follows function’, their designs pursue a ‘manierismo critico’ (a critical Mannerism), permitting them to merge the old and the new, to generate dissent and work with ambiguity, contradiction, and chance. The dedicated and thoughtful challenging of aesthetic conventions of Trix & Robert Haussmann was ahead of its time and are providing a very important contribution to the contemporary discourses on art and architecture.

 

The exhibition occupies the first and second floor of KW and showcases amongst others highlights of their personal archive, works from the collection of the Museum für Gestaltung in Zurich, works from the estate by Peter Röthlisberger and actual compartments of interior design.

 

Curators: Fredi Fischli, Niels Olsen (ETH Zürich)

Assistant Curator: Cathrin Mayer

 

<p>The exhibition is supported by Pro Helvetia, Herald St, London, Peter Röthlisberger, and Stiftung Kunstsammlung Teo Jakob.</p>

 

The exhibition is supported by Pro Helvetia, Herald St, London, Peter Röthlisberger, and Stiftung Kunstsammlung Teo Jakob.

 

 

1/4
Foreground: Trix & Robert Haussmann, Spiegelobjekt ‘Bogen ’, 1987/2014, Courtesy the artists and Herald St, London; Background: Karl Holmqvist, Untitled (A Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule Excersice…), 2012, courtesy the artist; installation view KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2017, photo: Frank Sperling
Foreground: Trix & Robert Haussmann, Spiegelobjekt ‘Bogen ’, 1987/2014, Courtesy the artists and Herald St, London; Background: Karl Holmqvist, Untitled (A Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule Excersice…), 2012, courtesy the artist; installation view KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2017, photo: Frank Sperling
Trix & Robert Haussmann, Installation view The Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule: A Retrospective KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Photo: Frank Sperling
Trix & Robert Haussmann, Installation view The Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule: A Retrospective KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Photo: Frank Sperling
Trix & Robert Haussmann, Chair Fun: Neon-Stuhl, 1967/2012, installation view KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Courtesy Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, Museum für Gestaltung Zurich
Trix & Robert Haussmann, Chair Fun: Neon-Stuhl, 1967/2012, installation view KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Courtesy Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, Museum für Gestaltung Zurich
Trix & Robert Haussmann, Installation view The Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule: A Retrospective KW Institute for Contemporary Art, photo: Frank Sperling
Trix & Robert Haussmann, Installation view The Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule: A Retrospective KW Institute for Contemporary Art, photo: Frank Sperling

Trix & Robert Haussmann
The Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule: A Retrospective
10. Februar – 29. April 18

 
<p>Trix & Robert Haussmann, <em>Seven Codes Collage</em>, 1978</p>

Trix & Robert Haussmann, Seven Codes Collage, 1978

 

Eröffnung: 9. Februar 18, 19 Uhr  

 

Führung durch die Ausstellung mit den Kuratoren Fredi Fischli und Niels Olsen

10. Februar 18, 14 Uhr

Treffpunkt am Counter

 

Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art präsentieren die erste große monographische Ausstellung zum Oeuvre von Trix & Robert Haussmann, die eine Vielzahl von Projekten aus mehr als 50 Jahren Produktion und Forschung vereint sowie ergänzende Arbeiten von Inside Outside / Petra Blaisse, Liam Gillick und Karl Holmqvist zeigt.

 

Trix (*1933 in Chur, CH) & Robert Haussmann (*1931 in Zürich, CH) gehören zu den wichtigsten Schweizer ArchitektInnen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Als Architektur- und Design-Duo haben sie während ihrer beruflichen Laufbahn über 650 Projekte gemeinsam realisiert, darunter die legendäre Da Capo Bar, Shopville im Zürcher Hauptbahnhof, die Boutique Weinberg, die bekannte Kronenhallenbar sowie erfolgreiche Experimente künstlerisch und handwerklich gefertigter Möbel. Seit der gemeinsamen Gründung der „Allgemeinen Entwurfsanstalt“ in den 1960er Jahren wurden Trix & Robert Haussmann zu Pionieren ihrer Zeit, indem sie fortwährend die Prämissen moderner, kanonischer Ordnung und Ansätze zur spielerischen Umdeutung linguistischer, architekturtheoretischer Dogmen brachen.

 

Während sie dem Diktum „form follows function“ ausweichen, verfolgen ihre Entwürfe einen „manierismo critico“ (einen „kritischen Manierismus“), der es ihnen erlaubt, das Alte und das Neue miteinander zu verschmelzen, Kontroversen zu erzeugen und innerhalb dessen mit Ambiguität, Widerspruch und Zufall zu arbeiten. Diese zugleich engagierte und sorgfältige Auseinandersetzung mit ästhetischen Konventionen war stets ihrer Zeit voraus und leistet auch heute noch einen wichtigen Beitrag zum zeitgenössischen Kunst- und Architekturdiskurs.

 

Die Ausstellung bespielt die erste und zweite Etage und präsentiert Highlights aus dem Privatarchiv von Trix & Robert Haussmann sowie Hauptarbeiten aus der Sammlung des Museums für Gestaltung in Zürich, aus der Privatsammlung Peter Röthlisberger und Beispiele der innenarchitektonischen Designs von Trix & Robert Haussmann.

 

Kuratoren: Fredi Fischli, Niels Olsen (ETH Zürich)

Assistenzkuratorin: Cathrin Mayer

 

<p>Die Ausstellung wird von Pro Helvetia, Herald St, London, Peter Röthlisberger und der Stiftung Kunstsammlung Teo Jakob gefördert.</p>

 

Die Ausstellung wird von Pro Helvetia, Herald St, London, Peter Röthlisberger und der Stiftung Kunstsammlung Teo Jakob gefördert.

 

 

1/4
Vordergrund: Trix & Robert Haussmann, Spiegelobjekt ‘Bogen’, 1987/2014, Courtesy die Künstler und Herald St, London; Hintergrund: Karl Holmqvist, Untitled (A Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule Excersice…), 2012, Courtesy der Künstler; Installationsansicht KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2017, Foto: Frank Sperling
Vordergrund: Trix & Robert Haussmann, Spiegelobjekt ‘Bogen’, 1987/2014, Courtesy die Künstler und Herald St, London; Hintergrund: Karl Holmqvist, Untitled (A Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule Excersice…), 2012, Courtesy der Künstler; Installationsansicht KW Institute for Contemporary Art, 2017, Foto: Frank Sperling
Trix & Robert Haussmann,  Installationsansicht The Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule: A Retrospective KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Foto: Frank Sperling
Trix & Robert Haussmann, Installationsansicht The Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule: A Retrospective KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Foto: Frank Sperling
Trix & Robert Haussmann, Chair Fun: Neon-Stuhl, 1967/2012, Installationsansicht KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Courtesy Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Trix & Robert Haussmann, Chair Fun: Neon-Stuhl, 1967/2012, Installationsansicht KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Courtesy Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Trix & Robert Haussmann,  Installationsansicht The Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule: A Retrospective KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Foto: Frank Sperling
Trix & Robert Haussmann, Installationsansicht The Log-O-Rithmic Slide Rule: A Retrospective KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Foto: Frank Sperling