Pause: Broken Sounds / Remote Music—Prepared Pianos from the Archivio Conz Collection
16–19 January 20

 

Opening: 15 January 20, 7 pm 

 

<p>Esther Ferrer, <em>Piano con alas</em>, 1986, Courtesy Archivio Conz, Berlin, photo: Giorgia Palmisano</p>

Esther Ferrer, Piano con alas, 1986, Courtesy Archivio Conz, Berlin, photo: Giorgia Palmisano

 

In collaboration with KW, Archivio Conz presents a five-day event with a selection of more than 20 prepared pianos by artists such as Ay-O, Dorothy Iannone, Carolee Schneemann, Nam June Paik, and Ben Patterson from Francesco Conz’s (1935–2010) collection to create a poetical environment, a possible architecture. Within such scenario a number of performances by Charlemagne Palestine, Phillip Sollmann & Konrad Sprenger, Angharad Williams, Sky Walking, Nina Kurtela, and others take place.
 
The complete collection of more than 65 pianos was commissioned by Conz as a continuation of the tradition of the prepared piano established by John Cage at the end of the 1930s. Various avant-garde movements have manipulated the instruments during the years and Conz put together a collection of prepared pianos from many artists that populated his lifetime. Archivio Conz houses artworks, documents, editions and personal belongings collected and catalyzed by Francesco Conz over the course of more than 30 years. More than a collector, he worked closely with artists of the main artistic avant-garde movements of his time: Fluxus, Viennese Actionism, Zaj, Lettrisme, Concrete Poetry, Visual Poetry, Sound Poetry, and Gorgona. He left a collection of more than 3000 items by over 150 artists that are now stored in Berlin.

 

Echoing the exhibition at KW, an ongoing project and collaboration between Archivo Conz and Filip Berg entitled COPY SHOP takes places at Edizioni Conz Raum in the front building of KW. Exploring the idea of multiples, combined with that of merchandising of popular music concerts, COPY SHOP presents works by George Brecht, Astrid Furnival, and John Giorno to translate pieces from the art archive into wearable multiples. Demonstrating one of the Fluxus movement’s core notion, that art must be accessible and obtainable by all. 

 

Curators: Gigiotto Del Vecchio, Stefania Palumbo

Curatorial Assistance: Sabrina Herrmann, Mariamargherita Maceli

 

 

<p>In collaboration with Archivio Conz </p>

 

In collaboration with Archivio Conz

Pause: Broken Sounds / Remote Music—Prepared Pianos from the Archivio Conz Collection
16.–19. Januar 20 

 

Eröffnung: 15. Januar 20, 19 Uhr 

 

 

<p>Esther Ferrer, <em>Piano con alas</em>, 1986, Courtesy Archivio Conz, Berlin, Foto: Giorgia Palmisano</p>

Esther Ferrer, Piano con alas, 1986, Courtesy Archivio Conz, Berlin, Foto: Giorgia Palmisano

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit den KW präsentiert das Archivio Conz mehr als 20 präparierte Klaviere von Künstler*innen wie Ay-O, Dorothy Iannone, Carolee Schneemann, Nam June Paik und Ben Patterson aus der Sammlung von Francesco Conz (1935–2010). Die fünftägige Veranstaltung schafft einen poetischen Raum, in dem Performances von Charlemagne Palestine, Phillip Sollmann & Konrad Sprenger, Angharad Williams, Sky Walking, Nina Kurtela und weiteren Künstler*innen stattfinden werden.

 

Francesco Conz’ Klaviersammlung umfasst mehr als 65 Objekte, die von ihm in Auftrag gegeben wurden, um die Ende der 1930er Jahre von John Cage initiierte Tradition des präparierten Klaviers fortzuführen. Die Klaviere wurden im Laufe der Jahre von verschiedenen Avantgarden bearbeitet, darunter von Künstler*innen, die Conz zeit seines Lebens begleiteten. Conz war im Laufe seiner über dreißig Jahre währenden Sammlertätigkeit stets mehr als ein Sammler, arbeitete er doch eng mit Künstler*innen der wichtigsten avantgardistischen Bewegungen seiner Zeit zusammen wie dem Fluxus, Wiener Aktionismus, Zaj, Lettrismus, der Konkreten Poesie, Visuellen Poesie, Lautpoesie und Gorgona. Seine Sammlung, die sich gegenwärtig in Berlin befindet, umfasst 3000 Sammlungsstücke von über 150 Künstler*innen, darunter Kunstwerke, Dokumente, Editionen und persönliche Gegenstände. 

 

Begleitend zur Ausstellung findet im Edizioni Conz Raum im Vorderhaus der KW das fortlaufende Projekt COPY SHOP statt. COPY SHOP entsteht in Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Archivo Conz und Filip Berg und untersucht die Idee der Multiples, kombiniert mit jener der Produktion von Merchandise. Ausgehend von den Arbeiten der Künstler*innen George Brecht, Astrid Furnival und John Giorno, deren Werke in tragbare Multiples übersetzt werden, können Besucher*innen einzelne künstlerische Merchandise-Artikel erwerben – und so den Kerngedanken der Fluxus-Bewegung weitertragen: Kunst muss zugänglich und erhältlich sein für alle. 

 

Kurator*innen: Gigiotto Del Vecchio, Stefania Palumbo

Kuratorische Assistenz: Sabrina Herrmann, Mariamargherita Maceli

 

 

<p>In Zusammenarbeit mit Archivio Conz </p>

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit Archivio Conz