KW Production Series 2018:
Jamie Crewe and Beatrice Gibson
27 September – 16 December 18

 

Opening: 26 September 18, 7 pm

 

Address: Julia Stoschek Collection Berlin, Leipziger Str. 60 (Entrance: Jerusalemer Straße), 10117 Berlin-Mitte

Opening hours: Every Sat–Sun, noon–6 pm

Extended opening hours during Berlin Art Week 18: September 26–30, daily from 12 am–8 pm

U2 Hausvogteiplatz / Bus 265, M48 Jerusalemer Straße

Admission: 5 €

Wheelchair accessible only on the groundfloor

 

KW Production Series is a new commissioning project, organized in collaboration with the JULIA STOSCHEK COLLECTION and OUTSET Germany_Switzerland. It is dedicated to artists’ moving image works and concentrates on two new productions per year. The project takes inspiration from KW Institute for Contemporary Art’s founding principles as a place for production, critical exchange, and thoughtful collaboration.

 

Within this ongoing series, KW seeks to identify and serve artists who are at a pivotal moment in their work and career—those who will benefit not only from the financial support and institutional visibility this opportunity provides, but also those who will be able to use KW Production Series to significantly contribute towards the depth and rigor of their artistic practice.

 

KW Production Series is produced by Mason Leaver-Yap, KW’s Associate Curator.

 

Jamie Crewe:
Pastoral Drama

 

Double-channel HD video, 2018

 

<p>Jamie Crewe, <em>Pastoral Drama</em>, 2018, video still, Courtesy the artist</p>

Jamie Crewe, Pastoral Drama, 2018, video still, Courtesy the artist

 

Over the course of a year, Jamie Crewe (born 1987 in Manchester, GB) worked on Pastoral Drama every day. The piece comprises two parallel videos that use allegory and animation to think about progress. Through intricate drawings in ink and pencil, speckled clay, and encrusted plasticine, Crewe reflects upon the evolution of mythic narratives, (inter-) personal change, and collective political time. Pastoral Drama juxtaposes the ancient Greek legend of Eurydice and the Underworld with Agostino Agazzari’s Eumelio, a 17th- century opera composed for the male inhabitants of a Roman seminary. Eumelio’s titular male figure stands in for Eurydice, and so achieves a different fate. In its double telling, Pastoral Drama envisions the collapse of mythic pasts with the dangerous after-world of the present.

 

Pastoral Drama is a co-commission with Tramway, Glasgow (GB).

 

Jamie Crewe, Pastoral Drama, 2018, trailer, Courtesy the artist

 

 

 

 

Beatrice Gibson:
I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead

 

16mm transferred to HD video, 2018

 

<p>Beatrice Gibson, <em>I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead</em>, 2018, film still, Courtesy the artist</p>

Beatrice Gibson, I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead, 2018, film still, Courtesy the artist

 

Exploring ideas around gender, poetry, and disobedience, Beatrice Gibson’s (born 1978 in London, GB) 16mm film, I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead, was developed with two of the USA’s most significant living poets—CAConrad and Eileen Myles. The filmmaker tersely distills material shot on the eve of the 45th presidential inauguration in January 2017 and blends moments of perilous public authority with more intimate scenes and tender portraits. The film uses poetry as a means to reckon with the present, and casts the figure of the poet as a guide in times of chaos.

 

I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead is a co-commission with Camden Arts Centre, London, Bergen Kunsthall (NO), and Mercer Union, Toronto (CA).

 

Beatrice Gibson, I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead, 2018, trailer, Courtesy the artist

 

 

 

Simultaneously, the Julia Stoschek Collection Berlin presents the exhibition ARTHUR JAFA: A SERIES OF UTTERLY IMPROBABLE, YET EXTRAORDINARY RENDITIONS.

 

<p>KW Production Series 2018: Jamie Crewe and Beatrice Gibson<em> </em>is part of <a href="http://www.berlinartweek.de">Berlin Art Week 2018.</a></p>

 

KW Production Series 2018: Jamie Crewe and Beatrice Gibson is part of Berlin Art Week 2018.

 

<p>KW Production Series is made possible with generous support by the JULIA STOSCHEK FOUNDATION and OUTSET Germany_Switzerland.</p>

 

KW Production Series is made possible with generous support by the JULIA STOSCHEK FOUNDATION and OUTSET Germany_Switzerland.

KW Production Series
27. September – 16. Dezember 18

 

Eröffnung: 26. September 18, 19 Uhr

 

Adresse: Julia Stoschek Collection Berlin, Leipziger Str. 60 (Eingang: Jerusalemer Straße), 10117 Berlin-Mitte

Öffnungszeiten: Sa–So 12–18 Uhr

Gesonderte Öffnungszeiten während der Berlin Art Week: 26.–30. September 18, täglich von 12–20 Uhr.

U2 Hausvogteiplatz / Bus 265, M48 Jerusalemer Straße

Eintrittspreis: 5 €

Barrierefreier Zugang nur im Erdgeschoss

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit der JULIA STOSCHEK COLLECTION und OUTSET Germany_Switzerland widmet sich das Projekt KW Production Series anhand zweier Neuproduktionen pro Jahr dem künstlerischen Bewegtbild. Das Projekt ist inspiriert von den Gründungsprinzipien der KW Institute for Contemporary Art als einem Ort für Produktion, Reflexion und kritischen Austausch.

 

Die KW Production Series setzen sich zum Ziel, ausgewählte KünstlerInnen zu unterstützen, deren Arbeit und Karriere sich vor einem wegweisenden Durchbruch befinden und die nicht nur von der finanziellen Unterstützung und dem institutionellen Renommee profitieren, sondern dieses Format auch nutzen, um den Tiefe- und Schärfegrad ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit maßgeblich und nachhaltig zu modifizieren.

 

KW Production Series wird organisiert von Mason Leaver-Yap, Assoziierte*r Kurator*in der KW.

 

Jamie Crewe:
Pastoral Drama

 

Zweikanal-HD-Video, 2018

 

<p>Jamie Crewe, <em>Pastoral Drama</em>, 2018, Video Still, Courtesy der*die Künstler*in</p>

Jamie Crewe, Pastoral Drama, 2018, Video Still, Courtesy der*die Künstler*in

 

Ein Jahr lang arbeitete Jamie Crewe (*1987 in Manchester, GB) täglich an dem Zweikanal-HD-Video Pastoral Drama. Die neue Arbeit besteht aus zwei parallel laufenden Videos, die sich der Allegorie und Animation bedienen, um über Fortschritt nachzudenken. Crewe setzt komplizierte Tusche- und Bleistiftzeichnungen, gesprenkelten Ton und krustiges Knetgummi ein, um sich mit der Evolution mythischer Narrative, (inter-) personellen Veränderungen und kollektiven, politischen Erfahrungen von Zeit auseinanderzusetzen. Pastoral Drama kontrastiert den griechisch-antiken Unterweltmythos von Eurydike mit der Oper Eumelio von Agostino Agazzari. In dieser Oper aus dem 17. Jahrhundert, die für die BewohnerInnen eines römischen Priesterseminars komponiert wurde, springt die titelgebende männliche Hauptfigur für Eurydike ein und vermag dadurch das Schicksal zu wenden. Die zweigleisige Erzählweise von Pastoral Drama vergegenwärtigt den Zusammenbruch mythischer Vergangenheiten, auf den die Gegenwart als unheilvolle Nachwelt folgt.

 

Pastoral Drama entstand im gemeinschaftlichen Auftrag mit Tramway, Glasgow (GB).

 

Jamie Crewe, Pastoral Drama, 2018, Trailer, Courtesy der*die Künstler*in

 

 

 

 

Beatrice Gibson:
I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead

 

16mm Film, übertragen auf HD-Videoformat, 2018

 

<p>Beatrice Gibson, <em>I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead</em>, 2018, Film Still, Courtesy die Künstlerin</p>

Beatrice Gibson, I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead, 2018, Film Still, Courtesy die Künstlerin

 

Beatrice Gibsons (*1978 in London, GB) 16mm Film I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead befasst sich mit Vorstellungen von Geschlecht, Poesie und zivilem Ungehorsam. Der Film entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit zwei der bedeutendsten lebenden LyrikerInnen der USA, CAConrad und Eileen Myles. Gibson verdichtet das Filmmaterial, das am Abend der Amtseinführung des 45. Präsidenten der USA im Januar 2017 aufgenommen wurde, auf ein knappes Format. Dabei vermischt sie bedrohliche Eindrücke der öffentlichen Hand mit intimen Szenen und sanften Portraits. Der Film verwendet Poesie als Mittel, die Gegenwart zu begreifen. CAConrad und Eileen Myles agieren darin als prophetische Lotsen, die uns helfen, einen Weg durch das gegenwärtige Chaos zu finden.

 

I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead entstand im gemeinschaftlichen Auftrag mit dem Londoner Camden Arts Centre, der Bergen Kunsthall (NO) und Mercer Union, Toronto (CA).

 

Beatrice Gibson, I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead, 2018, Trailer, Courtesy die Künstlerin

 

 

 

Die Julia Stoschek Collection Berlin präsentiert zeitgleich die Ausstellung ARTHUR JAFA: A SERIES OF UTTERLY IMPROBABLE, YET EXTRAORDINARY RENDITIONS.

 

<p>KW Production Series 2018: Jamie Crewe and Beatrice Gibson ist Teil der <a href="http://www.berlinartweek.de">Berlin Art Week 2018.</a></p>

 

KW Production Series 2018: Jamie Crewe and Beatrice Gibson ist Teil der Berlin Art Week 2018.

 

<p>KW Production Series wird durch die großzügige Unterstützung der JULIA STOSCHEK FOUNDATION und OUTSET Germany_Switzerland ermöglicht.</p>

 

KW Production Series wird durch die großzügige Unterstützung der JULIA STOSCHEK FOUNDATION und OUTSET Germany_Switzerland ermöglicht.