Mophradat’s Consortium Commissions:
Jasmina Metwaly & Yazan Khalili

 

New dates:
30 May – 19 July 20

 

A pioneering model for co-commissioning ambitious new work initiated by Mophradat, the Consortium Commissions exemplify the organization’s inventive approach to supporting artists from the Arab world. KW Institute for Contemporary Art presents part of the first edition of the new program with two solo exhibitions by Jasmina Metwaly (born in 1982, PL) and Yazan Khalili (born in 1981, SY).

 

 

Jasmina Metwaly
Anbar

 
<p>Jasmina Metwaly, <i>Anbar</i>, 2019, Courtesy Jasmina Metwaly</p>

Jasmina Metwaly, Anbar, 2019, Courtesy Jasmina Metwaly

 

Jasmina Metwaly presents Anbar (2019), a three-channel video installation with textile components, addressing the semantics of military uniforms in the aftermath of the 2011 Egyptian revolution. The work is organized around three characters—a onetime soldier, a tailor, and an activist filmmaker—who each demonstrate particular ties to the Egyptian military.

 

The exhibition by Jasmina Metwaly is part of the Consortium Commissions—a project initiated by Mophradat. It is presented in association with Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (US). 

 

 

Yazan Khalili
Medusa

 
<p>Yazan Khalili, <em>Medusa</em>, 2020, Courtesy Yazan Khalili</p>

Yazan Khalili, Medusa, 2020, Courtesy Yazan Khalili

 

Yazan Khalili presents Medusa (2020)—a video installation based on the artist’s long-standing engagement with digital archiving in times of political unrest. Khalili addresses the rise of facial recognition technologies. The human face as basic mode of identification triggers well-known dystopic tropes and scenarios. However, technology is created by humans and their respective weaknesses; and thinking technology needs to be informed by human imagination in its overtly emancipatory capacity.

 

The exhibition by Yazan Khalili is part of The Consortium Commissions—a project initiated by Mophradat. It is presented in association with Museum of Contemporary Art, Toronto (CA).

 

 

The exhibition’s accompanying program will further reflect the collective practices Jasmina Metwaly and Yazan Khalili stand for. Metwaly is known for her work with the prominent Cairo-based video collective Mosireen, while Khalili is director of the Khalil Sakakini Cultural Center, a groundbreaking non-profit organization in Ramallah (PS).

 

Curator: Tirdad Zolghadr
Assistant Curator: Kathrin Bentele

 

 

Exhibition walk-through with curator Tirdad Zolghadr

 

<p>The exhibitions by Yasmina Metwaly and Yazan Khalili are commissioned as part of the<em> Consortium </em><em>Commissions</em>—a project initiated by Mophradat.</p>

 

The exhibitions by Yasmina Metwaly and Yazan Khalili are commissioned as part of the Consortium Commissions—a project initiated by Mophradat.

Mophradat’s Consortium Commissions:
Jasmina Metwaly & Yazan Khalili

 

Neue Laufzeit:
30. Mai – 19. Juli 20

 

Als wegweisendes Modell zur Förderung progressiver Auftragsarbeiten stehen die Consortium Commissions für Mophradats innovativen Ansatz zur Unterstützung von Künstler*innen im gesamten arabischen Raum. Mit den zwei Einzelausstellungen der Künstler*innen Jasmina Metwaly (*1982, PL) und Yazan Khalili (*1981, SY) präsentieren die KW Institute for Contemporary Art einen Teil der ersten Ausgabe des neuen Programms im Frühjahr 2020.

 

 

 

Jasmina Metwaly
Anbar

 
<p>Jasmina Metwaly, <i>Anbar</i>, 2019, Courtesy Jasmina Metwaly</p>

Jasmina Metwaly, Anbar, 2019, Courtesy Jasmina Metwaly

 

Jasmina Metwaly beschäftigt sich in der mit textilen Komponenten durchsetzten Dreikanal-Videoinstallation Anbar (2019) mit der Semantik von Militäruniformen nach der ägyptischen Revolution 2011. Die Arbeit kreist um drei Figuren – einen ehemaligen Soldaten, einen Schneider sowie einen Aktivisten und Filmemacher –, die jeweils auf ihre eigene Weise mit dem ägyptischen Militär verbunden sind.

 

Die Ausstellung von Jasmina Metwaly ist Teil des von Mophradat initiierten Projekts The Consortium Commissions und wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (US) präsentiert.

 

 

 

Yazan Khalili
Medusa

 
<p>Yazan Khalili, <em>Medusa</em>, 2020, Courtesy Yazan Khalili</p>

Yazan Khalili, Medusa, 2020, Courtesy Yazan Khalili

 

Yazan Khalilis Videoinstallation Medusa (2020) basiert auf der langjährigen Auseinandersetzung des Künstlers mit digitalen Archivierungsverfahren in Zeiten politischer Unruhen. Khalili thematisiert hier die zunehmende Verbreitung von Gesichtserkennungssoftware; das menschliche Gesicht als elementares Erkennungsmerkmal ruft dabei bekannte dystopische Erzählfiguren und Szenarien auf. Technologie ist jedoch vom Menschen mit all seinen Schwächen geschaffen und „denkende“ Technologie daher auf die emanzipatorische Kraft menschlicher Vorstellung angewiesen.

 

Die Ausstellung von Yazan Khalili ist Teil des von Mophradat initiierten Projekts Consortium Commissions und wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Museum for Contemporary Art, Toronto (CA) präsentiert.

 

 

Das Begleitprogramm von Mophradat’s Consortium Commissions: Jasmina Metwaly & Yazan Khalili wird die Auseinandersetzung mit Metwalys und Khalilis kollektiven Praktiken weiterführen. Metwaly ist für ihre Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kairoer Videokollektiv Mosireen bekannt, während Khalili das Khalil Sakakini Cultural Center, eine Non-Profit-Organisation in Ramallah, leitet.

 

Kurator: Tirdad Zolghadr
Assistenzkuratorin: Kathrin Bentele

 

Faltblatt zur Ausstellung (PDF)

 

Rundgang durch die Ausstellung mit dem Kurator Tirdad Zolghadr, in englischer Sprache mit deutschen Untertiteln

 

<p>Die Ausstellungen von Jasmina Metwaly und Yazan Khalili sind Teil des von Mophradat initiierten Projekts <em>Consortium Commissions</em>.</p>

 

Die Ausstellungen von Jasmina Metwaly und Yazan Khalili sind Teil des von Mophradat initiierten Projekts Consortium Commissions.