Renée Green
Inevitable Distances
23 October 21 – 9 January 22

 

 

<p>Image: Renée Green, <em>Sites of Genealogy: Loophole of Retreat</em>, installation view, PS1 Museum, New York 1990. Courtesy Free Agent Media; Bortolami Gallery, New York; Galerie Nagel Draxler, Berlin; Photo: Tom Warren</p>

Image: Renée Green, Sites of Genealogy: Loophole of Retreat, installation view, PS1 Museum, New York 1990. Courtesy Free Agent Media; Bortolami Gallery, New York; Galerie Nagel Draxler, Berlin; Photo: Tom Warren

 

Since the late 1980s, Renée Green’s multifaceted practice has imagined and expanded the ways in which art can surface and give form to underwritten histories, collective memory, and circuits of cultural exchange. Her writing, installations, films, digital media, and sound works continue to trace and interrogate the power of cultural institutions and their relationships with language, knowledge, and constitutions of selfhood, while at the same time indicating other ways of being and becoming.

 

Green’s work came to prominence and circulated within the social and political flows between the world and the Americas, a concept that includes the United States, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean. Her work continues to investigate the distribution and relay of art and ideas, and how these are braided with histories of migration and legacies of displacement, and the aesthetic forms and poetics that stem from these.

 

Inevitable Distances, a comprehensive survey of Renée Green’s practice from the early 1980s until now, is simultaneously taking place at daadgalerie and KW Institute for Contemporary Art. In one of the largest exhibitions of her work since 2010, Inevitable Distances presents recent productions in conversation with some of Green’s earliest and rarely exhibited works. Indicating the encounters and distances travelled in a life’s journey, the exhibition puts her artistic production into a speculative and, at times, fictional constellation.

 

Curator: Mason Leaver-Yap
Assistant Curators: Kathrin Bentele, Sofie Krogh Christensen

 

Exhibition leaflet (PDF)

 

 

Tickets

 
<p>This exhibition is shown in collaboration with DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.</p>

 

This exhibition is shown in collaboration with DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.

 

<p>The exhibition <em>Renée Green: Inevitable Distances</em> is made possible through support from the Capital Cultural Fund.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>With generous support from Marguerite Steed Hoffman Collection, Bortolami Gallery, New York, and Galerie Nagel Draxler, Berlin/Cologne/Munich</p>

 

The exhibition Renée Green: Inevitable Distances is made possible through support from the Capital Cultural Fund.

 

With generous support from Marguerite Steed Hoffman Collection, Bortolami Gallery, New York, and Galerie Nagel Draxler, Berlin/Cologne/Munich

 

<p>The exhibition is produced by KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, in collaboration with Migros Museum für Gegenwartkunst, Zurich (CH), where it will be presented in 2022. </p>

 

The exhibition is produced by KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, in collaboration with Migros Museum für Gegenwartkunst, Zurich (CH), where it will be presented in 2022. 

 

Inevitable Distances is accompanied by a book of the same name, co-published by DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program, Hatje Cantz Verlag and KW. Designed by Carolina Aboarrage, the publication includes contributions from the artist Renée Green, Kathrin Bentele, Howie Chen, Emma Hedditch, Katherine McKittrick, Taylor Le Melle, Ima-Abasi Okon and others, and is edited by Mason Leaver-Yap. It will be available from the KW Bookshop in early 2022.

Renée Green
Inevitable Distances
23. Oktober 21 – 9. Januar 22

 

 

<p>Bild: Renée Green, <em>Sites of Genealogy: Loophole of Retreat</em>, Installationsansicht, PS1 Museum, New York 1990. Courtesy Free Agent Media; Bortolami Gallery, New York; Galerie Nagel Draxler, Berlin; Foto: Tom Warren</p>

Bild: Renée Green, Sites of Genealogy: Loophole of Retreat, Installationsansicht, PS1 Museum, New York 1990. Courtesy Free Agent Media; Bortolami Gallery, New York; Galerie Nagel Draxler, Berlin; Foto: Tom Warren

 

Seit den späten 1980er Jahren imaginiert und erweitert Renée Greens facettenreiche Praxis Wege, auf denen Kunst sichtbar wird und latente Geschichtserzählungen, kollektive Erinnerung und Kreisläufe kulturellen Austauschs Gestalt annehmen. Greens Texte, Installationen, Filme, Arbeiten in digitalen Medien und Soundarbeiten verfolgen und befragen bis heute die Macht von Kulturinstitutionen und deren Verhältnis zu Sprache, Wissen und Selbstkonstitution, während sie zugleich auf alternative Formen von Sein und Werden verweisen.

 

Greens Arbeiten erlangten erstmals im Rahmen sozialer und politischer Diskurse der Amerikas – der Vereinigten Staaten, Zentral- und Südamerikas und der Karibik – Bekanntheit. Ihre Praxis untersucht die Verbreitung und Vermittlung von Kunst und Ideen sowie deren Verflechtung mit Migrationsgeschichten, den Folgen von Vertreibung und daraus entstandenen ästhetischen Formen und Poetiken.

 

Inevitable Distances findet gleichzeitig in der daadgalerie und in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin statt und präsentiert einen Überblick über Renée Greens Praxis von den frühen 1980er Jahren bis heute. In einer der umfassendsten Ausstellungen Greens seit 2010 stellt Inevitable Distances neuere Produktionen der Künstlerin einigen ihrer ältesten und bisher kaum gezeigten Arbeiten gegenüber. Mit dieser Präsentation werden zahlreiche Begegnungen auf dem Lebensweg der Künstlerin nachgezeichnet und ihr künstlerisches Schaffen in eine spekulative und mitunter fiktionale Konstellation überführt.

 

Kurator*in: Mason Leaver-Yap
Assistenzkuratorinnen: Kathrin Bentele, Sofie Krogh Christensen

 

Faltblatt zur Ausstellung (PDF)

 

 

The Berlin Sessions: Gespräch zwischen Renée Green, Iman Issa und Mason Leaver-Yap über die Ausstellungen Renée Green: Inevitable Distances sowie Understudies: I, Myself Will Exhibit Nothing

 

 

 

Tickets

 
<p>Die Ausstellung wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD gezeigt.</p>

 

Die Ausstellung wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD gezeigt.

 

<p>Die Ausstellung <em>Renée Green: Inevitable Distances</em> wird ermöglicht durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds.<span class="Apple-converted-space"> </span></p>
<p> </p>
<p>Mit großzügiger Unterstützung von Marguerite Steed Hoffman Collection, Bortolami Gallery, New York, und Galerie Nagel Draxler, Berlin/Köln/München</p>
<p> </p>

 

Die Ausstellung Renée Green: Inevitable Distances wird ermöglicht durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds. 

 

Mit großzügiger Unterstützung von Marguerite Steed Hoffman Collection, Bortolami Gallery, New York, und Galerie Nagel Draxler, Berlin/Köln/München

 

 

<p>Die Ausstellung wird produziert von den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, in Zusammenarbeit mit Migros Museum für Gegenwartkunst, Zürich (CH), wo sie 2022 gezeigt wird.</p>

 

Die Ausstellung wird produziert von den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, in Zusammenarbeit mit Migros Museum für Gegenwartkunst, Zürich (CH), wo sie 2022 gezeigt wird.

 

Zu Inevitable Distances erscheint ein gleichnamiges Buch, das vom Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, dem Hatje Cantz Verlag und den KW gemeinsam veröffentlicht wird. Die von Carolina Aboarrage gestaltete Publikation enthält Beiträge von der Künstlerin Renée Green, Kathrin Bentele, Howie Chen, Emma Hedditch, Katherine McKittrick, Taylor Le Melle, Ima-Abasi Okon und anderen und wird von Mason Leaver-Yap herausgegeben. Das Buch wird Anfang 2022 in der KW-Buchhandlung erhältlich sein.