Michael Müller
WHO’S SPEAKING?
29. 11. 15– 24. 1. 16
Solo exhibition / 1+2

Michael Müller's first institutional solo exhibition WHO’S SPEAKING? brings together works from recent years with specifically-developed new productions, which use various ways for investigating the question of artistic authorship.

From Müller’s perspective, “who is speaking?” also means “what is being said?” and “why?” But also “who is listening?”; The exhibited works return time and again to the issue of how an artist becomes visible in his work. Each single piece stands at a pressure point between the application or transformation of historical and contemporary artistic codes, and the artist’s personal obsessions.

For WHO’S SPEAKING? Müller has conceived new versions of two figures—Hermes and Hermaphroditos—who weave a web of references and connections between the individual works, and accompany the viewer throughout the exhibition. As the voice in a new sound installation, the protagonist of a video, or as a figurative sculpture that reverses the relationship between work and viewer, these two figures from Greek mythology appear in both expected and unexpected places, and link the content of the exhibition’s two floors formally.

Guided tours through the exhibition
INSIDE/INSIGHT: Talk between Michael Müller and Ellen Blumenstein

The exhibition is funded by Michael Heins (Herzogenrath), Geraldine Michalke, Ángel and Clara Nieto, Stephan Oehmen, Peppermint Holding GmbH, Ernst Schering Foundation, Berlin, and Romina Polley.

The catalog is funded by NATIONAL-BANK AG.

Michael Müller
HERMES & HERMAPHRODITOS, 2015 (Detail)
Courtesy Michael Müller

Michael Müller
SELBSTBILDNIS, 2015 (Detail)
Pencil on paper, marble, color
Courtesy Michael Müller

Michael Müller
WER SPRICHT?
29. 11. 15– 24. 1. 16
Einzelausstellung / 1+2

Michael Müllers erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung WER SPRICHT? bringt Werke der vergangenen Jahre mit eigens für die Ausstellung entwickelten Neuproduktionen zusammen, die sich auf unterschiedliche Weise der Frage nach künstlerischer Autorschaft stellen.

„Wer spricht?“ bedeutet aus Müllers Perspektive auch: „Was wird gesagt?“ und „Warum wird gesprochen?“; aber auch „Wer hört zu?“ Die gezeigten Arbeiten gehen immer wieder neu von der Frage aus, inwieweit ein Künstler in seinen Werken selbst sichtbar wird. Jedes einzelne Werk verortet sich im Spannungsverhältnis von Anwendung oder Umformung historischer wie gegenwärtiger künstlerischer Codes und den persönlichen Obsessionen des Künstlers.

Für WER SPRICHT? konzipiert Müller zwei Figuren – Hermes und Hermaphroditos – die ein Netz von Bezugnahmen und Verbindungen zwischen einzelnen Arbeiten weben und die BetrachterInnen durch die Ausstellung begleiten. Sei es als Stimme in einer neuen Soundinstallation, als Protagonist eines Videos oder auch als figurative Skulptur, die das Werk-Betrachter-Verhältnis umkehrt – diese beiden Gestalten aus der griechischen Mythologie erscheinen an vermuteten wie unvermuteten Orten gleichermaßen und verbinden die beiden Ausstellungsetagen inhaltlich und formal.

Führungen durch die Ausstellung
INSIDE/INSIGHT: Gespräch zwischen Michael Müller und Ellen Blumenstein

Die Ausstellung wird gefördert durch Michael Heins (Herzogenrath), Geraldine Michalke, Ángel und Clara Nieto, Stephan Oehmen, Peppermint Holding GmbH, die Schering Stiftung, Berlin sowie Romina Polley.

Der Katalog wird gefördert durch die NATIONAL-BANK AG.

Michael Müller
HERMES & HERMAPHRODITOS, 2015 (Detail)
Courtesy Michael Müller

Michael Müller
SELBSTBILDNIS, 2015 (Detail)
Bleistift auf Papier, Marmor, Farbe
Courtesy Michael Müller