Michael Stevenson
Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief
3 July – 19 September 21

 

 

<p>Image: Michael Stevenson, (sketch for a wall drawing), 2021; Courtesy the artist</p>

Image: Michael Stevenson, (sketch for a wall drawing), 2021; Courtesy the artist

 

The exhibition Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief by the Berlin-based artist Michael Stevenson (born in 1964, NZ) presents an unconventional invocation of his practice over the past 35 years. Since the 1980s Stevenson has developed an artistic language that operates at the juncture of economy, technology, education, and faith, exploring the infrastructural systems that condition these disciplines and their entanglement. The exhibition marks Stevenson’s first institutional solo presentation in Berlin and presents a focused revision of his work, in which early paintings are brought into dialogue with more recent expansive installation.

 

Fragmentation becomes the default mode to display older bodies of work akin to the boneyards of industry. Navigation in these galleries is through analogy—that of a great fish or a whale’s digestive tract. In this way, architecture becomes anatomy and, by extension, the contents therein, on the floor, on the wall, studies in its entrails. With this exhibition, Stevenson provides insights from the belly of our constructed world to raise awareness that disproving rational theories does not automatically and irrevocably equal disbelief.

 

Curator: Anna Gritz
Assistant Curator: Léon Kruijswijk

 

 

<p><em>Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief</em> is co-presented in partnership with Kunstinstituut Melly (Formerly known as Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art) in Rotterdam, where a previous iteration was presented from September 20, 2020 – March 21, 2021.</p>
<p> </p>

 

Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief is co-presented in partnership with Kunstinstituut Melly (Formerly known as Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art) in Rotterdam, where a previous iteration was presented from September 20, 2020 – March 21, 2021.

 

 

<p>The installation <em>Serene Velocity in Practice: MC510/CS183</em> was commissioned by Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, the Biennale of Sydney 2018 and Monash University Museum of Art | MUMA, where it was presented between 2017 and 2019.</p>

 

The installation Serene Velocity in Practice: MC510/CS183 was commissioned by Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, the Biennale of Sydney 2018 and Monash University Museum of Art | MUMA, where it was presented between 2017 and 2019.

Michael Stevenson
Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief
3. Juli – 19. September 21

 

 

<p>Bild: Michael Stevenson, (Skizze für eine Wandzeichnung), 2021; Courtesy der Künstler</p>

Bild: Michael Stevenson, (Skizze für eine Wandzeichnung), 2021; Courtesy der Künstler

 

Die Ausstellung Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief des in Berlin lebenden Künstlers Michael Stevenson (*1964, NZ) präsentiert einen unkonventionellen Rückblick auf die künstlerische Praxis Stevensons der vergangenen 35 Jahre. Seit den 1980er Jahren hat Stevenson eine künstlerische Sprache entwickelt, die an der Schnittstelle von Ökonomie, Technologie, Bildung und Glauben operiert und die infrastrukturellen Systeme, die diese Disziplinen bedingen, sowie deren Verschränkung untersucht. Die Ausstellung markiert Stevensons erste institutionelle Einzelpräsentation in Berlin und bietet eine fokussierte Neubetrachtung seines Werks, in der frühe Malereien mit neueren raumgreifenden Installationen in Dialog gesetzt werden.

 

Fragmentierung wird zur standardisierten Darstellungsweise für ältere Werkgruppen, im Stile der Boneyards der Industrie. Die Navigation durch die Ausstellung erfolgt über die Analogie eines großen Fisches oder des Verdauungstrakts eines Wals. Die Architektur wird so zur Anatomie und damit auch der Inhalt darin, auf dem Boden, an der Wand zu Studien seiner Eingeweide. Mit seiner Ausstellung gewährt der Künstler Einblicke aus dem Bauch eines Wales in die Ursprünge unserer konstruierten Welt, um unser Bewusstsein dafür zu schärfen, dass eine Widerlegung rationaler Theorien nicht automatisch und unwiderruflich mit Unglauben gleichzusetzen ist.

 

Kuratorin: Anna Gritz
Assistenzkurator: Léon Kruijswijk

 

 

<p><em>Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief</em> wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunstinstituut Melly (Formerly known as Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art) in Rotterdam präsentiert, wo vom 20. September 2020 bis 21. März 2021 eine frühere Version der Ausstellung präsentiert wurde.</p>
<p> </p>

 

Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunstinstituut Melly (Formerly known as Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art) in Rotterdam präsentiert, wo vom 20. September 2020 bis 21. März 2021 eine frühere Version der Ausstellung präsentiert wurde.

 

 

<p>Die Installation <em>Serene Velocity in Practice: MC510/CS183</em> wurde von der Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, der Sydney Biennale 2018 und dem Monash University Museum of Art | MUMA beauftragt, wo sie zwischen 2017 und 2019 präsentiert wurde.</p>

 

Die Installation Serene Velocity in Practice: MC510/CS183 wurde von der Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, der Sydney Biennale 2018 und dem Monash University Museum of Art | MUMA beauftragt, wo sie zwischen 2017 und 2019 präsentiert wurde.